We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome house in Red Hill, Mornington”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate
Ranked #2 of 6 Red Hill B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome house in Red Hill, Mornington”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked all 4 rooms of the house for my girlfriend and I along with 6 of our friends. Marcus met us when we arrived and everything was absolutely perfect! Fire was ready to go, a few bottles of sparkling in the fridge, plenty of bacon and eggs as well as other provisions. Lovely house, plenty of room in the bedrooms and a great lounge and dining area. Big kitchen and oven so you can do your own cooking too. Highly recommend it and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Great property, exceptionally well presented and furnished.

The lounge and kitchen wee exceptional. The lounge full of wonderful couches and chairs, with a great table for a more formal dinner.

The kitchen was fantastic. The host provides great breakfast provisions and lots of the little things needed to cook well.

We used the back bedroom and bathroom. This room feels like a "lean too" with a zinc roof and zinc walls in the bathroom. We stayed in the middle of winter and the heating in the bedroom just wasn't up to it.

The open fire in the lounge made for a very comfortable space.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DMMatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Four couples stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate a birthday. It was a very wet, cold weekend but with the beautiful open fire (masses of wood supplied) and comfortable seating around it the weather just didn't matter.
All 4 bedrooms were very well set up, comfortable beds and good ensuite bathrooms with lovely toiletries. Only problem was, maybe the water could have been a bit hotter.
The kitchen had everything we needed, great supply of quality plates, saucepans and glasses. Breakfast supplies were very generous, everything we wanted. A large table to sit and eat.
It was a terrific house for a group stay, would highly recommend this place for 4 couples to stay.
If staying in this area again I would definately stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Max's Cottage on Red HIll Estate last weekend. It was an incredible weekend - the cottage had views over Red Hill estate vineyard down to the water & Phillip Island. Marcus who runs the accommodation was very friendly he gave us some great local tips as well as a delicious bottle of Red Hill Estate Sparkling - and made sure the heater was on so the place was toasty when we arrived. There is a lovely balcony on the cottage - also with views over the vineyard.
It feels like they have thought of everything - from fresh flowers, to water by the bedside, to a luxurious 2 person spa, and fantastic DIY breakfast rations (bacon, eggs, avocado, tomato, toast, fruit toast, Jalna yoghurt, 3 types of cereal, 2 types of milk, 3 types of tea and instant and ground coffee for the plunger and a full fruit bowl). We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the cottage - but only one has the amazing spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeidiMelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

There is so much to recommend Max's. Red Hill is a beautiful part of the world, and Max's is perfect for accessing all the wineries in the area. I loved the roaring open fire in the living room with the plush, comfy sofas, the kitchen is extremely well appointed, the bedrooms comfortable and stylish. There was one big problem however. The roof over the bedrooms is made of corrugated iron, unlike the main living rooms, which means that the possums running across the roof woke us up EVERY night, several times a night. The noise really has to be heard to be believed, like a cricket ball being thrown at the roof. I didn't get a decent night's sleep during the whole of our stay. I have not encountered corrugated iron roofing before (excepting on sheds!) and don't regard it as fit for purpose in rented accommodation or in keeping with the otherwise excellent quality of this retreat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FiMacinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were very knowledgeable about this lovely building. The fire was just great. A wonderful place for a group get together. There was many a curio to enjoy. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was not lacking for
anything.We wound most definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I couldn't find Max's Restaurant alone on trip advisor so am writing this here as would like to highly recommend the dinner we had in celebration of my birthday there.

The wine tasting room was great- some of the best wine I've tasted in the area, and the staff were helpful and fun. They also had good quality wine related gifts.

The restaurant is in a phenomenal setting- panoramic views of Phillip island from every table. The staff were very attentive, and the food with matching wines was sensational. I had oysters with champagne, followed by steak with a lovely red wine and then a great chocolate dish with fortified sweet wine. My husband had calamari and then local fish followed by a very interesting sesame ice cream...he was driving, so didn't unfortunately partake in the wines!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
7.8 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
447 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Lindenderry at Red Hill
#1 of 1 in Red Hill
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Polperro Villas
Polperro Villas
#1 of 4 in Red Hill
73 reviews
10.2 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stony Creek Cottages
Stony Creek Cottages
#2 of 4 in Red Hill
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate

Property: Max's Retreat at Red Hill Estate
Address: 53 Shoreham Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Max’s Retreat at Red Hill Estate is tucked away in the original estate farmhouse, overlooking the vines to Westernport Bay and Phillip Island. The renovated retreat accommodates two couples and is a gentle two minute stroll to Max’s Restaurant and the Red Hill Estate cellar door. The two queen sized bedrooms boast ensuites (one with a spa bath) Sheridan linens and L’Occitane amenities. Original wooden floorboards feature in the open plan kitchen, dining and living areas and a separate sitting room makes a lovely quiet reading area. Enjoy a quiet afternoon drink or barbeque on the front deck as you admire the stunning view and feel as if you are in your own private paradise. Max’s Retreat at Red Hill Estate is charged at $300 per couple per night. This rate includes generous breakfast provisions and a complimentary bottle of Red Hill Estate sparkling wine.A BBQ pack can be supplied for guests to cook price $45.00 per person. Please note a two night minimum stay applies on long weekends and during January. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing