We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bay Motel Safety Beach(Mornington Peninsula)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Jackalope Hotel(Merricks North)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Flinders Hotel(Flinders)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Woodman Estate(Moorooduc)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Bayview Motel(Rosebud)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (393)
    Filter reviews
    393 results
    Traveller rating
    172
    102
    68
    32
    19
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    172
    102
    68
    32
    19
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscellar dooropen fireon arrivalbeautiful groundsmornington peninsulacourtyard roomfood and winepinot noirlinden tree restaurantmy partnerboutique hotellovely experiencelocal winerestaurant staffgood nights sleeprelaxing staytable tennis
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    248 - 253 of 393 reviews
    Reviewed 23 March 2014

    A beautiful location with extensive grounds to explore both for pleasure and exercise. Very spacious, well equipped room with extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was a little disappointing and could do with a reno. A safe in the room would be a very appreciated addition.

    Room Tip: If you have heavy/lots of baggage, ask for a room that doesn't involve stairs!
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank PerthJayne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

    Hi PerthJayne
    Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Lindenderry and had the time to explore our magnificent gardens! On 30 acres including our award winning vineyard, there is much to see and do without ever leaving the Estate!
    Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
    Kind regards
    Tony

    Tony Barradale
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 February 2014

    The hotel clearly caters for weddings and their guests. Check before booking if there will be a wedding on and where available rooms are. I haven't even left the place and writing this review. Wedding both Friday and Saturday night. Guests returned to the area near their rooms to party on till 3 am. No consideration given to other guests. When I complained the next day (today). No apology by staff was made or offer of compensation. There is a wedding tonight and we are surrounded by wedding guests - dreading it. Despite being informed when I booked the hotel that we would be able to dine in hotel and that the wedding wouldn't interfer we were unable to as the restaurant was short staffed 'due to wedding'. For the cost of the accommodation the rooms could do with an upgrade and the rest of the place could do with some work.

    • Stayed: February 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank futureideas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

    Hi futureideas
    My thanks for your review and from the outside I apologise for what was clearly a most unsatisfactory experience, definitely not I expect any of our guests to encounter. There is no reason whatsoever why you ought not to have dined in Linden Tree, an aspect I am looking into as per my private note to you.
    I do hope you are able to return to Lindenderry and experience the many positive aspects which we have been renowned for over the years and most definitely will be in the years to come.
    Kind regards
    Tony

    Tony Barradale
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 February 2014

    About 80 mins from the airport the venue is very peaceful and relaxing and perfect for a conference. The meeting rooms are bright and have views over the beautiful gardens. The food was very good for conference style catering and the service always efficient and courteous. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. All round a good experience.

    Room Tip: The larger rooms on the second floor (there are only 4) have working fire places.
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank StuckinBangers
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

    Hi StuckinBangers
    I do appreciate your review, thank you.
    Lindenderry has for many years been regarded as one of the country's pre-eminent boutique conference venues where we really can deliver an exemplary experience for our conference delegates. It's not just the rooms and their configuration which works so well, but the magnificent estate set on some 30 acres which ensures an excellent environment and complete privacy.
    At Lindenderry we do go the extra mile to ensure an excellent experience and I am please you enjoyed your time with us.
    Kind regards
    Tony

    Tony Barradale
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 February 2014

    Lindenderry is certainly an impressive property, but is a mix of good and bad experiences. Firstly the good. Reception was excellent. We arrived very early and intended only to let them know we were in the vicinity and would return after a tour of the local wineries. We were actually given one upgraded room on the spot with a promise to 'do their best' for the other couple in our party. This enabled us to offload our luggage immediately. The other couple were also upgraded later and the rooms were superb - very spacious and nicely fitted out. The pool area was nice and our wives put it to good use. The boys played pool and we were supplied with half a dozen beers to lubricate our shot-making. The Saturday night meal was good, but not great.
    Now for the bad. The grounds are lovely, but we all felt that someone with a leaf blower and half and hour of time, could have made a big difference to the exterior presentation. Some of the outdoor furniture was a little 'tired' and the wooden furniture due for replacement. As mentioned, the room was superb but, with a door leading to the courtyard, why weren't we supplied with a key? The upgrade was appreciated but it put us within a few metres of a wedding, and although the Bollywood style music finished at about midnight, we may have wished to retire earlier. The meal was good but expensive, with the real shock coming with the drinks menu. I have canvassed many friends on what they would consider an acceptable price mark-up for a restaurant and all agreed that it was excessive. I saw Moet NV in Dan Murphy's yesterday for $45.15 per bottle - Lindenderry price it at $206. The light beers supplied whilst we played pool can be had at Dan Murphy's for $13.50 for 6 - Lindenderry charge $42. I can't help but think that this is excessive and it certainly soured the experience for us.

    Room Tip: If you want and early night, seek a room away from any celebrations.
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank GaryF1956
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

    Hi GaryF1956
    Many thanks for your writing a review of Lindenderry and for staying with us!
    We are very much focusing on having Lindenderry maximise its full potential given our Red Hill location, magnificent accommodation and extraordinary grounds. We are also fortunate to have an outstanding Executive Chef who has prepared fabulous menus in Linden Tree restaurant, our cellar door and for conferences. As our refurbishment comes closer to fruition the estate is looking and feeler better every day.
    I do appreciate your comments, all of which have been taken on board and as with all feedback we take it most seriously.
    Kind regards
    Tony

    Tony Barradale
    General manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 February 2014

    Travellers, couples or business groups will find this property a beautiful retreat in a quiet corner of the Mornington Peninsula. With about 40 or so rooms, Lindenderry has lots of quiet nooks, retreat areas, games rooms. a library (most with open fireplaces) together with an indoor pool. Would be a fantastic spot for a group or business team get together! It presents as a charming country property, basically single-storey and nestling into its garden/vineyard surrounds

    We had a Garden Room (so called for its lovely views through floor-to-ceiling windows over the rolling, spacious garden with mature trees, and a pond, replete with two white geese). the room was a massive 60m2, so even with a king-sized bed, there was stacks of space. Décor was a modern black and silver theme, tastefully done. The Garden rooms certainly would be preferred to the Vineyard rooms which, not surprisingly, overlooked the vineyards.

    We had an accommodation/meals package which came with a complimentary welcoming bottle of Moet & Chandon bubbly, most welcome on a very hot day

    Their vineyards are beautifully maintained (unlike some of the scruffy-looking ones about) and their separate cellar door building offers wine tastings and some basic fare such as pizzas. Dan behind the counter there ( studying to be a wine-maker, himself) was a friendly soul, who after seven years in the job, offers good advice on the estate's (excellent but not inexpensive) wines.

    BUT, in addition to the positive reviews of the facilities, we were attracted to Lindenderry because of the very complimentary reviews accorded to its decorated chef. It was a special birthday treat for my wife, and we looked forward to the prospect of being able to walk, suitably warmed by the Moet, just a few metres to the much-vaunted restaurant, have a memorable meal and stroll back to out room.

    Well, the meal WAS memorable, but for the wrong reasons !

    After satisfactory entrees we looked forward to the main dishes - my wife to a lamb dish and me to a waygu fillet steak. The lamb came as two huge-boned chops with a meat : fat ratio of about 20:80 - greasy looking and quite off-putting. My steak (ordered to be medium, came as a chewy, rare, odd-shaped blob of a cut and quite inedible. We were offered replacements, but rejected that offer given the chef's performance at the first attempt, but were offered our drinks at no charge - a reasonable attempt at damage control.

    I guess we were unlucky to get the B grade chef on the Sunday evening we were there... but some quality control of the sous chef personnel is certainly called for.

    Also a little quality control of a few elements of the surroundings is also called for - dead plants, paint needing retouching, some tidying up of verandas (the outdoor furniture was covered in dust) and so on. There is new management in place we heard, so some of the above might be looked at soon

    Given all of that, we would still recommend Lindenderry as a lovely retreat.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank gaad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

    Hi gaad
    I am please you enjoyed your stay at Lindenderry and my thanks for taking the time to write a review. Lindenderry is a beautiful place to visit and stay where one can enjoy the fabulous rooms and extensive gardens - plus our vineyard of course!
    Your feedback regarding your meal at Linden Tree on the Sunday night I am surprised about as we regularly have nothing but overwhelming praise for the menu and kitchen. However I have most definitely discussed this with our Executive Chef who assures me there ought not to have been (or will be) any concerns with his dishes.
    Lindenderry is in the final throes of a refurbishment whereby all rooms, public areas and grounds will be presented to a superb standard, reflecting our commitment to giving all our guests a wonderful experience.
    Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry!
    Kind regards
    Tony

    Tony Barradale
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews