We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just had Easter Sunday lunch at Lindenderry, was so looking forward to it, but sorry to say the service was terrible. Very short staffed, not as if you didn't know the numbers attending on the day as we had to pay up front. No one even came near our table and apologised for the delay which would have helped a little. Seemed to be two staff and the "fairy" for the whole dining room. Then when the roast pork arrived it wasn't roast pork but a pork chop which was very dry and hard to cut through. I also have to agree with the previous review regarding the drinks prices, very overcharged $57 for a bottle Pinoit Noir from Lindnenderry Estate to me sounds a bit steep, and certainly nothing special. I have been to Lindenderry before and enjoyed the experience but sorry not this time and I will be spreading the word regarding the very poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank L&LAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Lindenderry at Red Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked my parents and I into Lindenderry for it's Christmas buffett lunch Dec 25th 2013 and at $180 a pop it wasn't cheap but the food was absolutely faultless - hats off to the chef for an amazing spread! Unfortunately that's where the positive experience ended. On arrival a girl told us to find our table and seat ourselves - at no point did Lindenderry explain we would be on shared tables with random strangers which was frankly just awkward for all involved. At no point did staff take drink orders and that set the scene, if you wanted something you had to hunt down a staff member and ask - that is if you could actually find one, which for the most part there were none in sight. There was no music, the Orchard room was dated and tired looking and the small Christmas tree with 2 presents under it in such a large room was the only Christmas decoration which was very underwhelming. Staff also forgot to put out serving cutlery which had the only benefit of meeting other fabulous guests (which frankly I wish had of been seated at my table) trying to work out how exactly they were going to get the food onto their plate - it was a complete joke and you could only laugh at how bad the overall experience. All in all this goes down as the most depressing and miserable Christmas lunch I've ever had - Lindenderry you are missing a trick but I suspect with all the negative feedback you receive you already know this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A beautiful location with extensive grounds to explore both for pleasure and exercise. Very spacious, well equipped room with extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was a little disappointing and could do with a reno. A safe in the room would be a very appreciated addition.

Room Tip: If you have heavy/lots of baggage, ask for a room that doesn't involve stairs!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi PerthJayne
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Lindenderry and had the time to explore our magnificent gardens! On 30 acres including our award winning vineyard, there is much to see and do without ever leaving the Estate!
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel clearly caters for weddings and their guests. Check before booking if there will be a wedding on and where available rooms are. I haven't even left the place and writing this review. Wedding both Friday and Saturday night. Guests returned to the area near their rooms to party on till 3 am. No consideration given to other guests. When I complained the next day (today). No apology by staff was made or offer of compensation. There is a wedding tonight and we are surrounded by wedding guests - dreading it. Despite being informed when I booked the hotel that we would be able to dine in hotel and that the wedding wouldn't interfer we were unable to as the restaurant was short staffed 'due to wedding'. For the cost of the accommodation the rooms could do with an upgrade and the rest of the place could do with some work.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank futureideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi futureideas
My thanks for your review and from the outside I apologise for what was clearly a most unsatisfactory experience, definitely not I expect any of our guests to encounter. There is no reason whatsoever why you ought not to have dined in Linden Tree, an aspect I am looking into as per my private note to you.
I do hope you are able to return to Lindenderry and experience the many positive aspects which we have been renowned for over the years and most definitely will be in the years to come.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

About 80 mins from the airport the venue is very peaceful and relaxing and perfect for a conference. The meeting rooms are bright and have views over the beautiful gardens. The food was very good for conference style catering and the service always efficient and courteous. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. All round a good experience.

Room Tip: The larger rooms on the second floor (there are only 4) have working fire places.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi StuckinBangers
I do appreciate your review, thank you.
Lindenderry has for many years been regarded as one of the country's pre-eminent boutique conference venues where we really can deliver an exemplary experience for our conference delegates. It's not just the rooms and their configuration which works so well, but the magnificent estate set on some 30 acres which ensures an excellent environment and complete privacy.
At Lindenderry we do go the extra mile to ensure an excellent experience and I am please you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lindenderry is certainly an impressive property, but is a mix of good and bad experiences. Firstly the good. Reception was excellent. We arrived very early and intended only to let them know we were in the vicinity and would return after a tour of the local wineries. We were actually given one upgraded room on the spot with a promise to 'do their best' for the other couple in our party. This enabled us to offload our luggage immediately. The other couple were also upgraded later and the rooms were superb - very spacious and nicely fitted out. The pool area was nice and our wives put it to good use. The boys played pool and we were supplied with half a dozen beers to lubricate our shot-making. The Saturday night meal was good, but not great.
Now for the bad. The grounds are lovely, but we all felt that someone with a leaf blower and half and hour of time, could have made a big difference to the exterior presentation. Some of the outdoor furniture was a little 'tired' and the wooden furniture due for replacement. As mentioned, the room was superb but, with a door leading to the courtyard, why weren't we supplied with a key? The upgrade was appreciated but it put us within a few metres of a wedding, and although the Bollywood style music finished at about midnight, we may have wished to retire earlier. The meal was good but expensive, with the real shock coming with the drinks menu. I have canvassed many friends on what they would consider an acceptable price mark-up for a restaurant and all agreed that it was excessive. I saw Moet NV in Dan Murphy's yesterday for $45.15 per bottle - Lindenderry price it at $206. The light beers supplied whilst we played pool can be had at Dan Murphy's for $13.50 for 6 - Lindenderry charge $42. I can't help but think that this is excessive and it certainly soured the experience for us.

Room Tip: If you want and early night, seek a room away from any celebrations.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryF1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi GaryF1956
Many thanks for your writing a review of Lindenderry and for staying with us!
We are very much focusing on having Lindenderry maximise its full potential given our Red Hill location, magnificent accommodation and extraordinary grounds. We are also fortunate to have an outstanding Executive Chef who has prepared fabulous menus in Linden Tree restaurant, our cellar door and for conferences. As our refurbishment comes closer to fruition the estate is looking and feeler better every day.
I do appreciate your comments, all of which have been taken on board and as with all feedback we take it most seriously.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Travellers, couples or business groups will find this property a beautiful retreat in a quiet corner of the Mornington Peninsula. With about 40 or so rooms, Lindenderry has lots of quiet nooks, retreat areas, games rooms. a library (most with open fireplaces) together with an indoor pool. Would be a fantastic spot for a group or business team get together! It presents as a charming country property, basically single-storey and nestling into its garden/vineyard surrounds

We had a Garden Room (so called for its lovely views through floor-to-ceiling windows over the rolling, spacious garden with mature trees, and a pond, replete with two white geese). the room was a massive 60m2, so even with a king-sized bed, there was stacks of space. Décor was a modern black and silver theme, tastefully done. The Garden rooms certainly would be preferred to the Vineyard rooms which, not surprisingly, overlooked the vineyards.

We had an accommodation/meals package which came with a complimentary welcoming bottle of Moet & Chandon bubbly, most welcome on a very hot day

Their vineyards are beautifully maintained (unlike some of the scruffy-looking ones about) and their separate cellar door building offers wine tastings and some basic fare such as pizzas. Dan behind the counter there ( studying to be a wine-maker, himself) was a friendly soul, who after seven years in the job, offers good advice on the estate's (excellent but not inexpensive) wines.

BUT, in addition to the positive reviews of the facilities, we were attracted to Lindenderry because of the very complimentary reviews accorded to its decorated chef. It was a special birthday treat for my wife, and we looked forward to the prospect of being able to walk, suitably warmed by the Moet, just a few metres to the much-vaunted restaurant, have a memorable meal and stroll back to out room.

Well, the meal WAS memorable, but for the wrong reasons !

After satisfactory entrees we looked forward to the main dishes - my wife to a lamb dish and me to a waygu fillet steak. The lamb came as two huge-boned chops with a meat : fat ratio of about 20:80 - greasy looking and quite off-putting. My steak (ordered to be medium, came as a chewy, rare, odd-shaped blob of a cut and quite inedible. We were offered replacements, but rejected that offer given the chef's performance at the first attempt, but were offered our drinks at no charge - a reasonable attempt at damage control.

I guess we were unlucky to get the B grade chef on the Sunday evening we were there... but some quality control of the sous chef personnel is certainly called for.

Also a little quality control of a few elements of the surroundings is also called for - dead plants, paint needing retouching, some tidying up of verandas (the outdoor furniture was covered in dust) and so on. There is new management in place we heard, so some of the above might be looked at soon

Given all of that, we would still recommend Lindenderry as a lovely retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Hi gaad
I am please you enjoyed your stay at Lindenderry and my thanks for taking the time to write a review. Lindenderry is a beautiful place to visit and stay where one can enjoy the fabulous rooms and extensive gardens - plus our vineyard of course!
Your feedback regarding your meal at Linden Tree on the Sunday night I am surprised about as we regularly have nothing but overwhelming praise for the menu and kitchen. However I have most definitely discussed this with our Executive Chef who assures me there ought not to have been (or will be) any concerns with his dishes.
Lindenderry is in the final throes of a refurbishment whereby all rooms, public areas and grounds will be presented to a superb standard, reflecting our commitment to giving all our guests a wonderful experience.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
4.8 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
47 reviews
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
490 reviews
7.4 mi away
Flinders Hotel
Flinders Hotel
#1 of 2 in Flinders
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Moonlight Bay Apartments
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
15.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range: £113 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing