We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the big price tag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lindenderry at Red Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not worth the big price tag”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked in for one night at the Lindenderry, expecting a luxurious getaway but the quality does not match the photos and the rooms are on par with an average Best Western, just double the price. We chose the basic/cheapest room because they were so expensive; however thought at $320 a night we would still expect more than this. The room is clean and comfortable but incredibly dated (think apricot bench tops and run down bathrooms), it is definitely not worth $320 a night, I would have been satisfied if we had paid around $200 or if the price had included breakfast or something more than just a bed.
The hotel was no doubt grand in its day but it is incredibly tired and dated, lacking in atmosphere and desperately needs a facelift. There were some cosy loungerooms dotted around but no communal bar or area to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and snack, something like this would improve the atmosphere immensely. The staff were lovely in all areas but it was all a bit slow. Dinner in the restaurant was nice, and decent serves for the price tag which is up there with city prices, but the restaurant atmosphere itself is very much like the rest of the hotel. In need of a facelift, even some music playing might help. My friends and I joked we felt like we were in a retirement home, that was the meal room. I personally wouldn't stay here again in its current state but if you want a hotel in Red HIll, this is kind of it so it leaves no option but to pay the price or go for a B&B which I wish we had done now.

Room Tip: May need to pay more to get luxury but not sure it will be there even if you do go up in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    86
    61
    32
    18
See reviews for
40
195
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lindenderry is not worth a visit. We were given a room and discovered it had not been cleaned with unmade. So got another room which was supposed to a vineyard view. It looked out onto a rocky courtyard with not a vine in view. We were supposed to get a bottle of Moët champagne. It never turned so we had to ask for it. I had booked in for a manicure. I walked out with fingers covered in varnish. All this for over $400 - I will not be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay at lindenderry for the indoor spa and pool. On our arrival we asked for directions and immediately made in that direction . Unfortunately the spa was cold and broken; not sure why we had to work that our selves ??

Otherwise , a lovely lunch in the restaurant and a nice lunch at the cellar door. Open fires in the lounge are also very nice .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigfish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just had Easter Sunday lunch at Lindenderry, was so looking forward to it, but sorry to say the service was terrible. Very short staffed, not as if you didn't know the numbers attending on the day as we had to pay up front. No one even came near our table and apologised for the delay which would have helped a little. Seemed to be two staff and the "fairy" for the whole dining room. Then when the roast pork arrived it wasn't roast pork but a pork chop which was very dry and hard to cut through. I also have to agree with the previous review regarding the drinks prices, very overcharged $57 for a bottle Pinoit Noir from Lindnenderry Estate to me sounds a bit steep, and certainly nothing special. I have been to Lindenderry before and enjoyed the experience but sorry not this time and I will be spreading the word regarding the very poor service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L&LAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked my parents and I into Lindenderry for it's Christmas buffett lunch Dec 25th 2013 and at $180 a pop it wasn't cheap but the food was absolutely faultless - hats off to the chef for an amazing spread! Unfortunately that's where the positive experience ended. On arrival a girl told us to find our table and seat ourselves - at no point did Lindenderry explain we would be on shared tables with random strangers which was frankly just awkward for all involved. At no point did staff take drink orders and that set the scene, if you wanted something you had to hunt down a staff member and ask - that is if you could actually find one, which for the most part there were none in sight. There was no music, the Orchard room was dated and tired looking and the small Christmas tree with 2 presents under it in such a large room was the only Christmas decoration which was very underwhelming. Staff also forgot to put out serving cutlery which had the only benefit of meeting other fabulous guests (which frankly I wish had of been seated at my table) trying to work out how exactly they were going to get the food onto their plate - it was a complete joke and you could only laugh at how bad the overall experience. All in all this goes down as the most depressing and miserable Christmas lunch I've ever had - Lindenderry you are missing a trick but I suspect with all the negative feedback you receive you already know this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A beautiful location with extensive grounds to explore both for pleasure and exercise. Very spacious, well equipped room with extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was a little disappointing and could do with a reno. A safe in the room would be a very appreciated addition.

Room Tip: If you have heavy/lots of baggage, ask for a room that doesn't involve stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi PerthJayne
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Lindenderry and had the time to explore our magnificent gardens! On 30 acres including our award winning vineyard, there is much to see and do without ever leaving the Estate!
Many thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel clearly caters for weddings and their guests. Check before booking if there will be a wedding on and where available rooms are. I haven't even left the place and writing this review. Wedding both Friday and Saturday night. Guests returned to the area near their rooms to party on till 3 am. No consideration given to other guests. When I complained the next day (today). No apology by staff was made or offer of compensation. There is a wedding tonight and we are surrounded by wedding guests - dreading it. Despite being informed when I booked the hotel that we would be able to dine in hotel and that the wedding wouldn't interfer we were unable to as the restaurant was short staffed 'due to wedding'. For the cost of the accommodation the rooms could do with an upgrade and the rest of the place could do with some work.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank futureideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi futureideas
My thanks for your review and from the outside I apologise for what was clearly a most unsatisfactory experience, definitely not I expect any of our guests to encounter. There is no reason whatsoever why you ought not to have dined in Linden Tree, an aspect I am looking into as per my private note to you.
I do hope you are able to return to Lindenderry and experience the many positive aspects which we have been renowned for over the years and most definitely will be in the years to come.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hill
9.3 mi away
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
RACV Cape Schanck Resort
#1 of 1 in Cape Schanck
447 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jackalope Hotel
Jackalope Hotel
#1 of 1 in Merricks North
21 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklands Of Mornington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
294 reviews
10.6 mi away
Rye Hotel - One Four Nelson
8.3 mi away
Woodman Estate
Woodman Estate
#1 of 1 in Moorooduc
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Property: Lindenderry at Red Hill
Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Victoria's most spectacular region, the Mornington Peninsula, you will find Lindenderry. The region's premier boutique hotel, Lindenderry is set on 30 acres of natural beauty. English inspired gardens surround the hotel, extending to a vineyard and a private lake, all framed by an iconic Australian landscape. As you arrive at the property, meandering through the peaceful grounds, you feel a sense of escape that stays with you till you are back in your car and travelling home. After a recent soft refurbishment to all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge areas, this country estate offers accommodation that is perfect for couples or groups looking for an elegant retreat whilst indulging on the Mornington Peninsula. There are 40 modern rooms available at Lindenderry, each with its own unique design that stylishly captures the regional landscape. Relax in the many inviting guest lounges that feature open fireplaces and, with floor to ceiling windows, flood with soft natural light, making the perfect nook to escape with a good book, a glass of wine, or quiet conversation. Adding to the indulgence of the property is our onsite restaurant, Linden Tree, with a newly appointed head chef who hails from some of the world's best restaurants, the dining experience at Lindenderry has become a must-do experience when visiting the Mornington Peninsula. Also featuring a cellar-door offering a more informal dining experience, why not stop by for a tipple? Following a recent recognition from Australia's leading wine authority, James Halliday, as a Five Star Winery and with nearly all of our wines receiving a remarkable score of 95 or above, Lindenderry is proving itself to be one of the leading wineries of the region also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing