We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price, Exceptional Innkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I am a seasoned traveller, so let me address the negative review by the other "seasoned traveller". I would have to question the motive of the review since none of what was stated was even close to what I and the other guests experienced. The B&B is a period house, circa late 1800s, and very comfortable, thanks to the modern HVAC and plumbing. The innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the history of both the house and the area. They were very conversational and easy to engage. Robert is a retired attorney and Judy is a writer - try and get this in your local Marriott! Now to the issues of comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, and overall hospitality - outstanding in all respects. Mountain City/Johnson County is rich in history and worth the visit, whether for business or just a weekend getaway. Most people aren't aware that Johnson County remained loyal to the union during the civil war and that their early leaders were imprisoned for their anti-slavery, pro-union positions. Or, that Johnson County was part of the old State of Franklin (never admitted to the United States, of course). Or, that Johnson County is home to world-class musicians who have played Carnegie Hall and other world renown sites. If the guest had removed the "Do Not Disturb" sign and engaged with the Inn's wonderful hosts, maybe... Well, you get the picture. As far as the honesty and integrity of the hosts - not even questioned. This is a great place, with great prices, and outstanding hosts. Most strongly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USN1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at Prospect Hill B&B in Mountain City, TN. Beautiful house, spacious rooms with all the amenities. The bed and coverings were very comfortable and even our 2 yr old slept in! Breakfast of pancakes and fruit was great. Really enjoyed our stay again. thanks

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, just depends on what you are looking for
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drvetin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Robert and Judy make this a stay to remember. This 125 year old home has been restored to its original beauty and decorated with antiques and period appropriate furniture. The hospitatlity keeps me coming back. The bed is very comfortable, the fireplaces give you that warm glow on a cold snowy night. Internet access, a private balcony, a library and the grounds make it a relaxing one-stop vacation spot. The view of the mountains is breathtaking and the morning fresh air as well as the birds singing invite you to go out and about. I have not enjoyed thier breakfast as I leave early when I stay. I still find reason to keep on coming back and appreciate their hospitality. If you are looking for a peaceful get-away, you have found it.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but you may want to inquire about special features of each to make the best...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We called in late afternoon and we're lucky enough to secure a room. The other lodging choices in town we're not desirable. The host were very friendly and talkative, sharing a lot of info about the town and area. Pancakes & sausage the next morning were delicious. A bit pricey for the area, but a fair value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgdecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GirlFriendTN, Owner at Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for the compliments! A plain room and an ordinary buffet breakfast aren’t good enough for our guests. We serve up a great experience, a night’s sleep in a large room in a comfortable bed, tasty, hot breakfast served on china set on an antique table all housed in a 125-year-old historic home.

Bed and breakfasts, this one in particular, expend much effort so guests will say “very nice room, great breakfast!”

What I’m hearing this couple say is that we did all that in an area where other lodging options are lackluster. For that we charge more than they do. My question is: Is it worth it to be delighted?

The we want guests say “wow!” We work every day to give guests the best stay possible. Our breakfasts are made from scratch from fresh ingredients. Some are specialty recipes to match guests’ health issues, such as gluten-free or vegetarian meals. IF you could find such a breakfast in the town, it would cost somewhere in the range of 15-20% of the room rate.

Many guests visit us not knowing what our region offers. If they’d like, we ask their interests then suggest things to do and places to visit which are “just right for them.” That’s a concierge service not often found outside the Welcome Center.

For example, we are located on the edge of Mountain City and at the base of Doe Mountain Recreation Area where we are the closest lodging to the park entrance. Let us tell you about this newest Tennessee park along with many other outdoor activities around the region.

By renovating and updating an 1889 architect-designed house we’ve created a Bed and Breakfast experience which is far more than “just a place to sleep.” All of this adds up to the experience these guests so much enjoyed. And let me add, we very much enjoyed their visit! What guests think and feel is important to us. We hope to always provide a memorable stay, whether folks are on vacation, passing through or visiting our town on business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Like staying with family-only better! We arrived at dark after a long fall day of mountain road driving that ended on one of the best roads in the country for sport driving-"The Snake-Hwy 421" that passes through the appropriately named, Mountain City, Tennessee. Prospect Hill was lit with twinkling lights outside and a warm homey glow coming from inside. Hosts Robert & Judy greeted us at the front door with smiles, a tour of the B&B and fall football on the TV. Our room was great and equipped with fireplaces in the bedroom and bath, a deep "claw-foot" tub that provided a hot relaxing bath (as well as a modern shower), a super comfortable memory foam bed, TV, internet, and a private porch. Prosepect Hill is shown on the list of haunted B&B's but I slept too soundly to be bothered by ghosts or anything else. Breakfast was perfect with "baked scrambled eggs", bacon, fruit, juice & coffee. We are looking forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Loved this place. I was actually in town on business and this place was so quiet, comfortable, and private. I can't wait to stay here again. Sat outside every night and enjoyed the gorgeous view of the mountains and quietness. Room and bed were so comfy, clean, and private. Owners very friendly and accommodating! Def recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyful413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owners are just wonderful! Very peaceful and clean . Can't wait to go back and stay again. Thank you Frank and Judy for and wonderful 2 days. Also the breakfast was heavenly. The creeper trail was a lot of fun be sure and dress warm.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain City
18.5 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
184 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
622 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
#1 of 2 in Mountain City
32 reviews
11.4 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#4 of 5 in Damascus
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 801 W Main St, Mountain City, TN 37683-1219
Region: United States > Tennessee > Mountain City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain City
Price Range: £141 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1889 country mansion has been turned into a luxurious, private, comfortable and relaxed 5-room B&B. Mountain views. Fire flies. Sunsets. Places to relax; amenities to match the mood: whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, comfortable king or queen beds, tasty full breakfasts and lots of extras such as robes, candles and free snacks. Stay connected (free wifi & TV). Get away from the rat race! Featured today: Fresh air, peace, quiet. Getaway now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing