We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I could stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Reviewed 13 June 2006

I had a business trip to the area and only stayed two evenings. The room was clean and comfortable, the view was amazing, the staff was cheerful and the owners were attentive to detail. I enjoyed breakfast immensely. It seems off the beaten path but what a beautiful path! Actually, it isn't that far from Boone and Blowing Rock so you can hit the "big cities" if you tire of the natural beauty of the area. The new meeting room/wedding pavilion wasn't quite finished but I could see that the attention to detail would result in a lovely place to have a wedding or event.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RIresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 113 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
north carolina
14
Reviewed 26 May 2006

My husband and I spent a week here and hated to leave. We had complete privacy. Breakfast each day was different from the day before and everything from the fruit filled crepes to the stuffed french toast was completely wonderful. Our hosts made us feel completely at home with their interesting stories and very helpful advice about local points of interest.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Coral Springs, FL
13
Reviewed 18 October 2005

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at Prospect Hill Bed and Breakfast. Our room (the garden room) was spacious and comfortable. The owners, Judy and Robert, couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. They are doing a fantastic job of renovating this beautiful, historic home atop a hill in Mountain City. Robert's brown sugar, oatmeal pancakes and homemade cinnamon syrup were melt-in.your-mouth scrumptious. We highly recommend this Mountain City, TN B & B for a romantic getaway.
Jinky & Jay Anderson
Coral Springs, FL

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bridgewater, Virginia
13
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful old home with so much to offer. The rooms are very spacious. The room my husband and I was in included the claw foot tub and it was very relaxing. There is a wonderful little porch on the second floor above the front entrance that keeps the rain out and the breeze in and is perfect for a relaxing read or quite conversation. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful every morning, better than most dinners we had that week. It is a beautiful drive over the mountain to Boone & Blowing Rock. We look forward to returning to see how their renovations have gone.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Midland, Texas
26
Reviewed 15 April 2005

I'm a repeater to the Prospect Hill B&B, and I plan to continue that trend. This grand old structure is being lovingly restored and improved by Robert & Judy Hotchkiss. They clearly know what they are doing and how to do it.

This area of northeast Tennessee is a photographer's dream. The Prospect Hill B&B is close enough to everything to make your stay a thoroughly relaxing experience. You're only a few miles from Virginia and North Carolina, as well as the delightful cities of Elizabethon and Johnson City.

If you like to fish or take your boat out for a spin, Watauga Lake is the place for you.

The cost is clearly in line with what you might expect to pay at other B&Bs.

Visit the Prospect Hill B&B once, and you, too, will become a repeater.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
317
Reviewed 22 June 2004

This is a delightful bed and breakfast not far from our home. It is a great place to go and relax. The restoration that Judy and Robert have done is amazing. Our room was so comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We have stayed in many b&bs, but this is one of the loveliest.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2004

What a great old house, with wonderful views of the mountains. Perched on a hill above town, Prospect Hill has been lovingly restored by owners Judy and Robert. Rooms are tastefully decorated, and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. If you're lucky, Robert will make his Brown Sugar Oatmeal pancakes for breakfast. Mountain City is not far from Boone and Blowing Rock, with beautiful scenery along the way, and plenty of places to go cycling, hiking, fishing, boating or exploring.



1  Thank Innspirational1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain City
18.5 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
184 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
622 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
Lodges at RedTail Mountain
#1 of 2 in Mountain City
32 reviews
11.4 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#4 of 5 in Damascus
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 801 W Main St, Mountain City, TN 37683-1219
Region: United States > Tennessee > Mountain City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain City
Price Range: £141 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 1889 country mansion has been turned into a luxurious, private, comfortable and relaxed 5-room B&B. Mountain views. Fire flies. Sunsets. Places to relax; amenities to match the mood: whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, comfortable king or queen beds, tasty full breakfasts and lots of extras such as robes, candles and free snacks. Stay connected (free wifi & TV). Get away from the rat race! Featured today: Fresh air, peace, quiet. Getaway now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prospect Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing