We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poacher's Paradise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

This motel is right behind the main street in the heart of town. The room was clean and spacious with modern fittings. We also had dinner at the hotel at the front and were impressed with the pub food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Placita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We arrived in Rutherglen without any rooms booked and we were so glad we found the Poacher's. We stayed for 3 nights and were given a good deal on the 'spa' room (no 10). The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean with everything we needed. You also get free WiFi access. The motel is part of the Poacher's Paradise hotel which does really good food (with a discount if you're staying at the motel). You can also have breakfast delivered to your room.

Joanne was so friendly and helpful and we liked it so much we went back there again when on our way back to Sydney. I'd happily recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneatko67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I've stayed at Poacher's Paradise a few times now. While the rooms are getting a little tired they still represent good value. Located in the centre of town (OK, so its not a big town) but you have access to all the wineries and down town pubs and other restaurants. Personally I like it and will be back again next visit.

Room Tip: they are all about the same - no scenery and a quick walk to the pub or other pubs in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This motel is off the main street behind its companion hotel. Room was quite spacious with lovely big bathroom and a minimum of traffic noise despite Rutherglen apparently being on a major truck route. Hotel has dining room & beer garden if you don't wish to stray too far, but there are many other eating options within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here a couple of months ago after purchasing an offer through Travel Auctions.The owner was very welcoming and went out of her way to be helpful. We received help with starting the barbeque which was provided for the use of guests and had a very enjoyable meal. We also purchased meals at the hotel one night and had them delivered to our room which was a nice touch for weary travellers as we could dine in our PJ's. The rooms were very clean and we had everything we needed to make our stay a most enjoyable one. I would certainly stay here again, it is a perfect position for trips to Beechworth, Bright and lots of other surrounding areas. A lovely little motel in a very central position in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macrostymaid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here two years ago when we were on our way to Melbourne and had no hesitation in booking a room in advance for this trip. Large rooms, large bathrooms, comfortable beds and everything is spotless. We thanked the owners for doing such a lovely job and also complimented the cleaner before we left. It's comforting just knowing that this place exists.

In Victoria in general, standards seem to be higher and prices lower than in NSW.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDCofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Poachers Paradise is a 10 room motel. It is clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. Breakfast is first class and the owners very welcoming. Room 1 is set up for disabled or aged people as it has support rails in the facilities etc. Room 8 is ideal for a family as it has 2 bedrooms and room 10 has a spa. The hotel is close by though I got no noise from it at night. The hotel serves great country evening meals at a good price. Thoroughly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Room 1 if you are older, room 8 for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.3 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
#7 of 12 in Rutherglen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poacher's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poacher's Paradise Motel

Property: Poacher's Paradise Motel
Address: 97 Murray Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poacher's Paradise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poacher's Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poacher's Paradise Motel Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing