We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country hospitality at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poacher's Paradise Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Country hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and friendly stay, this is the place to be.

We stayed at Poachers Paradise for three nights in January for a wedding. From our first contact with Jane she was friendly, approachable and accommodating and was so lovely in person. She really does go the extra mile to make you feel at home - I was troubleshooting for the groom who needed to urgently print his vows off before the wedding and I asked Jane if there was a newsagent nearby where we could access a printer. She told us to simply use hers - crisis averted and one very relieved, grateful groom!

Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and when friends popped in to say hello we had more than enough room for the five of us to sit around and chat. The motel is attached to the hotel at front and motel guests are offered a discount on meals, which are already competitively priced. The meals are delicious and can also be delivered to your room if you don't feel like venturing out.

This was country hospitality at its best - for our entire stay, it felt like we were visiting old friends. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We travelled to Rutherglen for the Tastes of Rutherglen wine and food weekend.
We had a fantastic weekend made even better by having great accommodation.
The room was great and nothing was too much trouble. I needed an extra bed at short notice
and it was made up and ready. I left my car there for the day after I had checked out and they had even put their own windshield shade on my car so it was not too hot when I returned.
Book me in for next year please!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7, great location up the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeecat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked a one night stay at Poachers Paradise the day of the Day on the Green concert at All Saints Estate. Thankfully Jane could accomodate us due to a cancellation. She went above and beyond to ensure that we got to and from the concert. It was great to see that great customer service is alive and well in the North East Region. Keep up the great work Jane.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

After a long and tiring drive to Rutherglen it was so nice to be greeted so warmly by Jane, at Reception. Nothing was too much trouble and her local knowledge was of great assistance. The room (number 6) was spacious, cool and clean. Although the motel is within walking distance of Main Street and the local hotels, we did not experience any disturbances. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cabsav007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I couldnt ask for a better place to stay. After arriving at the Poachers Paradise motel, you are greeted with a huge smile from the owners Jane and John, who go above and beyond to accomodate your needs. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. Foxtel provided for downtime if thats what you want. I am a frequent visitor of Rutherglen and ALWAYS stay at the Poachers paradise. Rooms are incredibly spacious and clean. The Poachers Paradise hotel also offer amazing quality pub food and reasonably priced. Location is right in the heart of town, its literally meters walk through the pub and you are in the middle of the main street. I couldnt recommend this highly enough. Jane and John are A+++. Excellent service every time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Poachers Paradise for our wine weekend. Jane and her team couldn't do enough for us and the accommodation is first class. We enjoyed the use of the BBQ area and the premises has a very relaxed feel. The central location made it easy to cover the area and the packaged wine excursion in the limousine was informative and a heap of fun. Well worth the stay! Thanks Jane

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service from the lady on the front desk. Especially when we were getting wine deliveries after our cycling tour. The family room was plenty large enough. The motel is very centrally located and an easy walk to the Main Street. There was some noise on the Saturday night from the pub (only heard in the second bedroom) and done noise from other motel guests smoking out the front of their rooms. But overall it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.3 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
#7 of 12 in Rutherglen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poacher's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poacher's Paradise Motel

Property: Poacher's Paradise Motel
Address: 97 Murray Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poacher's Paradise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poacher's Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poacher's Paradise Motel Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing