We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed at Poacher's on many occasions over a period of ten years or more and have always been very happy with the quality of the accommodation. But it is not just the comfortable bed, the very clean room and the well appointed bathroom that makes us return; it is the warm welcome we have received from the proprietors over the years. Jayne and John are now in charge of the motel and they ensure our comfort is paramount. Fluffy towels, good quality soap, shampoo and conditioner are supplied. They make time for a friendly chat, advise us what's on in town and ensure that we are happy and rested. This motel is close to all facilities but quietly situated for a good night's sleep. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very clean comfortable room and within easy walking distance to pub for evening meal.
Very easy to deal with Jane at reception - pleasant personality.
Had travelled all day from Moama in rain so nice to put feet up with a chilled refresher in nice surroundings.
We will go back !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haphol-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed with family in a family suite (1 x queen, 2 x singles in separate room) for two nights. Clean and comfortable. Sofa bed available but not used. We ate out at the many restaurants only a very short walk away so did not use room service. Some noise at night from the hotel (dance music), but ok. Cost $330 for two nights. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are there on a weekend and want to ensure hyoid hear no music/noise from the hotel - stay clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My brother and I stayed here for two separate nights (Monday and Thursday) as part of a round trip tour of the region. Because we had arrived from two different cities (Melbourne and Canberra) with two cars, Jane at reception kindly allowed us to keep one of the cars in the staff car park for the two nights we were away from this motel. This was very typical of the "can do" and "anything to make the customer happy" nature of Jane.

The rooms were immaculately maintained, large, comfortable and well equipped. I could not fault them. It was very convenient being able to have meals charged back to the hotel from the adjacent pub/bistro as well as the superior Star Hotel pub/bistro over the road.

Overall, the Motel Poachers Paradise is the perfect place to stay for anyone wishing to experience excellent service and quality accommodation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wodger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and friendly stay, this is the place to be.

We stayed at Poachers Paradise for three nights in January for a wedding. From our first contact with Jane she was friendly, approachable and accommodating and was so lovely in person. She really does go the extra mile to make you feel at home - I was troubleshooting for the groom who needed to urgently print his vows off before the wedding and I asked Jane if there was a newsagent nearby where we could access a printer. She told us to simply use hers - crisis averted and one very relieved, grateful groom!

Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and when friends popped in to say hello we had more than enough room for the five of us to sit around and chat. The motel is attached to the hotel at front and motel guests are offered a discount on meals, which are already competitively priced. The meals are delicious and can also be delivered to your room if you don't feel like venturing out.

This was country hospitality at its best - for our entire stay, it felt like we were visiting old friends. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We travelled to Rutherglen for the Tastes of Rutherglen wine and food weekend.
We had a fantastic weekend made even better by having great accommodation.
The room was great and nothing was too much trouble. I needed an extra bed at short notice
and it was made up and ready. I left my car there for the day after I had checked out and they had even put their own windshield shade on my car so it was not too hot when I returned.
Book me in for next year please!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7, great location up the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeecat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked a one night stay at Poachers Paradise the day of the Day on the Green concert at All Saints Estate. Thankfully Jane could accomodate us due to a cancellation. She went above and beyond to ensure that we got to and from the concert. It was great to see that great customer service is alive and well in the North East Region. Keep up the great work Jane.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
0.3 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
183 reviews
5.7 mi away
Federation Motor Inn
Federation Motor Inn
#2 of 12 in Corowa
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poacher's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poacher's Paradise Motel

Address: 97 Murray St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poacher's Paradise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poacher's Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poacher's Paradise Motel Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing