We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlyle House B & B
Ranked #4 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Price as confirmed in writing was not adhered to.; we were asked to pay more when we checked out. . We had booked 5 rooms then changed to 4 rooms nearly 3 weeks before our arrival -- no mention of price increase at that time . Rooms were not serviced during our 3 night stay. We were left with dirty cups & glasses . Clean towels were supplied for 2 nights only. Breakfast service was a bit hit & miss.
We are a group of old friends who travel a lot. We would not recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlylehouse, Owner at Carlyle House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you Sue for taking the time to submit your comments as we do accept constructive criticism.
When you made the original booking for 5 rooms you asked that the total tariff be split equally even though 1 suite was priced more than the others.
We were later faced with a cancellation and had not re-booked that room. So we split the cancellation fee (as per our website and booking confirmation) equally on checking out.
We regret that extra fee was necessary only in the event that we had not re-booked that cancelled room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked the garden suites for the taste of rutherglen weekend.
Sandy did the bookings for us and there was no problems here.
Had to book for a minumum of 3 nights on this particular weekend...this was a bit of a pain as we had issues getting up on the Friday.
Garden suites are decent. I found it good to be away from the main house as we could come/go without trapsing through the main house.
Everything worked, except for the wireless...they had changed the password but not bothered to update it in the information booklet. Oversight...yes...pain in the rectal area...definately.
Breakfast is supplied (i dont do brekky but the missus does) Found it hard to get things refilled..but this was only a minor thing.
It was comfortable and very handy to all in rutherglen.
On street parking only.
As of march the property is up for sale.

Room Tip: The garden suites are great if you are travelling with another party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at Carlyle House for two nights on 19 February in a garden studio room. The room is equipped with TV, toaster, kettle etc, some breakfast cereals, some bread, milk and butter, enough for a two night stay. The accommodation is essentially one room. As you enter from the front door you have the kitchen area, on either side there are a couple of steps leading up to the bedroom and facing the bedroom is a sliding door which houses the bathroom.

The accommodation was well looked after and the bed comfortable. The proprietor, Robert, was kind enough to allow me to use the outdoor washing machine which was very much appreciated.

On the second day of our visit Doug, of Bank of Main drove us frome vineyard to vineyard in his 1925 Studbaker car which was the way to do it and great fun and we enjoyed his company.

On the day of departure, Robert came to our room at 10.15 to remind us that check out was 10.30!! This was a first for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A lovely place to stay in quiet street with lovely garden and only a few minutes from all main areas of town. Hosts are friendly and provide good service. Rooms very spacious and breakfast was taken on a lovely verandah overlooking the garden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highst25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Carlyle house garden studio was simply superb from the friendly welcome.
The garden studio is beautifully finished, clean and homely.
The breakfast supplies were all homemade with love.
A very peaceful night in a comfortable homely studio.
We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked for two nights for a wedding that was held at All Saints Estate, Wahgunyah, only 15 minutes away. The 2 Garden Suits for the bridal party girls to have hair & makeup done worked really well as doors between them open up to make a large area. We booked 2 more rooms inside the gorgeous old house as well for bridesmaids & their partners. They all loved the rooms & the great proximity to everything in Rutherglen. I booked the Tokay Suite for the Bride & Groom to move into on their wedding night, & as they have a two night policy it worked out well that they didn't have to rush to check out the following morning. The wood fire is not operational which is a pity. The heating is centrally controlled & off about 10pm which left the bride cold on their midnight return, but I rang this morning to suggest a small fan heater in the suite would fix this. Robert appreciated the feedback. I hope he follows through with it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in one of the Garden Suites, which are self contained and set in the gardens of Carlyle House. The sitting room was separate to the bedroom area. King bed quite comfortable. Small kitchenette was equip with microwave, toaster and kettle. There were enough plates and cutlery for 2 people. Bathroom had a shower only. Carlyle House is on HIgh Street, just off the Main Street in Rutherglen. We were here just for a night visiting some wineries and this was a good base. There is an IGA on the main street, just 2 minutes walk away. Also a number of cafes and a pie place we tried- Parker Pies had interesting pie fillings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doz y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.4 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison St Arnaud
La Maison St Arnaud
#5 of 13 in Rutherglen
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
#7 of 13 in Rutherglen
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
0.3 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyle House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle House B & B

Address: 147 High St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: £75 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlyle House B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast accommodation has 4 rooms in a magnificently elegant home buit in 1896 and 2 secluded garden suites. The breakfasts are generous and we cater for most food allergies. The beds are to die for (and are very comfortable). We are located close to the centre of town and a short walk to all restaurants & 3 pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Carlyle House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle House B & B Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing