We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible accommodation - exorbitant tarrifs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Ophir Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutherglen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Ophir Estate
Ranked #12 of 12 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible accommodation - exorbitant tarrifs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Have just returned from a romantic evening away with my partner which was spoiled by the terrible accommodation at Mount Ophir Estate.
We were met by the owners on arrival and shown to our 'spa suite' which looked ok until we opened the door and were confronted with something that looked like it was dragged out of the early 80's. Think calico, grey/blue carpet, small floral prints etc which could have been bearable had the whole room not smelt of dust. The towels smelt unwashed as did the bed linen. Our toiletries included a bar of old soap and half a bottle of radox!
The owners then took us on a tour of the neglected property and explained that they did morning teas for bus tours. I can't imagine anyone would want to eat scones and cream amongst what looked like a garage sale setup in the old winery.
It is such a shame because the property could be magnificent if you have a spare million to bring it into the 21st century.
We paid $170 for the night - absolutely ridiculous!!! Would rather have camped in the rain.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank escape2paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We were unfortunate enough to book the Gatehouse, which was a self contained property advertised as a fully renovated Victorian house. On one website it mentioned 'elegant ambience'. Where do we start? The linen was so old, my dogs have better towels! There was used soap in every bathroom and the beds were very ordinary. One double room had a cot in it. How romantic? There was no garden to speak of and dead mouse lay strewn about. The live ones scurried around the house all night, which is not surprising as the chook shed with 2 roosters backs onto the house.The crockery was a mismatch and the furniture was not elegant , just tacky and faded. The cost was exhorbitant. We have stayed in Europe for better. I approached the owners and am awaiting a response for compenation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank becscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rutherglen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
3.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
3.9 mi away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Ophir Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Ophir Estate

Property: Mount Ophir Estate
Address: 168 Stillards Lane, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Ophir Estate a unique and exclusive property in the rural district of Rutherglen in northern Victoria, Australia. It has 360-degree views of the surrounding area, including the Murray River Basin and the Snowy Mountains to the east. The Mount Ophir Estate established in 1893, 124 years ago was regarded as the largest state-of-the-art wine producing complex in the world. At that time it was owned and created by the Burgoyne family who was prominent London business people. Their vision was to make the property into the wine centre of Australia. The property initially boasted 740 acres of vines and approximately twenty houses to accommodate the management and staff; it also had a football and cricket team which regularly won the local Rutherglen competition. The wine bore the royal seal of England and was transported via rail to port and then via steam ships to ‘the mother country’ to satisfy the palate of British aristocracy. The winery closed in 1955, and today the 740-acre estate has been reduced to 140 acres. Mount Ophir Estate is currently operating as an exclusive site for private events, unique accommodation (which will accommodate fifty people) and a functioning organic vineyard and farm. Mount Ophir Estate’s philosophy is to be gentle on the environment. Since the early 1980’s it was converted to organics, producing high-quality Shiraz, Durif and Muscat. Sheep, emu’s, geese, an apiary and peacocks roam the beautiful estate in a quiet and gentle environment.   PRIVATE EVENTS Mount Ophir Estate is a bespoke private event venue that you can create your dream event. A designated ceremony location ‘Celebration Lake’ or your choice of location. The main winery building houses six main halls on two levels which can accommodate from 80 to 300 people or multiple events in separate rooms. We can offer the services of event professionals who can bring your vision to life. We are lucky enough in the region to have a host of creative professionals. Planners, coordinators, stylists, florists and furniture. We can also direct you to the best event caterers, and liquor suppliers, ACCOMMODATION The Tower The unique French Provincial tower is currently undergoing a transformation into 5-star accommodation a spiral staircase to the private sitting room on the second floor and a bedroom suite at the top. Due to be completed by May 2016. The Residence The main original homestead which housed the original owners of the estate accommodates up to 10 people. Completed June 2017 The Gatehouse Situated on the southern side of the magnificent property, a house which is off the beaten track close enough to walk and feed the emus, stroll around the castle, but five minutes to Rutherglen. The self-contained, restored Gatehouse, accommodates ten people. Completed March 2017 Two other unique suites, stables and other buildings which are in various stages of restoration. The total accommodation capability will be 50 people. Gardens Established plantings, such as the low yielding and high-quality Vineyard, Shiraz, Durif and Muscat. An award winning Olive Grove, Quince 'walk' and an array of fruit trees. Mount Ophir Estate a unique and exclusive property in the rural district of Rutherglen in northern Victoria, Australia. It has 360-degree views of the surrounding area, including the Murray River Basin and the Snowy Mountains to the east. The Mount Ophir Estate established in 1893, 124 years ago was regarded as the largest state-of-the-art wine producing complex in the world. At that time it was owned and created by the Burgoyne family who was prominent London business people. Their vision was to make the property into the wine centre of Australia. The property initially boasted 740 acres of vines and approximately twenty houses to accommodate the management and staff; it also had a football and cricket team which regularly won the local Rutherglen competition. The wine bore the royal seal of England and was transported via rail to port and then via steam ships to ‘the mother country’ to satisfy the palate of British aristocracy. The winery closed in 1955, and today the 740-acre estate has been reduced to 140 acres. Mount Ophir Estate is currently operating as an exclusive site for private events, unique accommodation (which will accommodate fifty people) and a functioning organic vineyard and farm. Mount Ophir Estate’s philosophy is to be gentle on the environment. Since the early 1980’s it was converted to organics, producing high-quality Shiraz, Durif and Muscat. Sheep, emu’s, geese, an apiary and peacocks roam the beautiful estate in a quiet and gentle environment.   PRIVATE EVENTS Mount Ophir Estate is a bespoke private event venue that you can create your dream event. A designated ceremony location ‘Celebration Lake’ or your choice of location. The main winery building houses six main halls on two levels which can accommodate from 80 to 300 people or multiple events in separate rooms. We can offer the services of event professionals who can bring your vision to life. We are lucky enough in the region to have a host of creative professionals.Planners, coordinators, stylists, florists and furniture. We can also direct you to the best event caterers, and liquor suppliers, ACCOMMODATION The Tower The unique French Provincial tower is currently undergoing a transformation into 5-star accommodation a spiral staircase to the private sitting room on the second floor and a bedroom suite at the top. Due to be completed by May 2016. The Residence The main original homestead which housed the original owners of the estate accommodates up to 10 people. Completed June 2017 The Gatehouse Situated on the southern side of the magnificent property, a house which is off the beaten track close enough to walk and feed the emus, stroll around the castle, but five minutes to Rutherglen. The self-contained, restored Gatehouse, accommodates ten people. Completed March 2017 Two other unique suites, stables and other buildings which are in various stages of restoration. The total accommodation capability will be 50 people. Gardens Established plantings, such as the low yielding and high-quality Vineyard, Shiraz, Durif and Muscat. An award winning Olive Grove, Quince 'walk' and an array of fruit trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Ophir Estate Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing