We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Lunch & Wines”

Jones Winery and Vineyard
Ranked #11 of 22 things to do in Rutherglen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're real people with real vineyards making real wines and serving real food in our restaurant. We are lucky to own one of the most beautiful little cellar doors and restaurants in Victoria, dating back to the 1860s. I'm Mandy Jones, a 5th generation winemaker, a modernist in my approach to handcrafting wines from grapes grown by my brother, Arthur. Our wines have power and brightness of fruit that could only be made from our very own patch of Rutherglen dirt.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Lunch & Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We love Jones Winery! Make a lunch booking to enjoy the fantastic French Cuisine in a relaxed environment. Fantastic food and wine selection to be had. After, enjoy a wine tasting! Personal favourites include the LJ Shiraz and imported French Champagnes. A must stop in Rutherglen!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizalang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy J, Owner at Jones Winery and Vineyard, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Wow! Thank you Liza. With reviews like that we might have to add you to our advertising dept. Much appreciated! Mandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A 'big' lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Have been meaning to visit for a while – will definitely come again.

French style menu, with all you would expect – rich, and big flavours for lunch. However, there are lighter options for the health conscious!

Had to have the terrine platter for an entrée – we shared these and certainly one platter more than enough for two people. Just lovely.

• Moroccan lamb – came in an individual casserole – rich, delicious, and complex. Certainly a big dish for lunch.
• Coq au vin – reportedly great.
• Kangaroo – looked like the healthy option – light, beautifully cooked, and reportedly tender.

This is a ‘big’ menu for lunch, meaning heavy dishes – I would have preferred these as dinner options – however there are lighter options, so can probably only blame my ordering (eyes bigger than stomach!)

Set up of the restaurant was lovely – older furniture, rustic feel to the room. Also outside dining options.

Good value wine list – had a lovely 2011 Marsanne at great price. While our dishes were a ‘bit big’ (flavour wise) for a white, it worked, as it kind of balanced them out – a red may have been just too much with such robust dishes, given it was lunch time. Also – have to say, found Jones’ reds a bit light-on for my taste, I like a bigger Shiraz than their style. Staff member at cellar door was charming and provided excellent service.

Overall – a wonderful dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great decor, set up like an old Shed, very friendly staff and a great meal served with some lovely wine,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RossLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch at Jones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Have eaten at this casual cafe a number of times - always good, plus great wine. Try the croque monsieur - it's great with a glass of the LJ.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank susie0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice setting Good Table and Fortifieds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Pleasant setting and highly regarded restaurant which we didn't try.
Good quality table wines and fortifieds so something for everyone.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank highst25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jones Winery and Vineyard also viewed

 
Rutherglen, Victoria
 

Been to Jones Winery and Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing