We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Woongarra(Rutherglen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walkabout Motel(Rutherglen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuileries(Rutherglen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
299
31
1
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
299
31
1
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakeschandelier suitefur kidsdog loverswine touron arrivalgreat danedog friendly accommodationcupcakeswonderful hostsdog treatsowners chriseach morningprivate yardwonderful cookhome away from homethird visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our recent stay in Rutherglen was fantastic thanks to this beautiful little B&B. We have never travelled with our dogs before, always choosing to get friends to take care of them or a kennel. We stayed in the Chandelier Suite, which was Chris and Charles former residence before they expanded their business. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. As we had several days over 40 degrees celsius we made very good use of the pool. Charles made sure the umbrella was up and that the inflatables were full of air! Chris and Charles bent over backwards to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We had to attend a friends wedding in 45degree heat, Chris insisted that the dogs stayed inside in the airconditioning and she checked on them every hour. The breakfast was delightful, the yard for the dogs was huge and the fact that Chris and Charles are dog lovers was very obvious! Our dogs were more spoilt at Must Love Dogs than they are at home! My partner did have a question for you Chris, how do you keep the rooms so clean and NOT smelling like dogs? There must be a special trick! We would highly recommend this business and hope to return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spindarella7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doglover611, Owner at Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Jess & Mark,Thankyou for your lovely review.We fell in love with the fur kids.The weather was very testing,we,ve lost a few plants.It was nice to see the pool getting used.I know its a long way to come,but if you do return,maby in winter,we will have to do charlies pork belly roast for you.Have a great 2013.Kind Regards Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and had such a great time! Chris and Charles were the perfect hosts and Gus, our Chocolate Lab fell in love with Princess, their Great Dane. Great room, delicious home cooked dinner and breakfast paired with fantastic company = a wonderful experience! Thank you both for your outstanding hospitality and for sending us copies of your pictures!

Room Tip: Try to book the Chandelier room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fensham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doglover611, Owner at Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Ewan & Ana,Thankyou for your kind words.The pictures of gus & princess were great.Gus wasnt going to share his play toy,was he.What a great xmas present the gift voucher made,I hope mum & dad were pleased.Itsstill hot here,I,m waiting for the cooler days again.Charles and I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

What a fantastic few days we had. Being able to have the dogs with us and minded when we went out is fantastic. We will most definately return. Anyone who has dogs will know just how difficult it is to find somewhere that is genuine in their allowance of dogs on the premises. We were plesently surprised to find the dogs not only were allowed inside the house but also had their own little private yard to run about in. Breakfast cooked by Charlie was exceptional and the picnic hamper was a great touch whether you have it in the house or on the grounds of one of the many vinyards. We will most definately return.

Room Tip: The bed in the Garden Suite is exceptional.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Dog owners will appreciate how hard it is to find pet-friendly accommodation. And at times like Xmas, when friends are away or busy themselves, it's almost impossible to contemplate travelling without them, so to find a place like this where the hosts will actually care for your dogs while you're out, and let them inside with you when you're in is a rare comfort.
The bonus is the dinner and show you get with Charles and Chris. Make sure you have dinner there at least one night, firstly for the food (perfect steak) and secondly for the stories. (Although you have to invite them, they won't presume to mingle with you if you want to be left alone.) They are experienced in hospitality and are lovely people. We'll be back with or without dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doglover611, Owner at Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Gary & Cherie,Boy,what an eventful visit.Lets hope the runaways are being loved and cherished,after their adventure.Your kind comments are very much appreciated.The fur kids were model guests,enjoying the pool .Charles and I really look forward to your next visit,with ,I believe.a dinner invite.Untill then,keep safe.Regards Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Thank you for your fantastic hospitality Chris and Charles! If only there were Must Love Dogs B&Bs all over Australia... The food you make is amazing (steak, hampers, home-made muesli, pancakes... and the list goes on) and the suite and yard are just perfect for us and the dogs. The swimming pool is a nice addition this time around too. We're glad we came back for our second visit!

Room Tip: I think our dogs settled down better last time in the Garden Suite. Regardless, my tip is too make sure they're exhausted so they sleep soundly. By the second night, the dogs were used to it and went straight to their beds once the sun went down.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doglover611, Owner at Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Louise,Thankyou for your kind review.Its always rewarding for us,when guests return,for more food punishment.Maby a winter visit is needed,so you can enjoy the wood fire & roast dinner.Charles and I look forward to seeing you all again.Kind Regards chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews