We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four wonderful days ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 12 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castlemaine, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four wonderful days ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

our accommodation excellent, the best nights sleep we have had for some time and the breakfasts and dinner are without fault, Charlie you are amazing. Being with Chris and Charlie was like staying with dear friends. We, together with Tia (our greyhound) will be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    25
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
176
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherglen, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Iain and I had a wonderful weekend staying at Must Love Dogs. It was like staying with old friends who share our passion for our canine friends. The facilities were perfect for holidaying with our fury companions and Chris and Charles were wonderful hosts. Our wine tour was great fun and the breakfast in the heritage dining room was memorable.
We are looking forward to returning in the near future and will be recommending the experience to our friends and fellow dog enthusiasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Thanks Chris and Charles for a fantastic weekend away. It was so lovely to be able to take our pups with us and they certainly loved the extra attention. The breakfast were amazing as well as the two course dinner that you can't fault. I would still love the receipe for those potatoes.
Thanks again and we will certainly be back to visit. Libby, Ryan, Zoe and Barney

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyW385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Chris and Charles are soo welcoming that you are made to feel as though they are part of your family. Wondeful accommodation - close to the heart of Rutherglen. Clean and very comfortable. The breakfast and optional dinner are incredibly delicious. The home style setting is very comfortable and welcoming off your pets. Plenty of room to explore and the yard is well fenced in. Chris and Charles are also very happy to babby sit when you are out and about exploring Rutherglen. This place is a must! Liv C

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liviac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Despite being hit by the tail end of the tornadoes which whirled through Rutherglen the night before we arrived and took down their back fence (amongst other damage, eg landing their 100 year old heritage listed maple tree on top of the neighbour's house three doors away), Chris and Charles soldiered on and provided a great experience for us and my dog, even to cooking up a storm of beef pie and vegies at virtually a moment's notice (the bacon and eggs for breakfast weren't half bad either!). Hosts, food and other amenities all excellent. And Jazz (the miniature poodle) is now asking when we're next going to stay!

Room Tip: Although less flamboyant than the Chandelier Suite, go for the smaller suite if you like the feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nackapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantirna, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband; Andrew; myself and our dog; Jess; all stayed at Must Love Dogs on Saturday night. We had a lovely, spacious and comfortable set of rooms to ourselves, as well as an enclosed private yard for Jess. Chris and Charles were perfect hosts who went out of their way to ensure we had a fabulous stay, including providing a lovely romantic dinner and a huge breakfast. We would highly recommend this B & B and Rutherglen was a great place to go for a weekend away. Chris provided a list of "dog friendly" wineries who were happy for us to bring Jess in while we did tastings, and who made a big fuss of our "fur-kid". We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had the best time at Must Love Dogs. Chris and Charles are wonderful hosts and have the most wonderful stories. Food is amazing, especially Charles's pancakes! We take are dogs on all our holidays and that's not easy when you are traveling with wolfhounds. It takes very understanding hosts. Charles and Chris made our guys very very welcome and they got to stay in the cottage with us (we did need to remove the beautiful lamps and antiques that were in range of long wagging tails). Rutherglen is a great holiday destination and everywhere we went our hounds were pampered. If you love traveling with your dogs, then you must stay at Must Love Dogs.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiebcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#3 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 12 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Property: Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Must Love Dogs B&B & Self Contained Cottage Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing