We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit for a Princess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fit for a Princess”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had never taken a dog on holiday before and with a 12 month old cattle dog I was a bit nervous but I needn't have been. Chris and Charlie were so welcoming, they know exactly how to settle in your dog (and you) and make your stay relaxing and fun. Breakfasts were great as was the dinner we had and Charles took us on a great little wine tour. Our dog Ted fell completely in love with Princess, the resident Great Dane and Chris took such good care of Ted while we were wining and dining. An absolutely lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolebilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    25
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
178
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Where do we start! we can`t recommend Must Love Dog`s any higher.From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Chris at the front gate with muffins for Criss, myself and Ted, to the fantastic Breakfasts cooked by Charles each morning. Pancakes to die for, eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and Asparagus, amazing.The chandeleir suite was Perfect and Immaculate. Ted was looked after while we were out and had a great time with Princess, leo and Wee Wak.After a week of complete Relaxation including a Swim in the lovely Pool we were sad to leave, but we will most Certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffery t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at must love dogs with our furry baby. Chris and Charles are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We didn't have time for dinner this stay but Chris organised an amazing hamper in the garden for our return from a wine tour, wine glasses and lace tablecloth included. Two nights isn't long enough to enjoy all this B&B has to offer. We will be back next yr.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Would recommend this wonderful place to anyone, Chris & Charlie are welcoming hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the area. Breakfast was fantastic and the Garden suite was clean, comfortable and very pet friendly with little treats not only for the dogs but us as well. The garden was securely fenced and had plenty of room for our two dogs to play. Great couple of days had by all.

Room Tip: Both suites are beautifully decorated. Only point I could make is that the Garden suite has more sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our Airedale, Felix, first holiday away from his mum and grandma and we were wondering how he would cope. We were warmly welcomed by Chris and Charlie with cup cakes for us and Chris's special biscuits for Felix. We enjoyed a tasty candle lit dinner in their lovely dining room with Felix at our feet. Next morning Felix acquainted himself with the garden and met Princess, the Dane. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the comfortable Chandlier Suite to the food and the hospitality to us and Felix. Thank you Chris and Charlie for looking after us and Felix. We will return.

Room Tip: We've travelled with our dogs in Europe but never in Australia. Must love dogs was a home away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuttaJumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Jesse really enjoyed her baked dog treats at this home away from home for dogs. We had excellent hospitality from the hosts. It is a rarity that dog comfort is so well thought out with great fenced yards for peace of mind. We had full privacy in our Garden Suite with a cooked breakfast in the heritage listed dining room. Highly recommended. Thanks Chris and Charles and to their very relaxed pooches.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Last weekend we decided to head to Rutherglen at the last minute. We stumbled upon must love dogs and we are so glad we did. Had a great time in the Chandelier suite, with cupcakes upon our arrival, and a wonderful local muscat in the decanter. Our hosts Chris and Charles and their dogs were lovely. Room was very clean, and breakfast was superb. We had a wonderful evening in town at the Taste restaurant, before enjoying the comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barkly Suites Apartments
Barkly Suites Apartments
#2 of 13 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#4 of 13 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cuddle Doon Cottages
Cuddle Doon Cottages
#6 of 13 in Rutherglen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage

Property: Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
Address: 23 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TWO LUXURY SUITES AVAILABLE Accommodation for a couple, where pooches and their owners will have a pampered holiday, of course you are still very welcome without a pet. Let us babysit your pet whilst you visit our wonderful town of Rutherglen. Enjoy staying in our circa 1840 Globe Hotel home, with two suites, one modern and bright the other sophisticated and old worldly. We offer evening meals,under candlelight, or relaxing in the garden with a scrumptious BBQ. Our personal wine tours are proving popular,& the picnic hampers full of local produce can be enjoyed at 1 of the many wineries in rutherglen. Both suites include private lounge with TV, fridge, leather couch, table, chairs, quality coffee, tea, BEDROOM, very comfy queen bed, plenty of storage, EN-SUITE, quality towels, own heating, 1 has walk in shower & disabled rail.NEW TO US ..FULLY SELF CONTAINED COTTAGE, for 4 adults. Treats, chocolates. Muscat,fully cooked breakfast , undercover bbq, secure shaded gardens, 2 living, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, heritage dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Must Love Dogs B&B & Self Contained Cottage Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing