We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rutherglen Must”
Review of Calico Town Wines

Calico Town Wines
Ranked #15 of 25 things to do in Rutherglen
Attraction details
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rutherglen Must”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just out of town is Calico Town Wines. The cellar door is hand built from red clay and gives a warm earthy rustic relaxed atmosphere. The wine range is small but the flavours are exceptional. The dining experience is simply wonderful. Meals are as they say to die for with good friendly service from chef/owner Laurel. The meal I had was the best in a long while. Don't miss the food here along with the wines, oils, tapenades and olive soaps. Top notch in this wonderful wine region of Australia

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebmevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very good wines here, probably my pick of the area along with All Saints. Lovely hands on owners with dry wit. It was quirky having my tokay glass rolled down the counter to me. Excellent value for money, and a brilliant little restaurant attached

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A relaxing place to wine taste and enjoy a long lunch. Dog friendly as long as pets are on leads. Freindly, knowledgable service. A great place to enjoy lunch on a weekend visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun, informative and great tasting wines”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We were quite interested to check out the small wineries around Rutherglen and Calico Town was the first of them we made it to.

We had a great time at this winery - through Laurel we learnt a lot about not only their wines but also the variety of foods that they make and bottle on the premises..

This winery is certainly able to make some quite elegant shiraz - both the 2004 and the 2006 are on sale . They also have a very good tokay - called their AU (the chemical symbol for gold).

They have an interesting menu for snacks and meals (lunch) as well as selling coffee. It is a very relaxing place to sit and chill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbo_from_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calico Town Wines also viewed

 
Rutherglen, Victoria
 

Been to Calico Town Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing