We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Memorable Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barkly Suites Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary on Australia Day weekend.
What wonderful accommodation .Light and airy, pristine and clean, Barkly Suites is brand new accommodation in Rutherglen..Set on the outskirts of town, makes it peaceful and tranquil.The accommodation provides large spacious rooms beautifully furnished, a king size bed and spacious bathroom with walk in shower and a full size bath.Every need was catered for.
Chris and Ian were great hosts providing us with local history and recommended us to a fabulous restaurant . I highly recommend you visit them and enjoy a wine on your very own patio .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Barkly Suites offers luxurious accommodation and certainly has the wow factor. It is not just a room but you have, as it states, a suite of rooms, a luxurious lounge and TV area, kitchenette with space to eat, spacious bedroom with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom, toiletries and linen are certainly luxurious. Not only that you have your own veranda to sit out on with views of the surrounding picturesque countryside. The B & B, whilst part of the main house is in a separate area so offers privacy. The location is excellent, it is very peaceful but within walking distance of the local town which is set in a wonderful wine region with the wineries certainly worth a visit. Ian and Christine are the perfect hosts and always ready to offer help without being intrusive. The breakfast is of a very high standard offering not only the traditional cooked food but also fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt. When we are in Rutherglen next I will look no further than the Barkly Suites.
Kim and Neil

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed with our kids at Barkly Suites after Xmas, everything was top class and as good as what you would get in a 5 star hotel.
Ian was very polite and professional, the quality of the property is superb, beautiful linen and towels,comfortable beds and excellent living area.
Breakfast was provided each morning and the quality was excellent- coffee was good too!
As the property only has two "apartments" it is very quiet and relaxing.
I would highly recommend this property, it's in a great spot with close proximity to the main town and wineries.
Will definitely be back, keep up the good work

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AvHoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nothing was too much effort for Ian and Chris who were knowledgeable about the area and it was appreciated when they offered to drive us to town for dinner. They were unobtrusive, yet available when we needed, allowing us to relax in our 'mini apartment'. The breakfast was also fantastic, including fresh cut fruit, fruit juices, cereals and a cooked breakfast. The serenity of the region and Barkly Suites topped it off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This the second time we have stayed at Barkly suites B&B , This time we asked if we could take the dog. it was ok our dog fitted in with Chris & Ians dog (he want to go back) We spent two lovley night . very quite no traffic noise bird woke us up in the morning . Had to let the dog out for puddles anyway . Again a great hot cooked brakfast , Ian and chirs have a great knowllage on where to go in Rutherglen . We (and the Mister the dog ) had a relaxing weekend . Will be going back Bob & Nat

Room Tip: Big Room Brand new only 12 month old
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we had a good old country welcome from Ian &Chris when we arrived ,we had asked about getting around to wineries they suggest different ways of doing this and we went with the vintage car,it was such a good novel way to see the wineries see photo.

also they recommended where to go for dinner, they where on the money for that a wonderful night,great dinner and good wine.it was called Tuileries Rutherglen.

had a wonderful sleep the bed was comfortable,the room was spacious and spotless.

we got up had breakfast which consisted of fresh fruit yogurt fresh bread and wonderful cooked breakfast an English breakfast the sausage was so tasty and the bacon was so fresh,and what made me happy was they had brewed tea not tea bags.

we highly recommend this place to stay ,we will return and stay for a long weekend.

Chris & Ian made our stay one of the best weekends .

david and Claudia.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 62david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Absolutley fantastic, We really enjoyed the ambience and the whole Rutherglen experience. The rooms were very spacious , spotlessly clean and ultra modern. Hosts were extremley gracious.and a complete joy to stay with .We will definitely book there again.

Room Tip: looking for somewhere to relax, Kick back and enjoy the good life then this is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
0.7 mi away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Must Love Dogs B&B & self contained cottage
0.8 mi away
Carlyle House B & B
Carlyle House B & B
#3 of 13 in Rutherglen
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
181 reviews
5.2 mi away
Circa 1936
Circa 1936
#1 of 4 in Corowa
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barkly Suites Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barkly Suites Apartments

Address: 79 Hopetoun Rd, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: £101 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barkly Suites Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barklysuites are new purpose built apartments set in a quiet corner of Rutherglen. With a one bedroom and a two bedroom suite, singles,couples and groups can be comfortably accommodated. The property features large developing gardens with ample off street parking and plenty of space to just unwind in the peaceful surroundings of rural Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barkly Suites Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkly Suites Apartments Rutherglen, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing