We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, neglected, unkept property”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Warburton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warburton Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Warburton B&B and Inns
Yass, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated, neglected, unkept property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Unit 12 building, old weatherboard, is subject to settlement and out of square, with approx. 15mm gap over and below door and under window area resulting in somewhat severe, cold draught. Small room, tiny en suite, damp towels, parking not adjoining.

Room Tip: Inspect before booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pb30cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    16
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We found the host, Baden very friendly and knowledgeable, and went out of his way for service and advice. The room was very clean and comfortable, however I found the polished tiles in the bathroom slippery at times.The new beds were extremely comfortable The only negative comment was that the hand rail on the steps did not go past the bottom step and with a slight disability, I found it difficult to negotiate the bottom step onto the landing. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served and we weren't rushed to get out.
Altogether we had a relaxing break, that we really needed.
Thank you Baden.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL_Management2013, Owner at Warburton Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will visit us again soon and we are looking into what we can do to make the handrail more effective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed there during ester. We had to choose this hotel as it was the only one available last minute. We were bit worried after reading the reviews so we booked only for 1 night. But to our surprise, the hotel was perfect...our room was nice, renovated and very comfortable. All the basic amenities were available. Garden was beautiful too. No noise but the pleasant chirping of birds. Staff was very helpful and polite. This may not be a luxurious or modern hotel, but it helps you to get your mind relaxed in the beautiful natural surroundings... after all if you are in Yarra Valley to get closer to the nature then you wouldn't need a 5 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Select east facing rooms. Garden is in front of those rooms. The first sun rays in the morning are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sachisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL_Management2013, Manager at Warburton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your favourable response for Warburton Lodge. You seem to have had an excellent experience in the Yarra Valley. The serenity of Warburton makes it a great place to relax and unwind. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Service goes a long way when I consider reviews, and this hotel wins in this category. Room was very nice, recently renovated, not a big room, but very comfortable with nothing to complain about. I didn't find the problem mentioned in previous reviews.

Gardens are nice, and I loved all the native birds in the area, including King Parrots and Gang Gang cockatoos right in the hotel garden. Liked the reception's sitting area too, nice ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VernMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL_Management2013, Manager at Warburton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your favourable response for Warburton Lodge. We are always happy to hear of a guest's good experience. We try to give value with our accommodation and try to facillitate our guest's experience of this lovely area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We started in room 17 a double and then moved to room 9 with a kitchenette the next day. Both were very old,dirty, smelled of dampness and stale cigarette smoke and in 9 the heater didn't heat the room, requiring us to go to Vinnies and buy one.

No;- Tissues, shampoo/conditioner, hairdryer, phone, and only one tiny bar of soap and facewasher.

TV was tiny, more like a computer monitor.

Continental breakfast was good and the owner, Baden, was very friendly and helpful. However, to be honest, rooms were terrible and really ruined what should have been a wonderful birthday celebration.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL_Management2013, Manager at Warburton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We are sorry that Warburton Lodge did not live up to your expectations. It is true that the Lodge is old (circa 1930) and is in a continual state of renovation. Recently the rooms mentioned were fitted with new split system reverse cycle air conditioners which heat and cool very effectively. All our rooms are non smoking and so the issue of cigarette smoke is unusual. As per the amenities supplied in the bathroom, it must be remembered that Warburton Lodge is not a 4Star establishment and so some of the niceties of the more expensive establishments are not available. All televisions are now 51 or 53 cm digital either LCD or LED type. We thank you for this review for although it does not reflect well on our establishment it shows what issues are important to our guests and gives us an opportunity to address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warburton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This motel is set on a rolling hill tucked up from the main road/shops of Warburton. It is very peaceful and quiet with quaint heritage style guest loungeroom. I stayed in room 5 which is the 'apartment' which was very comfortable and modern, great for a small group or if you're with kids. The owners are very friendly and Baden had some good jokes to share. It seems they are updating some of the rooms so ask to view them... They had a spa room which looked really nice too, but we couldn't stay there as it was already booked.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiline79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WL_Management2013, Manager at Warburton Lodge, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for this review. Although we rejoice when we get a good review,it is the negative ones that spark a call to action. Warburton Lodge is indeed old. It was built around 1920. So it is in a continual state of refurbishment. Like Rome, this cannot be completed in a day. Your comments have been acted upon and many improvements have been instituted in the 2 years since this post. I hope we have the opportunity of accommodating you again and providing a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Lodge looks like it could be quaint from the outside however from the inside, it just seems tired and in dire need of some maintenance. This is an old building, and while a major refurb might be out of the realms of possibility, just a small amount of maintenance and cleaning would make it so much better. There are nice wooden boards with a major slope which could be charming if the rest of the room didn't look run down. Our room had plaster patches that hadn't been painted over, while other patches that had been painted in the wrong colour. There was missing bits of wood on the doorframe, and cobwebs all over the window. This deterred us from enjoying the beautiful mountain view through the window. Fortunately, the bed itself and the linen was all okay and the bathroom was clean. It is quite overpriced when basic maintenance is not attended to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warburton
1.6 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
17.1 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buttercup Hill
Buttercup Hill
#2 of 5 in Warburton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Warburton Motel
Warburton Motel
#5 of 5 in Warburton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charnwood Cottages
Charnwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Warburton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.0 mi away
Deloraine Homestead
Deloraine Homestead
#2 of 3 in Yarra Junction
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warburton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warburton Lodge

Property: Warburton Lodge
Address: 18 Park Rd, Warburton, Victoria 3799, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Warburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Warburton Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Warburton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warburton Lodge Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing