We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining comes to Warburton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oscar's on the Yarra
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warburton
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fine Dining comes to Warburton”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We moved out to Warburton about six months ago and are enjoying our "tree change". One of the few downsides to life out here has been the lack of a really good restaurant, some pretty good cafes and pubs, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Happy to report we have now discovered Oscar', which is certainly out of the ordinary.
The restaurant only opened in February, the chef has worked for some years at various 5 star establishments in Thailand, and the menu is littered with Thai touches on many of the dishes.
We went with 4 friends and between us we had a fair selection of entrees and mains from the fairly small menu. Every one of us raved about what we had. I started with a Thom Kha soup, the only outright Thai dish on the menu, but not the usual Thom Kha Gai (chicken) rather, small tender pieces of rabbit. The flavours were delicate and very Thai. Other entrees were pork belly (skin beautifully crisp). Blue Cheese ravioli with crispy wonton was another entree that a couple of our group tried.
The most popular main was beef tenderloin, served medium rare it was melt in the mouth delicious, other mains included a Yellow Fin Tuna on Green Papaya Salad, fortunately a little milder than some of those Thai Som tams.
All in all a fantastic dining experience. Entrees were around $14-$16 and mains ranged from $30-$40.

We will certainly be back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    92
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
143
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had an amazing stay at Oscars, just what we needed after a busy week in the city. We were welcomed by the very friendly staff, enjoyed excellent food and service. The rooms are beautifully outfitted with everything you need, even views, and don't forget the super comfy beds. All in all, a fantastic stay in a beautiful peaceful location, definitely would recommend and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenene09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Without doubt, this place is the best in tw Warburton area. Great location, delightful Yarra River location.

The Restaurant was amazing, the food is exceptional and the service was outstanding. Something way overdue for a beautiful and relatively undiscovered part of Victoria. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGA_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warburton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Wonderful venue for a summer's lunch sitting outside on the large deck under shade of massive oak tree.
Table service excellent. Waitress very knowledgeable & helpful.
Wines: limited choice if you want just a glass.
Food: More than excellent! Fantastic marriage of flavours. Asian / European influence. 2 entrés was just perfect. Presentation of food excellent.
Locals residing in the Warburton area no longer have any need to travel further afield for a 5 star meal.
Looking forward to introducing Melbourne friends to 'serious cuisine.'

Room Tip: Viewed one room for future reference. Extremely well equipped, minimalistic, and king single beds...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed one night and dined in the restaurant recently and had a truly relaxing and wonderful stay. This property has been renovated to a very high standard. The room had a lovely view to the Yarra River and the beds are very comfortable. It's so quiet at this place, we had a great night sleep. The food at Oscar's is simply amazing, we will be back to try a few more of the dishes as they all sound amazing. The deserts are to die for. The service is very friendly and informal which makes for a relaxing atmosphere. Carl the manager was very helpful with some ideas of things we could do the following day. Would highly recommend this place for a relaxing weekend away and a great meal less than an hour from Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonanzabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warburton
20.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
331 reviews
17.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
132 reviews
17.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
144 reviews
16.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's on the Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's on the Yarra

Property: Oscar's on the Yarra
Address: 3185 Warburton Hwy, Warburton, Victoria 3799, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Warburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's on the Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the homestead, twenty two individually designed double bedrooms including a 2 bedroom apartment welcome guests to a relaxing ambience, private en-suite bathrooms, luxurious twin single or king pillow top beds, high-speed internet and LCD televisions - with many rooms basking in garden, mountain or river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oscar's on the Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar's On The Yarra Warburton, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing