We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar's on the Yarra
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warburton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At home by the river”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I visited Oscar's on the Yarra for the wedding of my young nephew and the love of his life. The lovely vintage beautifully restored weatherboard building has a simplicity and honestly of style that blended harmoniously with its surroundings. Its design and openness allowed you to have the comfort of the interior while still feeling very close to the beauty of the exterior world, the amazing oak tree next to the big open veranda to the tall and graceful gums down by the gentle river. It was the perfect place for a celebration of young and honest love to take place. Thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn-Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    94
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
144
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very peaceful relaxing B&B by the river. We suggest some chairs & tables closer to the river would be ideal, would set the scene of a long gone era, to take advantage of the clear running river.
Accommodation is very good with well appointed large rooms, a small refrigerator would make it perfect. The room's decor and furniture were perfect, and the small balcony set the country scene. The bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wing1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardlethan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It's a lovely place. Rooms are very modern, our's was 2 singles, the room was very small but it was just really to sleep in so it was fine for us, there were no problems with cleanliness, that was great, the room have doors that open on to an outdoor decked area. We were extremely surprised when we couldn't find a fridge in the room...& the walls are so thin, you can hear everyone who's just walking down the hall & also, in the middle of the night if someone in the adjoining rooms use the toilet, you can even hear them taking the toilet paper off the roll!!... Breakfast in the morning was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our stay was nice and relaxing, the food at oscars restaurant is absolutely amazing, we went with some friends and all 4 of us enjoyed entree, main and desserts. The property is beautiful and the staff are very friendly, the only downside was there was no mini fridge in the rooms and the walls/doors were thin so you could hear people in the hallway, other than that we all had a great weekend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The road to Warburton was already a dream like way. A lot of green, alongside the river and some vineyards till you get there. The entrance to the property is a long alley of tall trees, which makes it quite an impressive arrival. My room was beautifully decorated, with a lot of natural daylight. I must say, I slept very well, as it was quite chilly that night, 12ºC. Breakfast was great, by the balcony outside, overlooking the mountains and the river that runs inside the property. Lunch was even better. The chef is probably a top one, as the food we had was impeccable. We will go back for sure, probably in Autumn when the reds and the yellows are all covering the trees.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is worth staying here just for the restaurant alone, I have eaten here twice now and both times the food has been exceptional. Decided to stay the last time and the quality of the accommodation is very good and the rooms large and well appointed with balconies. Includes free breakfast both buffet and cooked which was top notch.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only downsides were a lack of bar fridge in the room and minor service flaws that I think will be ironed out once more experience is gained as I believe it has only been operating for around 5 months.

The common areas of the accommodation area are also very nice.

As I said if you go there for no other reason than to eat then it's well worth the trip. Modern cuisine were the servings are more than adequate and the prices are quite amazing for what you are served - the average prices of the mains are around the $32 mark.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Awesome views, amazing gourmet food with a free breakfast included , nice clean rooms. The only downside was a lack of barfridge in th room, Although Management are Working on that in the near future. Great customer service overall.

Overall a wonderful place to stay, would stay aigan in the future and would recommend anyone here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doobiedoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warburton
20.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
542 reviews
17.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,974 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
145 reviews
17.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
133 reviews
16.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's on the Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's on the Yarra

Property: Oscar's on the Yarra
Address: 3185 Warburton Hwy, Warburton, Victoria 3799, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Warburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's on the Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the homestead, twenty two individually designed double bedrooms including a 2 bedroom apartment welcome guests to a relaxing ambience, private en-suite bathrooms, luxurious twin single or king pillow top beds, high-speed internet and LCD televisions - with many rooms basking in garden, mountain or river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Oscar's on the Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar's On The Yarra Warburton, Victoria, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing