We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food”

Mountain View Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Whitfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nice Gastro Pub in the heart of the wine region King Valley. Discover just 2.5 hours from Melbourne more than 15 wineries.Our Hotel is open 7 days per week. Kitchen is open 7 days per week for lunch and dinner and on weekends for Breakfast from 9-11.30Romantic dinning in the Dinning Lounge ( \we even offer a 6 Course degustation) and casual meals for travellers and family's in the Gastro Pub.Groups are welcome - and please ask us for your next family or business function.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently had dinner at the restaurant. The food was amazing, tasty, flavoursome and presentation exceptional. Chef came out to the table and explained some of the dishes. Good service though waitress seemed to lack a bit of confidence when pouring wine. Good range of local wines on wine list. Major disappointment was the old outdoor toilets that we had to use. When I am paying these restaurant prices I do not want to go outside to an old toilet block. Nice ambiance in the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We dropped into Mountain View Hotel Restaurant for dinner one night during the Easter long weekend.

The pub is located to the right as you enter while the Restaurant is to the left. We dined at the restaurant. From what we observed, the main pub area also serves meals, which would be more casual and could be a great place to grab a bite and enjoy a drink or two among the locals.

Despite not having booked in advance, we were greeted by a friendly waiter and seated at one of the nicer tables by the window. The food and drinks service was very attentive without being intrusive.

The quality of food at Mountain View Restaurant is very good and, from what I can tell, although not overly extensive, the menu changes often enough to keep patrons excited.

Mountain View's wine list boasts a good range of local wines as well as some 'imports' from other regions - finding a drink to match with your dinner should not be too difficult.

Overall, great place to enjoy a gastro pub style meal. Their outdoor area would also be great for a lazy long lunch on a sunny day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food & great staff!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This country pub is delightful, with a great bear garden & a separate restaurant.
The bar staff are friendly and helpful, and the chef is the funniest German I've ever met. Make sure you say G'Day to him, you'll have a good laugh!
Both the wagyu burger & pork knuckle are recommended!

Helpful?
Thank ParksyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good honest tucker”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We called into the Mountain View Hotel for lunch while on a drive up the King Valley. It was a Wednesday and not much else was open, but boy are we glad we decided to eat here. We sat inside as it had just started to rain, and there was a large group of women just being served their lunches. Their meals all looked good so we decided to go all out and have a full lunch rather than the tapas and small dishes also on offer. Kev ordered the Wagyu Beef Lasagne which also came with garlic bread, whilst I ordered the lamb rump. We were not disappointed with our selections. My meat was tender and well cooked except for a small piece right in the middle which was a little too rare for my liking, but my veggies were delish and the ratatouille sauce was YUM yum yum. Kev's lasagne must have been good because he was almost licking the plate at the end. The serves were generous but still looked attractive on the plate. There was a good wine and beer (Australian and German) selection as well. We plan to take our adult children there for lunch when we are next up here in July.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality ”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

You may think by the name of the hotel you will get mountain views but you don't. DON'T let that stop you from going there to have a great meal & fine local wines with great service.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain View Restaurant also viewed

 
King Valley, Victoria
Whitfield, Victoria
 
Moyhu, Victoria
Moyhu, Victoria
 

Been to Mountain View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing