We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old pub”
Review of Yarra Valley Grand

Yarra Valley Grand
Ranked #13 of 29 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We welcome you to a place filled with eclectic charm, quality pub food, an extensive range of local wines and brew matched with live free music every weekend.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice old pub”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Saturday lunch on a sunny winters afternoon, it was pleasant, what you would expect from a pub. Service was great and they have a separate kids area. Husband had the fish which he said was very good, I should have had the fish rather that try my first lentil Sheppard's pie, there wasn't anything wrong with it, just not my thing.
A very nice relaxing lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    51
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I went to the grand for dinner on a Saturday night and arrived quite early (6pm). Lucky we arrived then as all tables inside were booked except for 1 which we took! We had garlic bread and terrine for entree which were delish! I had the pork belly for main which was sensational and hubby had the steak which he said was brilliant and cooked to perfection. Prices for the food were reasonable, however for the beer they are a little high (& they seem to have a little trouble pouring a beer with a decent head).
Staff were lovely and the meals came quite quickly.
There were lots of kids (we didn't mind this at all) and they had a kids corner with toys etc.so it is definitely family friendly.
Would highly recommend the grand for a meal or even just a drink with the locals who are great to chat with!

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Eclectic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Worth a visit just to work out the decor. A truly eclectic mix of styles, colours and furniture. The food was OK, good well cooked basic fare. It was very busy so it took a little while. Take your camera so you can take some sneaky photo's. Friendly and fun, give it a go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“yep... its a pub meal”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

would be brilliant in summer and great environment... the meals were average - entree was above the standard presented on the rest of the menu

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

You can see why this place gets busy, great value tasty food, excellent service from all staff too. Very warm inside, great live music to suit the venue, and you can be with the crowd or in the dining rooms. Old charm of the building is brilliant. Ate dinner here and Sunday roast for lunch too. Excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank haddakombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yarra Valley Grand also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Yarra Valley Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing