We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel that Complements The Yarra Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed 13 February 2010

A wonderful two-night stay! My goal was to cruise the Yarra Valley in a rented convertible Holden Astra and take in the wines, the winery food, and the lovely valley landscape. I booked this hotel because there really isn't much choice, but now that I've beenthere, I would not even look at other choices... and I *will* be back. It's country out there, so don't expect city service... no, this is the real deal: lovely, nice, friendly (not just helpful) people that make you feel like you're with family. The pub is also terrific, and they had a great live accoustic blues singer there on Thursday night. I didn't try the food, but judging by the crowd (and on a Wednesday in this town where do they even COME from??) it is hugely popular. The Room was remodeled victorian with a balcony which is shared by three rooms on the second floor. The bath was modern with no tub. Everything looked nice and well-kept with fresh linens. I accidentally left my Do Not Disturb sign on the door for the first day I was there and they handled that very nicely. There's not a whole lot to do in the town - about two blocks of stores, but there are antiques, a great Tea Store, at least two bakeries for brekkie, and a good convenience store - everything you need. The location is perfect for winery hopping - you are smack dab in the middle of the valley and 5-15 minutes from all the great wineries. Recommendation: lunch antipasto and sparkling wine at Tokar winery... wow. You are also a short drive from Healesville where the animal sanctuary is a must-see (and there is a brewery in town, too!). Note: this listing is the only place I ever saw the word "Quality" in the name - it's just "Yarra Glen Grand Hotel", I'm pretty sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

The purpose of our trip was to help put some $$ back into the area so we stayed 2 nights in the Tower room. It was clean and comfy and very different to the average B&B accomodation but not luxurious. The photos and blurb don't tell you its a pub in the main street and I thought the price just a fraction too much. Dinner for two was included in our deal so that did add value. The food was absolutely fantastic and we went back to eat there on the second night. The pub is a very popular with locals and was even busy on the Monday night. We did a wine tour with Yarra Valley Winery tours who picked us up at the hotel and dropped us back there. The fires have impacted on this area even though all the media attention is on surrounding areas so visit the area to really help the local economy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Yarra Valley took a real beating during the February 2009 bushfires, but I strongly recommend this hotel if you are doing some of the local wineries. The Yarra Glen Grand is a wonderful hotel experience. All the guest rooms have apparently been renovated, our room and ensuite were extremely comfortable - done up recently but in a classical Victorian style. On arrival, I thought the main street noise outside our first floor balcony room (Room 2) would be annoying at night. However, traffic had died away to nothing by about 10 pm. The night we stayed, guitarist Lloyd Speigel was playing on the restaurant. This was great over dinner, but I thought this might go on too late, it being the Thursday before Easter. It had finished by about 10.30 however, so there was no noise to deal with in the guest rooms upstairs. (The hotel seems to cater for passing tourists like me, and locals who go to bed reasonably early!)

The service in the hotel is very friendly and efficient, from the front desk to the bar. Its not too ostentatious, just very efficient and welcoming. The food is an absolute winner - a 2 course dinner and continental breakfast being included in our mid week package. I was honestly pleasantly taken aback by the quality of the food. I live in central Melbourne and often eat out (and am regularly annoyed by poor food in my local area!!). So it struck me as bizarre that I had to drive to the Yarra Valley to eat the best calamari I've had in a long time! The theme of the hotel is to support local produce and wine, and it works very well. Breakfast is a standard continental breakfast, with local jams and fruits. (But no marmelade!!)

Note; There is not a lot to do in Yarra Glen itself. But it does have several great antique shops- the one opposite the hotel is enormous and definately worth a browse.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickRJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We loved our stay at the Yarra Glen Grand Hotel. We had a comfortable room overlooking the front street. The bathroom was large and the tiling was from the 1920's..very grand. The bed was a little small but very comfortable. Don't be tempted to take the back stairs to the restaurant. They are extremely steep and you find yourself compensating by having to lean backwards. On our last day there, one guest went down them carrying a suitcase...the suitcase was pulling the guest forwards so the guest ditched the suitcase and it went flying down to the lobby!!
We ate in the hotel one evening and it was really good...I thought the menu would just be burgers & chips etc but I was very surprised..lovely starters and very good mains, very tasty and lots of it...hubbie was pleased!! I would recommend the hotel, very good value for money and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 418MARIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riccardotcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank いとさん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
5.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
580 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
346 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
141 reviews
7.6 mi away
Healesville Motor Inn
Healesville Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Healesville
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Grand Hotel

Address: 19 Bell St, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £81 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yarra Valley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yarra Valley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Yarra Glen
Yarra Glen Quality Inn
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel Yarra Glen, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing