We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Art at Linden Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art at Linden Gate
Ranked #2 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Thanks Reggie & Stuart for your wonderful hospitality. Our second time staying here and we will definitely come back again. The cottage is well equipped with everthying one needs to enjoy a weekend getaway in the beautiful Yarra Valley. The DYI breakfast is a great idea (food provided) and the daily newspaper is provided too. A lovely place to stay whilst enjoying all of the local wineries and fantastic scenery. Only a stones throw away from the Yarra Valley Chocolate Factory which is definitely worth a visit. Feeling very refreshed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deajy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Artist Apartment and think we picked the best accommodation in Yarra Glen. The owners have done a fantastic job at making this feel simply like staying with a good friend in a beautiful unit. Very accommodating, we enjoyed the log fire, comfortable lounge, throw rug for a cool winter day, full kitchen facilities to cook supplied delicious breakfast, very comfortable bed, hot shower and general feeling of being the next best thing to home...maybe better! I could name more things we like but you'll get bored of reading. Location is very handy to town, and close to Zonzo and Train Trak for great food and wine. Very quiet, great views, very friendly owners/operators and all round highly recommended. And this is coming from a couple who do occasionally enjoy the odd piece of art, but I would advise anyone who doesn't care for art to stay here all the same, simply due to the value, inclusions, high level of thought for the room and all the above I have mentioned. Especially good if you are a city dweller looking for time out together. We look forward to returning again to Yarra Glen, and without hesitation this will be where we stay.

Room Tip: The Artist Apartment was the pick for us, isolated and with an open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haddakombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

. After an easy drive from Melbourne we arrived at Art at Linden Gate. An impressive driveway with large sculptures positioned along the way leading to the art gallery and accommodation. We booked both of the mud brick cottages as they had an interconnecting door.
The fireplaces were set ready to light which we did straight away. Soon we had a cosy fire going in both cottages.
The cottages have such a pretty outlook over the vineyard and hills and valleys. The entry wooden doors have beautiful stained glass features. On the balcony there is a good sized BBQ.
Inside the cottages have small but practical cooking area. Plenty of utensils and the fridge was full of delights. We ordered the breakfast package and it was plentiful. Plenty of bacon, eggs,tomatoes and mushrooms. Butter, milk, tea, coffee and TimTams! Frresh bread and papers delivered each morning.
The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms roomy. The bathrooms are large with spa baths and spotlessly clean. Plenty of natural light with well positioned skylights and a partial glass roof in one.
The lounge areas are cosy and practical.
We were lucky enough to be there for the opening of a new art exhibition. The studio is a fantastic space for art displays. With local wines and cheeses being served it was a friendly and informative afternoon.
There is so much to do in the Yarra Valley - wine tastings, local cheese tastings, wonderful coffee shops and villages to shop in. The local produce is wonderful.
A delightful place to stay on a weekend getaway in the Yarra Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4bearsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the second time in 2 years and it was just as good as we remembered. The owners were a pleasure to deal with and made our stay very enjoyable without being intrusive. Fresh bread and the morning paper greeted us on the Sunday morning and they even allowed a late check out. The rooms are clean and spacious and the wood fire is wonderful in the colder weather. It was a great place to base ourselves to explore Healesville, Yarra Glen and surrounds. Art at Linden Gate has the charm and warmth of a B&B and I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mono202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Was lucky enough to see a small exhibit of local artists at Art at Linden Gate in Yarra Glen. Great little gallery with some great art currently on display. There are also some amazing sculptures by the resident artist in the gallery and surrounds. A great find in a lovely location.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 507Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed two nights at Art at Linden Cottage while I was in the area for a wedding. Perfectly set up with everything provided - fabulous breakfast provisions, daily paper, great coffee and teas, tim tams...just great. A big pile of wood for the wood heater, comfy bed, sparkling clean, wonderful corner spa with sky light all in a quiet and peaceful location. I highly recommend this place for a wonderful get away. It's set on a property so felt very safe, but also the hosts were very non intrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed here with my husband, 8-month old son and my parents for a wedding. We hired out the two suites that are joined by a door. I love this place!
The setting was beautiful. The room was clean, tidy, quite spacious and tastefully decorated with original artwork. Breakfast supplies are provided and we enjoyed a delicious BBQ breakfast cooked by ourselves, sitting on the deck, overlooking vineyards.

I am struggling to think of criticism, but to nitpick:
The crockery and cutlery were spread between the rooms and one room had more than the other. It meant that we had to go from room to room, depending on what we needed. For example our room had all the cutlery and my parents room had all the cups. It didn't really bother us, but I hope that they sort that out when the rooms are rented to strangers.
There is a little "room" off the bedroom with a single bed in it. To be honest, it's not more than a cupboard. However, served our purpose perfectly as we only needed to fit a portacot in it.

I wish we had time to stay longer and have a look at the art gallery on site.
I would highly recommend staying here - I actually think this was better than the hotel the bride and groom got! Next time I stay in Yarra Glen, I'll be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Jenn_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
1.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
341 reviews
7.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
1.8 mi away
Leafield Cottages
Leafield Cottages
#1 of 7 in Yarra Glen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art at Linden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art at Linden Gate

Address: 899 Healesville-Yarra Glen Rd, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £109 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art at Linden Gate's cottages have views over the Yarra Valley and are only one hour's drive from Melbourne. Recharge your batteries with a weekend getaway in the fresh country air. The wood fire keeps you cosy in winter and air-conditioning ensures comfort in summer. The cottages are all self-contained with a king bed, lounge/dining room and kitchen where you can prepare your generous breakfast provisions (if booked) and the terrace is perfect for enjoying a sunset drink or BBQ. The cottages are all decorated with original art for sale and a visit to the gallery, with its interesting exhibitions, is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art at Linden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art At Linden Gate Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing