We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yarra Valley Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Valley Guest House 9-11-09-. Driving to the place, I wondered were we were going. Not too far from Yarra Glen, about three minutes. Once we drove up the most beautiful drive way bordered by tress and see the a very beautiful Garden. We were met by our host Anthony who showed us the most wonderful room , king size bed with a conner type fire place and a huge spa and a private courtyard. WOW. It was the most relaxing environment i have ever been in and I even read a book for two of the days, I do not read books. The breakfast on offer was very well received and quite unexpected, fresh fruit cereals & yoghurt and all types for breads. On our departure we asked Anthony on a suggested route back to Melbourne. Marysville was recommended. Thank-you so much. We definitely will be going Back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
2
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Austalia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

POSITIVES:- Beautiful manicured gardens, pristine well kept. Rooms large and clean. We stayed overnight on the 24.8.2012. Split system A/C /Heating. Fire place. King size bed (Bed A) electric blankets, double spa bath. Heated towel rails. Coffee and tea facilities in the room.
Small private courtyard with BBQ if required. Continental breakfast which consisted of muffins, danishes, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea, coffee, crumpets and croissants. Morning paper provided.

NEGATIVES:- Milk was not provided for the coffee or tea in the room (perhaps an oversight by the cleaner?) The dining area was very cold when we entered for our breakfast.Kindling for the fire had to be retrieved on our arrival.

Overall a pleasant stay - just a few little things would have made it absolutely perfect. I did correspond with the owner after we returned home and he was most apologetic, and advised that he had now put systems in place to correct any services that weren't provided or attended to. An owner that actually listens to his guests - something out of the norm!

Room Tip: Bed A has a private courtyard. Their are 2 separate suites which we didn't view but more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TackSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent a night here in July 2012. Our greeting should have warned us of things to come. The owner didn't seem to know we'd booked, then took us to 2 rooms which weren't ready, then finally a third room - which wasn't the one we'd booked. At this stage we were just happy to get into any room. He said he wasn't sure of the aircon was working and asked me to test it. We had to gather our own wood for the fire. There was supposed to be bottled water as there were warnings not to drink the tap water. There was also supposed to be milk in the fridge for tea etc. We then bought our own. Next day we went to breakfast to find no staff there. In fact we saw no staff at all in that morning. The web site photos mis-represent the rooms. We noted other arriving guests having the same run-around on their arrival. A weird place - avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yarra Glen hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely anniversary stay in a king room; clean, warm, and cosy. Very comfy bed, and room well equipped. The Guest House nestles in a beautiful setting, and is situated close to the wineries. Continental breakfast was quit filling and well presented, enjoyed in a lovely, small dining room whilst reading the daily papers. Late check-out was a plus.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Infinity_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed one night & were very happy with our room & the setting it was in. Our breakfast was most enjoyable & we would recommend Valley Guest for an enjoyable stay. Tony was a great host and a very interesting man.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roses00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stay 1 night we loved the place the swiming pool was great and privat surround from olive trees.Lovely gardens perfect for pick nick at night .Are room was very clean spacieuse and compfortble .We fill realy like home and Tony was very friendly to use always ready for a little jok...well all good BRAVO TONY
Yves

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blankenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

What can one say; just over one hours drive from Melbourne, and you are in the heart of the Yarra Valley, staying at Valley Guest House. Tranquil, idyllic,and just wonderful.
Great host, this is a must stay, and just minutes from some of the best wineries in "The Valley"!

My partner and I stay here at least five (5) times a year, and it is just perfect for a close getaway from Melbourne.

The rooms are sensational; we try and book one of the two (2) Hillside Suites, which unfortunately are not always available (very popular). Despite this, we will still book the venue as it is just great!

I would highly recommend Valley Guest House. Just remember that you are staying in the Victorian country - there will be flies, there will be the "odd" mosquito, and don't be surprised if you discover a Huntsman spider in your room - leave them alone - they eat mosquitoes and bugs!

Overall, this Guest House in the midst of the Yarra Valley is a must stay.

Room Tip: Book one of the Hillside Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
18.6 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Leafield Cottages
Leafield Cottages
#1 of 7 in Yarra Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Guest House

Property: Yarra Valley Guest House
Address: 319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yarra Valley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yarra Valley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Guest House Yarra Glen, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing