We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yarra Valley Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent out first anniversary here and arrived a little early, there were two other couples who also had arrived a little early. None of us minded waiting, one of the couples politely called to let them know we were all there. Instead of being polite the manager rudely told her we would all have to wait. When he did arrive he was extremely annoyed and from that point it felt like we got off on the wrong foot straight away. We felt the need to walk on eggshells and to stay out of his way in fear of being scolded again. It felt like being back at catholic school. The room was nothing flash, and a bit overpriced.

Take note: the room will not be cleaned during your stay.

The pluses are:
Location: quite and out of the way.
Garden: the garden is really beautiful and well kept (if only the same effort was made for the rooms)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rainbow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here for two nights just recently as a short getaway & a base for our winery touring of the area. It was comfortable, peaceful accommodation & we really lived our stay. Will certainly pass on to anyone we know looking for a short break & will come back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louieb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My partner and I stayed yet again at Valley Guest House recently. This property has to be a real gem in the Yarra Valley!
The location is just perfect, the Hillside Suite that we regularly book is always presented in pristine condition, and is just perfect with double doors opening onto a veranda/deck.
Mine host Tony is always great value, is very knowledgeable, and has great recommendations for local dining and sightseeing.
A terrific addition to this area, is the walking track along the length of Steels Creek Road; just sensational for a long casual walk, in either direction, often meeting with many locals taking a walk; just perfect.
I cannot recommend Valley Guest more highly; very close to perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This property website mentions an racv rating of 4 stars (http://www.valleyguesthouse.com.au/about.htm) which according to the certificate at reception was issued in 2007. On arrival the place was dark and deserted, we had to phone the owners to come and give us our room key. On arrival we found left over take away food in the fridge. There was no fire wood or instructions on operating the flue provided and the split system heater sounded like a prop aeroplane and intermittently stopped functioning. We did not see anyone to complain or ask about these things and the phone remained unanswered. The breakfast was stale, we discovered on the second morning that the Danishes left over from day one were served up again on day two. They were quite well preserved however, because the room was as cold as a fridge. The temperature also kept under wraps the smell of the cat poo, which featured prominently on the floor next to the water cooler that was empty. Ordinarily this wouldn't have been a big issue for us, except that the water in the room was labeled as unfit for drinking and this was the only other source as no bottles were placed in the rooms. It should also be noted that there was (probably still is) a rodent of some description living underneath the spa. We named him "scratchy".

Had we not pre-paid we would not have stayed the second night, and at $175 per night that is a disgrace.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Insertusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleyguesthouse, Owner at Yarra Valley Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

In regards the STAR Rating, this was re-affirmed as Rating 4 by STAR Ratings Australia - Assessment Report on Monday 24 June 2013. The property is inspected annually in accordance with the guidelines AAA Tourism. The remainder of the Review posted on 11 July 2013 is equally inaccurate in its commentary. These guests arrived after 11PM in the evening (in mid winter) and after the lights in the surrounds had been switched off for the convenience of guests who had retired for the evening. This is normal procedure.
----------------------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse as part of our honeymoon to Australia. We made a last minute decision to visit Yarra Valley and made a booking 2 days in advance via Booking.com.

We arrived prior to the normal check-in time as we would be picked up for a wine tour but we wanted to check whether the booking was received ok. The gentleman who greeted us couldn't immediately find our booking and then disappeared looking for the booking. He stayed away for what seemed ages (in the meantime the wine tour bus arrived and everybody had to wait for him to return). After about 15min he returned still without finding our booking but he reassured us that all will be ok upon our return in the afternoon.

And it sure was. We could choose which one of the garden rooms we wanted. Both were huge and very nicely decorated! The guesthouse is located in a beautiful area filled with wild (night)life (as we also discover something made its home between the roof and the ceiling of our room). Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Trying to check out also took forever so patience is definitely required when checking in or out of this beautiful guesthouse. It is a great place to stay while exploring the Yarra Valley wine region. Bella the cat (the guesthouse's feline resident) added a nice memory to our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phia_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We arrived very late at night but Tony didn't seem to mind answering us at 12am! As soon as you arrive you feel very 'homey' and comfortable. The rooms were very large with a fireplace although the heaters heated up within moments! The bathroom was amazing and very very large! It was the perfect little getaway to relax and unwind, there is also a late checkout of 12pm. Well done!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hayleynicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Yarra Valley Guest House from 11th - 14th.Sept.2012. We were shown our lovely hillside studio over looking the beautiful manicured gardens in all their springtime glory. It had a great real flame gas heater, very cosy at night, king size bed, bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities, & large spa bath. Each morning breakfast was provided in the breakfast room, a real feast with lovely fresh bakery items, fresh juice and fruit,cereals and the morning papers to read.
Anthony, our host was charming and most helpful explaining places of interest and wineries to visit and always very friendly.
We are both looking forward to our next stay there to further explore the lovely Yarra Valley

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yarra Glen hotels
1.7 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
212 reviews
2.5 mi away
DixiGlen Farm
DixiGlen Farm
#2 of 2 in Dixons Creek
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
Yarra Glen Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 7 in Yarra Glen
25 reviews
2.6 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
161 reviews
3.1 mi away
Art at Linden Gate
Art at Linden Gate
#2 of 7 in Yarra Glen
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Guest House

Address: 319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £147 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yarra Valley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yarra Valley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Guest House Yarra Glen, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing