We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yarra Valley Guest House
Ranked #7 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE service!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The service was atrocious. We arrived at the reception desk and was greeted by a spider hanging in the doorway. After pushing the buzzer we were rudely told that the owner was busy and would just to wait inside.
After 10 minutes he arrived, and gave us our door key. He was abrupt and rushed and did not make us feel welcome in any way. He pointed us in the general direction of our our room, without even the courtesy of leading us there or telling us about the features of the bed and breakfast.
The room had multiple dead bugs on the floor along with a dead spider in the corner filthy. The water from the spa was brown, and not welcoming. Spider webs everywhere.
The so called 'games room' and 'table tennis' was a shed with a table tennis table in it that had a left over beer bottle and liquid on the table and below it. Filthy.
On leaving he didnt even bother to say goodbye.
NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    10
    5
    16
See reviews for
2
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The first time my partner and I stayed here was December 2010. We stayed in a queen spa suite. We loved it so much that we returned in January 2013 and booked out the entire venue for our wedding which was perfect. This time we stayed in one of the Hillside studios which was light, airy, had a balcony as well as a generous spa ensuite and gave us total privacy. As a special bonus, the owner gave us a voucher to return for our first year wedding anniversary and so we have this australia day weekend. We love this quaint little place for so many reasons. From the minute you enter the tree lined driveway you're welcomed with a view of the gardens which are just beautiful. The rooms are always comfy no matter the season as they're fitted with fire places and aircon. Breakfast is simple local fair; pastries, fresh bread, fruit, yogurt and condiments plus an assortment of cereals. We love the option of having a wine or brekkie on the deck or in the privacy of our balcony.
The characters here are great. Anthony the owner comes across as a little rough around the edges but has a great sense of humour and has always made us feel very welcome. Bella the resident cat is always lurking around and Teddy the dog can usually be found by the pool. This place is not your run of the mill 4 star but its got heart soul and a really tranquil feeling. It's our favourite place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chlodidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent out first anniversary here and arrived a little early, there were two other couples who also had arrived a little early. None of us minded waiting, one of the couples politely called to let them know we were all there. Instead of being polite the manager rudely told her we would all have to wait. When he did arrive he was extremely annoyed and from that point it felt like we got off on the wrong foot straight away. We felt the need to walk on eggshells and to stay out of his way in fear of being scolded again. It felt like being back at catholic school. The room was nothing flash, and a bit overpriced.

Take note: the room will not be cleaned during your stay.

The pluses are:
Location: quite and out of the way.
Garden: the garden is really beautiful and well kept (if only the same effort was made for the rooms)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rainbow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yarra Glen hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here for two nights just recently as a short getaway & a base for our winery touring of the area. It was comfortable, peaceful accommodation & we really lived our stay. Will certainly pass on to anyone we know looking for a short break & will come back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louieb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My partner and I stayed yet again at Valley Guest House recently. This property has to be a real gem in the Yarra Valley!
The location is just perfect, the Hillside Suite that we regularly book is always presented in pristine condition, and is just perfect with double doors opening onto a veranda/deck.
Mine host Tony is always great value, is very knowledgeable, and has great recommendations for local dining and sightseeing.
A terrific addition to this area, is the walking track along the length of Steels Creek Road; just sensational for a long casual walk, in either direction, often meeting with many locals taking a walk; just perfect.
I cannot recommend Valley Guest more highly; very close to perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This property website mentions an racv rating of 4 stars (http://www.valleyguesthouse.com.au/about.htm) which according to the certificate at reception was issued in 2007. On arrival the place was dark and deserted, we had to phone the owners to come and give us our room key. On arrival we found left over take away food in the fridge. There was no fire wood or instructions on operating the flue provided and the split system heater sounded like a prop aeroplane and intermittently stopped functioning. We did not see anyone to complain or ask about these things and the phone remained unanswered. The breakfast was stale, we discovered on the second morning that the Danishes left over from day one were served up again on day two. They were quite well preserved however, because the room was as cold as a fridge. The temperature also kept under wraps the smell of the cat poo, which featured prominently on the floor next to the water cooler that was empty. Ordinarily this wouldn't have been a big issue for us, except that the water in the room was labeled as unfit for drinking and this was the only other source as no bottles were placed in the rooms. It should also be noted that there was (probably still is) a rodent of some description living underneath the spa. We named him "scratchy".

Had we not pre-paid we would not have stayed the second night, and at $175 per night that is a disgrace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Insertusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleyguesthouse, Owner at Yarra Valley Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
In regards the STAR Rating, this was re-affirmed as Rating 4 by STAR Ratings Australia - Assessment Report on Monday 24 June 2013. The property is inspected annually in accordance with the guidelines AAA Tourism. The remainder of the Review posted on 11 July 2013 is equally inaccurate in its commentary. These guests arrived after 11PM in the evening (in mid winter) and after the lights in the surrounds had been switched off for the convenience of guests who had retired for the evening. This is normal procedure.
----------------------
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse as part of our honeymoon to Australia. We made a last minute decision to visit Yarra Valley and made a booking 2 days in advance via Booking.com.

We arrived prior to the normal check-in time as we would be picked up for a wine tour but we wanted to check whether the booking was received ok. The gentleman who greeted us couldn't immediately find our booking and then disappeared looking for the booking. He stayed away for what seemed ages (in the meantime the wine tour bus arrived and everybody had to wait for him to return). After about 15min he returned still without finding our booking but he reassured us that all will be ok upon our return in the afternoon.

And it sure was. We could choose which one of the garden rooms we wanted. Both were huge and very nicely decorated! The guesthouse is located in a beautiful area filled with wild (night)life (as we also discover something made its home between the roof and the ceiling of our room). Breakfast was ok - nothing special. Trying to check out also took forever so patience is definitely required when checking in or out of this beautiful guesthouse. It is a great place to stay while exploring the Yarra Valley wine region. Bella the cat (the guesthouse's feline resident) added a nice memory to our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phia_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
18.6 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.8 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Leafield Cottages
Leafield Cottages
#1 of 7 in Yarra Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Guest House

Property: Yarra Valley Guest House
Address: 319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Yarra Valley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yarra Valley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Guest House Yarra Glen, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing