We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our room was very good, though a bit dark and the view was magnificent. The food in the restaurant was excellent but the service was slow. It is a great place to stay to enjoy all the Yarra Valley has to offer even if you are not interested in wineries. We visited the icecream and chocolate factory, the Yarra Dairy, Healsville Hotel and enjoyed all the interesting shops at Healsville. it gave us a wonderful break for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Judy,
Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at Balgownie Estate. There are so many places to see and visit while in the Yarra Valley and most are just a stones through away from Balgownie Estate. We hotel to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
There are newer reviews for Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

When checking in I was charged $100 as a bond type fee that was to be refunded upon checking out. After 8 days with no refund I called to ask what was happening and told that they would request the release of funds from the bank. I am left wondering when they were going request this if I did not call and ask. I am also left wondering how long it will take for the request to be processed. I did ask the receptionist but was told that this is up to the bank.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your experience. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is really valuable to us and our Front Office Manager Karen would like to have the opportunity to talk to you directly about the feedback. You can contact her on 03 9730 0700 or email her directly on resortops@balgownieestate.com.au. We understand your disappointment and hope you can give us the opportunity to make up for it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shell229
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lee_Northcote
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I had an amazing dinner together, with delicious food and wine. We were served by a delightful young lady, Kate. She was very knowledgeable and was always on hand to help and serve. She gave the other tables around us the same service with a smile and made our dinner a fantastic experience. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review about your experience at Rae's Restaurant. We pride ourselves on delivering a professional dining experience which we have clearly met. We are really lucky to have such a great team with great customer services values. We look forward to welcoming you to Rae's Restaurant again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The entrance to the property is magnificent, the staff are professional and rather lovely... The room wasn't what we expected....
The room itself was very small.. Not exactly the 4 star we were expecting. The window was dirty and looked like mud had been thrown at it.
The window faced the walkway, we had people wandering past and looking into the room all the time.. We closed the blockout blinds and then it was too dark... Please put some sort of screening in to stop the peering in!
Huge Bathroom, lovely lovely shower..wardrobe can only shut one way due to the fridge being slightly too big... Getting to the other end of the wardrobe was impossible as the door wouldn't open fully! So much for use of the safe etc.
We ate breakfast at the restaurant.. Again, staff were professional, food a little light on and needed replenishing sooner than it was... I don't think a line up is something I should have to face.. Felt like school camp.. Food presentation was underwhelming.
Cellar door was someone chatting on the phone to a friend... Considering I walked in there twice, I would have expected some sort of courteous acknowledgement...

Overall, I expected more for the money we paid and was disappointed...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leah_J75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Leah,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is really valuable to us and our Front Office Manager Karen would like to have the opportunity to talk to you directly about the feedback. You can contact her on 03 9730 0700 or email her directly on resortops@balgownieestate.com.au. We understand your disappointment and hope you can give us the opportunity to make up for it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
335 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
147 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,023 reviews
5.6 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £111 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing