We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Balgownie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is our 4th visit to Balgownie Estate and we really love this place. The rooms overlook the vines and are always beautifully maintained. The only downfall this time was our lunch at Raes Restaurant. On our last visit about a year ago we would have rated our meal at Raes as one of the best we'd ever eaten - and we talked it up to our friends who were travelling with us this time - embarrassingly - I'd have to say I've had better meals at the local pub. Service was painfully slow and the food less than average for a venue of this calibre, as an Accor member we received a discount and its just as well really because I'd have hated to have to pay a cent more than we did.

Nonetheless, I'd stay at Balgownie again any day, staff are friendly and the grounds are lovely, I'd just venture further afield for a good meal and theres no shortage of excellent restaurants in the Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tajyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Balgownie Estate. We really appreciate your feedback, and I have forwarded your comments about Rae's to the Restaurant Manager. Our new Chef arrives in April, and we are all very excited about the culinary delights, she has to offer. We hope you come back, and give the restaurant another try. Please call Karen Dixon on 9730 0700, so that I can make all the necessary arrangements for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Balgownie is a beautiful estate, the views are stunning. Our Prestige room was nice enough, however the black feet marks on the bottom of the shower did not entice me to even think about sitting in the bath for a spa. This is our third visit to Balgownie and we have previously loved our stays. Rae's restaurant is one of the reasons we returned as the food has always been of good quality. When entering the restaurant on this occasion, the restaurant was cornered off which unfortunately meant we were sitting extremely close to the couple on the next table. This lack of privacy totally spoilt my night. In hindsight we should have asked to be moved, but because there were so few tables it all seemed abit hard to make the request. Having said that, the food on the night was delicious. In the morning when we arrived for breakfast there were flies around the bread and the coffee station was so old fashioned that we actually left and went to a cafe on the way home, in my experience water urns usually mean the coffee will be cold and I didn't want to take the risk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Balgownie Estate. We are very sorry we didn't tick all the boxes for you on this occasion. We would really like to have you come back to us. May I ask that you contact Karen Dixon on 9730 0700, so that we can discuss further. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank trevham1946
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Balgownie Estates was above our expectations with well-appointed, clean and spacious rooms and excellent service. The grounds are breathtaking and the restaurant and cellar door are definitely worth going back to. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Great to hear about your stay at Balgownie Estate, looks like we have ticked all the boxes for you! There are great facilities on site such as the walking trails and the spa in the rooms is very relaxing. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals at Rae's Restaurant We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A modern resort set in the beautiful Yarra Valley. Rae's restaurant overlooks vineyards and menus include fresh local produce. Resort pool area is indoor with high windows overlooking the resort gardens, which are beautifully tended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MaryDMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Balgownie Estate in the Yarra Valley, we are really lucky to have such a great property with so many facilities. We look forward to welcoming you to the resort again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
579 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
344 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
157 reviews
9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
141 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £102 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing