We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would have loved it but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Reviewed 19 April 2014

To be perfectly fair, Balgownie is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms are immaculate & the service is excellent.

BUT! We paid quite a bit of money for a king size bed and instead of a king bed, we had two double beds pushed together. I know quite a lot of places do this and it would have been fine but the result was extremely uncomfortable and it was a very clear break between the two beds - where they met in the middle was much higher and harder than the rest and altogether it made for a very uncomfortable sleep.

It's really disappointing because otherwise it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toriarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Feedback is always welcomed and needed to ensure we deliver to our high standards and our guests expectations. We take pride in our service and customers comfort, on this occasion it has not been met.

We are very sorry to hear, that you did not have a good nights sleep. Some of our beds do not twin, so perhaps on your next visit, you could request this option.

If you feel you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact Karen Dixon on 9730 0700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent all round. We stayed here for an anniversary and a wedding and both times were wonderful. The food and wine magnificent, the rooms are very clean and modern with all that is needed for a lovely holiday. Very impressive cellar door. The food at the restaurant is delicious and beautifully presented.

We are already planning our next trip

Room Tip: We stayed at a lovely room with a spa that overlooked the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Great to hear about your stay at Balgownie Estate, looks like we have ticked all the boxes for you! Very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals at Rae's Restaurant as well as the Cellar Door. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just a fantastic location views right the way over the yarra valley and the vineyards, absolutely spectacular views. Room was spacious, clean and fresh but not a 4 star standard. Spa is excellent but has a coldness about it, it was cold in the rooms but the bed was beautifully warm with an electric blanket. Products used were not catered for sensitive skin and sadly my face did react. However staff were most apologetic.
Restaurant is another thing. Breakfast was not a problem a great variety on the buffet menu however Dinner service lets the whole of the restaurant down. You have this amazing space and views but the wait is not worth it even when the food arrives. The staff were not friendly or particularly helpful and certainly not service driven on the 2 nights we were there. A shame as it is well worth a visit but rethink dinner options. Is it 4 stars, I don't think so, the location is what gives it the stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs overlooking the vines at the front and not close to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siviter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Feedback is always welcomed and needed to ensure we deliver to our high standards and our guests expectations. We take pride in our service and customers comfort, on this occasion it has clearly not been met. I have passed on your feedback regarding your dinner experience onto our Restaurant Manager, and will also pass your comments on to Natskin.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact Karen Dixon on 9730 0700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Over rated some good points and bad points. Check in was good. Room very clean until we saw the mattress on the bed, it was disgusting worst I,ve seen any where in the world. View fantastic. Cellar door brilliant restaurant second rate. Champagne spilt by waitress food not cooked and sent back, breakfast looked and tasted as though it had been there for ever

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Feedback is always welcomed and needed to ensure we deliver to our high standards and our guests expectations. We take pride in our service and customers comfort, on this occasion it has clearly not been met. We are in the process of making some changes, and your feed back has been very constructive.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact Karen Dixon on 9730 0700.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I had a great time at the winery. The accommodation was first class, with the room being very clean and well appointed.

We ate in the restaurant both nights. We were only going to eat there once, but it was so good we went back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark&Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Balgownie Estate Resort and Spa. It's lovely to receive your feedback, and I will certainly pass your comments about the food onto all concerned at our Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Privilege Suite was great. Great views, plenty of space. Estate grounds are nice, and is a lovely walk around. Staff were all friendly, cellar door tasting was good. Restaurant food was very good. There was a wedding on, but you would have never of known. No noise from our room. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stew7five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It's so lovely to receive positive feedback, and very much appreciated. We are very pleased you had a lovely experience at Balgownie Estate, and you enjoyed the cellar door and restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balgownie Estate Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My fiancé and I spent a Sun night at Balgownie to explore the area and find ourselves a wedding venue. The staff were amazing from arrival to departure. We stayed in a 1 bedroom spa suite. Room was spotless and beautiful. Good size balcony, nice outlook, comfy couch & bed. Spa was clean & comfortably fits 2. The restaurant was the highlight of our stay. With so much to see and do and eat in the Yarra Valley I really wasn't expecting the star of the show to be the resort's own restaurant. How wrong I was. One of the best meals I've eaten! After a beautiful night of food and wine we were one of the last to leave at around 10pm. The great service didn't end there and I was further impressed by the staff when I asked a couple of questions about the wedding function room and was happily given a tour. I've become accustomed to hospitality staff who just want to get you out of the door and this was such a nice experience. I seriously cannot wait to come back again. I'll make it 2 nights next time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank purc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It's so lovely to receive positive feedback, and very much appreciated. We are very pleased you had a lovely experience at Balgownie Estate, and you had time to enjoyed the beautiful Yarra Valley. I will make sure your feedback about the food reaches our chefs and restaurant staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balgownie Estate Resort and Spa, and we hope you choose us for your wedding venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
341 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
152 reviews
9 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
139 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range: £106 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing