We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding celebration”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay, very romantic. Rooms are spacious and gorgeous and the views are stunning. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great! I thoroughly enjoyed my time & cannot wait to return. Special mention to sitting on the lawn, watching the sun go down, drinking wine & eating cheese. Bliss!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Good morning Lizzy,
Thank you for your review. It is exciting to hear that your stay met your expectations on all levels. We look forward to welcoming when you next return.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    320
    121
    77
    66
See reviews for
138
654
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The resort is situated in a nice, peaceful location. My room was large with a separate bedroom and jacuzzi in the bathroom. Amenities were fine but there is no wi-fi available in the room which was disappointing. The breakfast selection was quite good with a variety of hot and cold options. Dinner was patchy and expensive. Two courses for $60 plus drinks. The service was incredibly slow and my steak was well over cooked. It shouldn't happen for the price you pay. Overall though I enjoyed my brief stay there and would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Good afternoon Aussie1313,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. overall, it was good to see your stay was good. I have passed on your comments to Raes Manager in regards to the dinner you had. Raes restaurant, and chef, have updated their operational procedures, to ensure consistent and efficient service, in a effort to eleviate the problems you experienced.
It is only through reviews and comments from our guests that we are constantly able to fine tune our service to our guests.
Best regards
Paul Koenig
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilydale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was excited,I got a room, 3 course meal, and breakfast for Mothers Day from the kids.When arrived got upgrade, made us very Happy. Room reasonable certainly didnt understand the up grade. From what.. I had been told Garden room at Balgownie, looked it up, this was not different. Oh I forgot the spa..Ours at home was bigger and certainly performed much better than this one did. Room clean, except for mould in tiles around spa. No fan, which we told them about, and was told it should be working.
The 3 course meal at the restaurant, could not be finished. I was so disappointed with it. The meal cost us $158, we didnt have wine with our meal... for this price I would have expected a fantasic meal. No I cant say I enjoyed any part of it. It felt like they where trying to hard and just missed the mark. Interestingly, my husband and I, both were so unwell after those meals that we could hardly sleep due to pain in our stomachs. Breakfast was unremarkable, but for $50 I certainly expected really nice.
When we went to leave in the morning, our bill had not been paid. We had to go through everything with the staff member(who was lovely). We found out how much our stay really cost the kids... I was so upset by all this.What was meant to be my lovely present was ruined by what they still had to pay. And I could not say I had enjoyed it. Exspecially when we arrived and had asked how this was going to work, they had told us all paid for.
So please dont expect value for money, and certainly dont expect any thing special. And the worst thing is, what do I say to my kids.....DONT EVER BUY ME ANYTHING FROM BALGOWNIE AGAIN.
(Because I had heard how nice it was, and said I would love to stay there one night.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickyGEE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good morning Micky,

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing that there were several aspects of your stay that were not up to expectations. Can you please contact me on 03-9730 0751 to discuss the issues you had with both accommodation and Raes restaurant.
Best Regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at this resort with friends. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant was great. Although we booked the restaurant late, the staff managed to find us a table at the earliest possible time in the evening and were very helpful. We had a great time at breakfast and kept going back for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good afternoon Alan,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay recently at Balgownie Estate. I am excited to hear that all aspects of your stay were up to your expectations.

With the input and reviews of our guests, we are able to constantly review and improve our procedures to ensure we are providing the highest of service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Best regards

Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Great service from reception, cellar door, & restaurant staff. The restaurant looks & feels beautiful. We enjoyed the in-house massage gym & pool. Ability to drink 14yo reds by the glass, and entree blue cheese risotto & caprese tomato salad were fabulous. But a rack of lamb delivered 1.5 chops, seasonal vegetables was just one - squash, there was no cheese menu, just chef's mystery selection, and upon retiring both bedside reading lights were 'out'.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good afternoon Jonathan,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Balgownie Estate. I am excited to hear of the great experiences you had during your stay through a cross section of the resort. I have passed your comments onto to the executive chef regarding the rack of lamb and vegetables provided during dinner.
At Balgownie Estate, we are constantly reviewing our performance to ensure guests experiences are of the highest standard.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Only stayed 1 night at though because it is tie with my hotair balloon package. We stay in a 2 bedrooms suite and the whole place is quite spacious and clean. Very comfortable bed and very nice scenery from the rooms. Didn't get to try out food though. Had the wine tasting and it is a very pleasant wine cellar. Great place to chill relax. Will love to go back again.. Check in is hassle free but took awhile, checkout is smooth, no hiccups too. Downside.. maybe slightly pricey if i would just book accommodation without the package. And because the location, will need quite a drive out to town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Good afternoon fenzf,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and provide some good feedback. Our rooms do have the beautiful views down the Yarra Valley. We are constantly reviewing our procedures to streamline both check in and check out, ensuring there is a minimal delay during those periods.

Best regards

Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We travels across Australia for seven weeks and this was going to be one of the highlighted stays. Decided to splurge a little Balgownie for four days. Sorry we did. They did not live up to their own reputation at all. One of our worst stays in country. They advertise great views from the deluxe suites so we upgraded. Wrong. There may at one time been great views. But now the trees have grown up and they built a big gravel parking lot in front of some of the rooms (including ours). So that's the view. When we checked in we noticed a number of lights were burnt out and promptly completed the "fix it" card in our room. When we dropped it off at the desk the clerks said that shouldn't be so. In four days, however, they never fixed the lights. The parking lot near the rooms for guests is too small for the number of rooms so don't be surprised if you have to walk a long distance to your room. They don't provide carts for luggage so be prepared to shlep. We were told a cart and driver would come by (it seemed it was a bit of a bother to the staff) - but by the time they showed up most everything was lugged to the room. The room felt more like a store. Be careful. There is lots of stuff for sale in your room. They even charge $12 for condoms. They state internet is available - but it is only through a cable. No wireless available in the rooms (really?! - in this day and age at a modern facility like this??). The steam room was broken and the "experience spa" was full of screaming kids. The water was luke warm. And they advertise this as a romantic getaway for couples.

One last thing. We are a same sex couple. When we came to check in the clerk looked at at us and stated "We only have you for one room and we don't have any other rooms available." Do you think he says that to opposite sex couples?

Stay somewhere else. We loved Yarra Valley and will be back. But not at Balgownie.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay and want a view, be rather insistent on what the view is of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I would like to apologise for the recent experience not meeting your expectations. We have taken your feedback on board and discussed them at length.

I would also like to apologise for the lights in your room not being attended to Immediately. We have re-enforced our procedure in this regard.

Should you wish to discuss further, please contact Paul Koenig on 9730 0700.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
328 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
141 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Property: Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing