We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It is a in great location. Huge area to wonder around and look at the breathtaking view. Dont expect too much of the rooms. They are quite basic and simple decorations. Not sure if it was worth the price we paid for a night stay. Very quiet and excellent to lay back and smell the roses just hanging by the patio.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stormystormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    318
    119
    76
    66
See reviews for
137
646
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a mid-week getaway and loved it. The room had a generous sized spa, massive bed and stunning views. As soon as I walked in the room I felt at home.
Staff at reception upon check in was super nice and made it easy.
Rae's was AMAZING. The food was spot on. Not massive serves, but the food was quality and well thought out. Staff were attentive but also respected space. I could not fault the food, and I thought I was in heaven while enjoying my braised ox cheeks with a glass of wine. Sharing a goats cheese cheesecake which was a delight to the senses. Thought I was in food heaven. The view was sensational.
We did go for a walk around the walking track, which had beautiful views, however it needed some TLC, with the grass quite long and the track not clearly visible.
Thanks for a lovely resort. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

To begin with, we were greeted by unfriendly and unwelcoming staff who seemed annoyed that we were staying there with a red balloon voucher. Asked us for a credit card to be put on file but failed to tell us that $100 would be taken as a 'bond' which, a week later, has still not been reinstated.

Room was average, definitely not worth the $400 a night they charge. I would still say it was overpriced even at the discounted voucher we bought which was $260.

The spa heating in the room didn't work at all. TV in the lounge area was confusing and we couldn't even get a normal channel up.

The buffet breakfast was dry and unappetising. Pancakes were basically inedible.

To top it off. On check out, they tried to charge us an extra $30 for room service which we never used.

Would never go back again. Anyone that has a red balloon voucher might as well exchange it for another gift.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last month using a voucher given to me for my birthday.
The staff at reception were unfriendly and not welcoming not a great first impression of the hotel. Ive stayed in many places before and even backpackers have friendly staff. Room was average for the price although the view was lovely. Breakfast was nothing flash, the pancakes were that salty I couldnt finish it. The staff at the cellar door were great, very friendly and knowledgeable, I would only ever go back as far as the celler door next time. Not worth the money and definitely not 5 stars!! At best maybe 3

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the resort for 3 nights and enjoyed the excellent service provided by the staff at reception, the day spa, the restaurant and cellar door.

The venue is an ideal location for a romantic and peaceful get away. With stunning views from the deluxe king spa suite overlooking the vineyard/valley.

This winery/estate/resort has a great reputation for great accommodation, food, wine and service.

You could not find a better place to stay at the yarra valley/yarra glen than Balgownie.

I highly recommend it and would return there in a heartbeat

Many thanks to the staff at reception, the day spa, the cellar door and the restaurant whom made the experience rememberable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Des R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good morning Des,
It is fantastic to hear that your recent stay at Balgownie Estate exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your excellent comments to all staff.
Many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here recently for a quick 1 night weekend getaway and had a wonderful stay!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom spa suite which was spotless and very spacious. We loved how all the food/drinks on offer in the room were all local stuff (and not overly priced).
Only negative is the king zip bed.

We dined at the restaurant for dinner and it was a fantastic experience. The menu was diverse yet didn't have too many items to have to choose from. I like the set price for 2 or 3 course meal - makes it really easy. The food was well presented and absolutely delicious, using local produce which was great. The cheesecake was incredible!! Breakfast was also nice with a good selection of pretty much everything you would want for breakfast.

The staff here were very professional and super efficient. We found them all to be very sincere and a pleasure. 24 hour reception is a bonus too with a really speedy checkin.

We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristyw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good morning aussie23,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I have passed on all the good comments to all staff so they can see the good work that they are working for is appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best Regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing.the room was throughly clean and beyond expections we had a one bedroom privlage suite which I'd reccomend to anybody wanting some indulgent time. Only mild let down was the size portion of our dinner being rather small after 3 courses we ended up back at the room ordering room service as we we're still hungry which was pricey for what you got.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank channy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good afternoon Channy,
Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that the privilege spa suite was ideal for your stay. Executive chef and the kitchen brigade are constantly reviewing menu items and portion sizes.
Look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Best regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Property: Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing