We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of vines and the yarra valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of vines and the yarra valley”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived just after 2 to check in and make the most of our one night getaway and spent the afternoon and the last light of the winters day over looking the lovely view from our balcony and felt so relaxed, loved it. Lovely clean room and lived the spa with a view from the centre of the room and gorgeous amenities. Great brekky in the morning and then we took a walk on the trail to the view from the top of the property and WOW such an incredible spot to take in such a special part of Victoria. Looking forward to returning and next time will book into day spa which I have been too before but not during a stay and the two together would be wonderful.

Room Tip: The top rooms with balcony have a lovely view to awake too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Good morning Brandon & Deb,
Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at Balgownie Estate.
We look forward to welcoming your back so you can combine more aspects of the facilities we provide.
Best regards
Paul Koenig
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    321
    122
    77
    66
See reviews for
138
657
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. The room we had was the spa room. Our room had a tiny bedroom, the bed was not very comfy. The bathroom was large and spa was a bonus. The decor was pretty basic and unexciting. There was a balcony with some views of the tennis court and the road, did not have the view of the vineyard.

Staff were very friendly and pleasant. Cellar door was great, loved the wines. Breakfast buffet is pretty average, had a variety of hot and cold breakfast options. Dinner at Rae's was overprices, and was not even tasty. Would not recommend it.

No wifi, but there is cable internet and it is free.

The location is great, but overall it is very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melb_Chick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good afternoon Melb_Chick83,
Thank you for your review. I have relayed your concerns regarding the breakfast and dinner in Rae's Restaurant to the department heads for review.
As both the Chardonnay and Pinot vineyards are on either ends of the resort, they are not visible from the resort rooms. We pride ourselves on the views down into the Yarra Valley towards Yarra Glen.
I appreciate your feedback as we strive to exceed our guests expectations.
Best Regards
Paul Koenig - Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely location. Basic clean rooms. Staff ambivalent. In fact I felt I was rushed off the telephone when booking. Breakfast an outrageous extra $28.50 per person and pathetic. Another $4.00 if you want to order a cappuccino. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShanghaiChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my friend's birthday at this vineyard and the food and the wine were amazing! affordable prices for fine dinning! Great service and beautiful atmosphere! I highly recommended for a day trip or to stay the night! It's a very relaxing place and it's worth it! I will definitely come back again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabiola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balgownie-Estat... R, Manager at Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good afternoon Fabiola,
Thank you for your excellent review. I have passed on all your good comments to the Rae's team.
It is very exciting to hear of the great service and food on show.
Best regards
Paul Koenig
Accommodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during the week and are so pleased that we did. I was a bit concerned after reading a lot of negative reviews and was definitely on guard, but was so impressed with all that we came into contact with from reception to the restaurant staff and all in between.
The grounds are beautiful extremely relaxing and we felt very comfortable just looking around and checking everything out. We used the jogging track which was just in a paddock but was challenging and fun to do, the grass was long and very wet but we love a challenge and it didn't fuss us to much.Used the gym everyday and its very tiny but has all you need to have a decent workout.Although you wouldn't want to be sharing with to many people, not much room to move.

We stayed in a privilege spa suite and it was exactly as the pictures show, very cosy with a comfortable lounge that had a huge couch and armchair that was a delight to sink into after a hard day of wine tasting. It had small balcony looking over the tennis courts and chess game, with 2 chairs and a small table, very nice to sit out with a glass of wine and watch the evening set in.
The bathroom was nice and big with a spa/ shower combo, the spa was not that great it didn't create to many bubbles but was nice to just sit in the round tub and enjoy the view straight from the glass wall looking out at the hillside. Products supplied were of very good quality and had a beautiful aroma. Plenty of bench space and drawers, 2 sinks and the towels were big and fluffy.
The bathrobes were very inviting to just lounge around in but they did create a lot of fluff that ended up on my clothes so be weary of that.
Bed was comfy and we had a sound sleep, would have liked an option with the pillows we found them a bit soft but not enough to seek out new ones or even ask if there was an option, so its all very personal preference.. Nice tv in bedroom and plenty of wardrobe space.The Resort was quite busy but we very rarely heard our neighbors and or any outside noise.

Now this is were i was worried after reading other reviews, the Restaurant!!!! Well we had nothing but a wonderful experience across the board. We had dinner there the first night and the food was amazing, entree was a bit small but the main meal was a perfect serve and very well presented, had breakfast there every morning and the options were huge and quality was excellent. My husband had his eggs cooked for him every day and always without a fuss and brought out quickly. There is nespresso machines to make your own coffee and the pods were actually quite delicious. Plenty of cereal and fruit and good selection of hot food options. Gorgeous views from the wall to wall windows and a very cosy fire in the middle of the room with sofas to sit and read your paper. The staff were very friendly and greeted us warmly each time.My hubby got a kiss for his birthday from the lovely hostess and she even organised a candle to be brought out with his eggs, making him feel very special indeed.
Overall i cannot wait to get back to Balgownie Estate which we plan to do come summer as the balloon flight we booked was cancelled due to bad weather, and will be bringing our friends with us to share this special place with us.
Book this place you wont regret it,

Room Tip: We had room 403, first lot of rooms as you drive in , was worried it would be noisy but it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONYIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It is a in great location. Huge area to wonder around and look at the breathtaking view. Dont expect too much of the rooms. They are quite basic and simple decorations. Not sure if it was worth the price we paid for a night stay. Very quiet and excellent to lay back and smell the roses just hanging by the patio.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stormystormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here for a mid-week getaway and loved it. The room had a generous sized spa, massive bed and stunning views. As soon as I walked in the room I felt at home.
Staff at reception upon check in was super nice and made it easy.
Rae's was AMAZING. The food was spot on. Not massive serves, but the food was quality and well thought out. Staff were attentive but also respected space. I could not fault the food, and I thought I was in heaven while enjoying my braised ox cheeks with a glass of wine. Sharing a goats cheese cheesecake which was a delight to the senses. Thought I was in food heaven. The view was sensational.
We did go for a walk around the walking track, which had beautiful views, however it needed some TLC, with the grass quite long and the track not clearly visible.
Thanks for a lovely resort. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
8.2 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
331 reviews
16.8 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
144 reviews
20.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,914 reviews
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Property: Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Address: 1309 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing