We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Cottages”
Review of Leafield Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leafield Cottages
Ranked #1 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Cottages”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Sage Cottage while touring around the wineries and attractions of the Yarra Valley. Prior to booking we found our emails/queries responded to quickly and clearly and after booking, instructions were clear and we were sent information about local attractions and directions. On arrival we were welcomed and shown the most delightful, clean and tastefully decorated cottage which met all of our needs. It was a perfect base from which to tour the Valley and also enjoy the views and fresh air. Jan shared her knowledge of the area, recommending restaurants and answering any queries we had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leafield, Owner at Leafield Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Having lived in the Yarra Valley for almost 40 years we often take for granted the natural beauty of this wonderful region and the vast array of exceptional wineries that bring visitors from far and wide. There is however one thing that we never tire of and that is the response we receive from visitors who are experiencing everything that the Valley has to offer for the first time. What makes it even more rewarding for us is that your stay at Leafield Cottages has been a major contributor to Yarra Valley experience. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again sometime.

Kind Regards

Ron & Jan Woodward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Purchased Groupon voucher and did not expect too much from it. However, the sage cottage is more than what we expected ! Nice and peaceful surrounds and the cottage is very clean ! Jan (the owner) is very nice and caring as well (this is very important for a stay anywhere !) and even provided eggs and even ask us do we need more bread for brekky! This place is near to all hot air balloons meet-up place too ! Strongly recommended to anyone who wanted a hideaway or somewhere to relax over weekends or weekdays, away from city!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watermelonlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leafield, Owner at Leafield Cottages, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us at Leafield has exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your kind words.

Ron & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here a while ago and the hosts were fantastic, so friendly and there when you needed them but otherwise we were left to enjoy the space with privacy.
The beds so comfy, such a warm and inviting space.
We loved it so much we are staying again soon!
Divine!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philippa311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the Hannaby cottage which was adorably cute. The hosts took great care of us and made us feel quite special on our time away. The cottage was practical and functional and was a beautiful place to call "home" for a short while. Would defiantly go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSBrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leafield, Owner at Leafield Cottages, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you "loved it" for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Leafield. We would be more than happy to have the 3 of you stay with us at any time.

Kind Regards
Ron & Jan
Leafield Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Leafield cottages a number of times with my partner . Every visit we have had a lovey time. The owners Jan and Ron are very welcoming and the location is stunning. We have stayed in both Sage and Hannaby cottages and both have been impeccable. They are comfortable, cosy and immaculate and smell fresh and clean.
In response to "Angry" I cannot believe that your cottage could have been anywhere near as bad as you are suggesting. As anyone knows with such warm weather in the country you are going to find Insects and Signs on doors are part and parcel of staying away from home.
Leafield Cottages are a beautiful getaway within an hours drive from Melbourne. We couldn't recommend them more highly. We look forward to staying again in the near future.

Ben and Sarah

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bbr1z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leafield, Owner at Leafield Cottages, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Ben and Sarah,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor Review in defence of Leafield Cottages. Your kind words of support have been most gratifying.
As you know we have always endeavoured to maintain a high standard here at Leafield and have been only too happy to accept constructive criticism and utilise both good and bad comments in order to improve how we present ourselves and our facilities to our guests.
Thank you again for your support and we look forward to your next visit to Leafield.
Kind Regards,
Ron & Jan Woodward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Nsw
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

When we were shown to our studio cottage, the owner left carrying at least a dozen dead flies on her pad and apologised, statng they had placed an insect bomb in the room the previous day. Personally, I would never have stayed if I had been aware of this, as they leave a residue over everything - cutlery, crockery, benchtops, even towels. The first thing we noticed was a list of laminated rules, stating that if there were any breakages, any damage, or loss that money would automatically be taken off the credit card provided. I doubt this would stand up in a court of law. Great welcome!

We stopped counting at 62 dead flies and 3 live, and was horrified when I realised there had been some dead ones in the bed. Not surprisingly, I was unwell overnight. We had trouble lighting the gas stove and when the owner arrived, she informed us the side switches had been broken numerous times?? and not fixed. What? So we had to place our hands into the oven to light, at which time my friend's arm was singed, all the hairs having been burnt off. This apparently, we were informed, had also happened to a previous guest while attempting to light the stove.! We had been left 2 matches for 2 days and then had to wait nearly half an hour for her to bring extras, while she chatted away with other people. We finally got it lit with 2 people working at it on the first night.

The 'welcome list' also stated they had the right to ask anyone to leave at any time, so even though the owners were aware of the problem with the stove, as well as the enormous number of dead flies all over the place, we waited till we were leaving to tell them how disgusted we were by the unhygienic state of the place, and the danger regarding the stove, but they were nowhere in sight . Other minor issues compared to the above were a constantly pixalating tv, and a fire alarm that went off when cooking toast (not burnt).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Food location for going around for wine tasting. Friendly service from Ron and Jane. Cleanliness is the main area I really like. The room smell fresh.love the tidiness n the size. Perfect for a few days away from city. Highly recommend to others. From Danny n Peggy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarra Glen
0.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De'Vine Escape
De'Vine Escape
#1 of 2 in Dixons Creek
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art at Linden Gate
Art at Linden Gate
#2 of 7 in Yarra Glen
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brentwood Accommodation
Brentwood Accommodation
#3 of 21 in Healesville
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leafield Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leafield Cottages

Property: Leafield Cottages
Address: 1921-23 Melba Hwy, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leafield Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leafield Cottages Yarra Glen, Australia - Yarra Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing