We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of the Yarra Valley”

Zonzo Estate Yarra Valley
Reserve with
Zonzo Estate Yarra Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Yarra Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem of the Yarra Valley”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Along with a captivating view of the vineyard and rolling Yarra Valley Hills, Zonzo's brilliantly simple interior design along with welcoming smell from the wood-fired oven will transport you to the Italian countryside.
It's a refreshing sight to see, Rod, the owner wrist deep in fresh pizza dough, leading from the front with passion that rivals any I've seen.
The service is excellent and the noisy enviorment is all part of the experience.
If you are looking for the best wood-fired pizzas outside of Itlay, classic antipasto plates and a warm and wecoming host, look no further.

Zonzo's does hospitality the way it should be

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackmjsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    74
    34
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Came here to try the menu as a family member is getting married here soon and we all loved it.

Service was faultless with the staff all being attentive and friendly. Food was well worth the price due to the generous serving sizes and great taste. Good selection of drinks, including locally made ciders and some of their own wines. Can sit either inside or outside, both have good views of their vineyard.

Only disappointment was the standard of the coffee, which could have been better.

Also recommend if you are looking for a wedding venue as they have been great in all our dealings so far.

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had my wedding here on the weekend and it's no wonder Zonzo are massive ABIA winners. Everyone LOVED the food, service was immaculate, and a truly spectacular setting. The wedding coordinator was fantastic every step of the way, always checking I had enough to eat and drink all night. Plenty of food, much more than there would be at a typical reception sit down venue, guests raved about it. Pizzas are out of this world and so tasty, the food is really fresh. Can't recommend it enough for lunch or an afternoon session. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bring your earmuffs. . . and your patience!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Took a Yarra Valley Sunday outing with friends and decided, based on Tripadviser reviews, to take a late lunch at Zonzo's. First impressions were (thinking back now) a portent of things to come. A large modern cattle shed with college canteen arranged rows of tables. Packed. Noisy. Children running all over the place. Eventually a kind waitress took pity on us and led us to our booked table. Second issue: we were seated 30m away from the noisiest kitchen I've heard - pot and pans crashing, bottles falling, general chorus of hysteria. Finally after several attempts, got a wait's attention and ordered our drinks. More delay until we caught someone's eye and ordered our meal: couple of pizzas for our friends, lamb shanks for the wife, spare ribs for me. Then the wait . . . . oh! you still here. Well, the food did arrive. Eventually. Pizzas WERE COLD. Shanks and ribs were reasonable but unimaginatively presented. Just brown lumps on the plates. No garnish. No nothing. No pepper or salt on the table. And hey! where are our drinks? Had to ask 3 separate wait staff before they finally arrived.
So what's the deal with this place that people rave about? Maybe we'll go back again to find out. NOT!! Plenty of great grazing elsewhere in the valley or the glen.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The beautiful Yarra Valley can be enjoyed and viewed on the drive to this great restaurant. Road signage good prior to turning into winery. Parking easy. Signage to restaurant easy to follow. Staff very welcoming, they were very efficient, pleasant and competent. Menu quite broad, antipasta platter provided a good variety and choice. Loved the availability of small sharing plates .... All very nicely presented. Good value for money. Would recommend and return to enjoy wonderful view over vineyards ..... delightful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zonzo Estate Yarra Valley also viewed

Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Zonzo Estate Yarra Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing