We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel in centre of town”
Review of Burkes Hotel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burkes Hotel Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yarrawonga
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good motel in centre of town”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed in Burkes on our trip from Adelaide to Sydney.
Hotel/motel is in a good central location. We stayed in motel part at back of hotel which is clean but a little old. Beds were comfy
Bistro in hotel was very good and a comfortable place to spend the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here two nights recently to attend an important family function nearby. We booked the Superior room out the back of the hotel at $140 per night and had reasonable expectations. The room had been recently slightly refurbished and was clean and spacious. A basic cereal and toast breakfast was included. We really expected more for the price. It was mid winter and the room was freezing. The room had a very 12 foot or more high ceiling and an air conditioning unit was situated almost at the top of the ceiling. We had this unit running all day and night could not get the room warm as all the hot air rose. We stuffed cushions to block the draft under the door and close the curtains to no avail and the bathroom was even colder. The room had tea and coffee making but no biscuits, there was no shampoo, hairdryer or iron and I dont think I was expecting too much for the price to have these included, much cheaper motels I have stayed in have had these things available. A trip to reception ascertained they didnt even have a hair dryer or an iron to borrow so i couldnt wash my hair, dry it or iron our party clothes. On the positive side the bed was comfortable. I would look for an alternative next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I went there with another couple for the first time for dinner. Fortunately we took our friends advice and had booked for dinner because when we go there is was packed by 6.30 p.m.. The cost of the speacials list is $10.00 and a good variety of meals is listed from Fish to Liver and Bacon. We ordered from this list and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of the meals. Well worth checking out this list first. I did see the parma on a neighbouring table and it was huge. The steaks I have been told are thick and juicy and are cooked to YOUR requirements and not what the chef thinks. The other meals on the menu are reasonably priced. There is alo a good selection of desserts at a reasonable price of around $7.50 each. My advice is to book early for dinner say around six thirty in order to get a table and this place fills up very quickly. Service by the waitresses is good and they bring the meals to you within about ten minutes of ordering.

Room Tip: Please read other reviews if you are wanting to stay there. Remember this is a Hotel "pub&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The ground floor accommodation was located at the rear of the old style and renovated Bourkes Hotel. Rooms comfortable, spacious and clean with on site open air parking available outside your room. Located in the centre of town. Basic light continental style breakfast available in Bistro. They have a great menu for lunch and dinner, although I was a bit late for dinner and the restaurant had closed by 8.30pm. A hotel I would easier return and stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touring1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a good country hotel,nothing flash,but clean ,quiet and amiable reception staff. The dinner was good,breakfast standard "continental" breakfast provided by a cooperative industrious worker was fine.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms were fine. I did not check the "out the back" motel units
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Love this place!!! Staff are friendly - food is great - place is clean - we could not ask for anything more - definite value for moeny! Thank you Burkes.. We will be back again and again - for anyone who does not know - you have to try their half price steak nights on a wenesday night.... you will not be disappointed - my hubby loves the 600 gram steak (too much for me) and he raves about it every time we stay - so do youreselves a favour and visit Burkes - le them know that they were recommended here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here during our last visit.

Staff are great.

Food is great! We were made to feel at home. The 1/2 price steak on a Wednesday night is excellent value for money. You must book though, we didnt mind the wait, but if you have young children, get in early (and that is menat as a positive, not a negative) Generally a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarrawonga
0.6 mi away
Club Mulwala
Club Mulwala
#1 of 5 in Mulwala
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Yarrawonga Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#3 of 5 in Yarrawonga
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yarrawonga Hotel
Yarrawonga Hotel
#1 of 4 in Yarrawonga
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmore Motor Inn
Belmore Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Yarrawonga
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Motel
Quality Motel
#2 of 4 in Yarrawonga
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkes Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkes Hotel Motel

Property: Burkes Hotel Motel
Address: 96 Belmore St, Yarrawonga, Victoria 3730, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Moira Shire > Yarrawonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Yarrawonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Burkes Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burkes Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing