We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much improved since last visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Much improved since last visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I posted a review of this property on TripAdvisor almost ten years ago. My opinion of this place has done a 180-degree turn. For a hotel with over 2000 rooms, the service here is outstanding. Food in every restaurant was outstanding. Room service was as good as I've had in any hotel I've ever been to. Yes, everything about the place is grossly overpriced. But I'm afraid supply and demand is a factor here.

The place is so massive, I was nervous about checking in. But somehow they make it easy. If you are self parking, there is a place where they let you park your car for 15 minutes while you check in.

Rooms are very nice. Only slightly dated things are the beds and end tables. One notable negative about Opryland Resort: the beds and pillows; they are not comfortable.

We were there during the Christmas lights. Noticeable difference between night and day. At night, the place is teeming with tourists. In the morning, mainly just hotel guests are there. So you don't have the huge crowds.

The place is beautiful. Of course, this is a place where you want a room looking over the interior of the building. They gave us a free upgrade upon check-in. It was my birthday and they went out of their way to get balloons for me. One of the front desk people purchased some balloons off the property, on her own time, for my wife to give to me. They do not keep balloons there.

The service, food, rooms and overall property here are outstanding. To get in the Christmas spirit, I think I would choose Opryland over other Southern locales as Asheville or Madison, Ga. Yes, it is pricey. The $18 resort fee is a joke. Most of the items covered by the fee are free of charge at other properties. But you only live once.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,400
    2,525
    1,384
    783
    645
See reviews for
2,055
1,922
170
3,143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visited the Opryland resort for the weekend. Specifically, we saw the Rockettes (worth the money) and then toured the hotel. It worked out perfectly because the weather was cold and damp. The room was a standard room- nothing to write home about. However, it was fantastic being able to walk around completely inside. We ate at the Wasabi Sushi place. Food was good but a tad bit on the expensive side. We spent most of our time walking around looking at the lights and taking pictures. It is obvious that going to Gaylord is a date night for a lot of people and young folk which gives it a nice atmosphere. We only stayed one night but it was worth the drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank davidbaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just returned from 5 wonderful days at Opryland Resort. The decorations are unbelievable, nativity scene included. Went to the Lorrie Morgan dinner show which was wonderful. Saw the Rockettes, ICE and a carriage ride pulled it all together. Looking forward to next year when I will do it all again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the atrium, it's worth it.;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spartanburg, south carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

As everyone states the hotel is beautiful. The lights and decorations are gorgeous. Customer service on the other hand needs work. We were there for the Sunday School Publishing Board Conference (SSPB). We made the reservations through the hotel number given. On check-in Ms. Stevie was very nice. I explained to her that we were with the Sunday School Publishing Board Conference and should not be taxed. I am on oxygen and asked that our party, three rooms, be on the same floor and close to the convention center. We ended up the 4th floor D4163 not close, and the rest of our party ended up on the 3rd floor closer to the convention center. Upon check-out with Ms. Samatha stated we owed $63.00. I explained to her that we were with the SSPB Conference located here in TN and we should not be charged taxes. She called a Ms. Kim McClanahan whom stated that we needed to fax our 501-3c. We did as she asked. Instead of Ms. McClanahan stating that she could not do anything with the document because it was from another state, she placed it in a locked box for shredding that no one could open. Ms. Samantha thought this was hilarious. She and Ms. McClananhan laughed on the phone while my husband and I stood there. Finally, my husband pointed out a manager. We went over to Ms. ViVi's front desk and she called over the manager. Ms. Cherice was very professional, she introduced herself and put out her hand to shake. She then asked us the problem and stated she would call Accounting to see what she could do. Accounting stated that we need a copy of the check the church paid with and a copy of the 501-3c that Ms. McClananhan had thrown away without our permission. Again, I called the church and had the docment faxed straight to Ms. Cherice. Since I always travel with with my copies of paperwork in case of a problem, I had a copy of the check. We had to pay tax, but not $60.00 worth of taxes. We truly thank Ms. Cherice and Ms. ViVi for their assistance. This is what we expect from Marriott hotels and especially one of such high caliber. The SSPB attendees were all having the same problem. Hopefully, SSPB can find a different location next year in Nashville to hold this conference.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is clean, rooms are stylish and comfortable with great housekeeping . Restaurant choices are numeroous but very overpriced, even for major hotel standards. The check in process is painful, a long wait in line, poor staff attitude. Despite 3 duplicate confirmations of my room request for a King room, my request was not granted. I was told that none would be available but I could check back with registration daily. Even though we expressed our disappointment, especially for my very tall husband who needs the length of a King bed, no apologies were made. Thought things would be better with Marriott managing this hotel than when we were there a few years ago, but this was not the case. Only reason to stay here is for a Convention, otherwise go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, DE
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is our 4th or 5th trip to Opryland but never came during the Christmas season....what a treat! The lights were fabulous.....the nativity scene and more lighting outside was awesome! What's not to love at Gaylord Opryland? Every restaurant on scene is fabulous -- there's something for everyone. We saw the Rockettes next door at the Grand Ol' Opry which was worth the price of admission, so to speak. They were beyond delightful ! It's quite crowded around Thanksgiving but we enjoyed the hustle and bustle....it's part of the season! The only negative would be that our room really was "standard" -- nothing as special as you would expect on this grand property. I recommend going a little higher in price and get the balcony room(s) -- next time, we hope to do just that!

Room Tip: Get a "view room" -- all the high balcony rooms looked to have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Loved staying here. Our first time but would recommend everyone to go. Lights bright and every where indoors and outside. I felt like a child going looking for lights. I would recommend Ice Frosty the Snow man, New York Rocketts, and the outside Nativity Scene going to see them even if you can't stay all were outstanding! Food was delicious and our server was excellent. We tried room service was good and pretty fast and good food. Overall wonderful place!

Room Tip: We actually did not use the Spa but know place to mark did not participate,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Opryland, A Gaylord Hotel
5.9 mi away
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Music City Hotel
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#49 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing