We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost excellent but....”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Entering the hotel lobby was a surprise just because of the volume of guests checking in. It felt like you are in an airport with a long line to the counter. We arrived Friday night and maybe because it was a weekend, there were more people but they could have opened up the other counters so check-in would be faster.
Despite the wait, the hotel itself is impressive with acres of plants, flowers, waterfalls and river at its center. Some of the rooms have balconies overlooking the gardens and restaurants below. The whole facility is temp controlled so you do not feel the heat outside but a downside to this is even when the air conditioning is turned off, you still feel cold especially in the middle of the night. Our room was adequate with a mini refrigerator and wi-fi is free. There are restaurants inside the hotel but they are a bit pricey and parking is also pricey. The hotel itself is beautiful though and my only complaint is that it took them a while to clean the room. We left in the morning and came back after lunch with our room not yet cleaned. We left again and came back in the evening finding it cleaned but the dirty linens, towels and pizza box from our dinner the night before outside our door. We assumed that the hotel is so large, it must take time for them to clean it out BUT when until we checked out, the dirty linens, towels, and pizza box remained outside our door. The housekeeping crew and some clean-up people passed by it a couple of times, but I guess nobody was proactive enough to tell the management that it was there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALCabotaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,490
    2,584
    1,412
    796
    658
See reviews for
2,101
1,950
176
3,236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very beautiful place! Also very large. The staff were always so polite and helpful. The restaurants on site are also top notch! It it somewhat pricey, but can get a really good price if you time it right.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred_Landry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed our on-site restaurants and that our STARS (employees) were friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gaylord Opryland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here three nights this week because of a convention that was held here- two adults and two children between ages of 4 and 12. I read many of the reviews on here before we went. The acres and acres of plants, waterfalls, fish, river, etc. are really a must-see. The hotel is very large...so be aware that lots of walking will be involved.

There are several shops and restaurants on site. The restaurants are VERY VERY pricey! $15 for a waffle pricey. There is a mini-fridge in the room but no microwave. I suggest at least bringing your own drinks. The self-parking is $21 a day...also pricey. Our room was very clean and had nice beds. I didn't hear any noise from other rooms.

We had no problem checking in but it was late at night. It looked really busy at a peak time. We used express check-out which was easy and convenient. I used "consider it done" several times...they were always very helpful and friendly.

The pools were nice. There are two outdoor pool areas, an indoor pool, and a whirlpool. Hotel towels are available for use in the pool areas.

My opinion is that this would be a great place to experience at least one night to enjoy the grounds but I wouldn't want to stay very long because of the high cost involved. The cost is what caused me to give it a "4" instead of a "5".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Jen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback, and for staying at Gaylord Opryland. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our nine acres of indoor gardens and waterfalls and that our "Consider It Done" team was friendly, helpful and prompt. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed at the Gaylord Opryland a few times and am still impressed. The rooms are very quiet and the service is fantastic. The bed are comfortable and the staff does a great job of making sure you have what you need. It is a huge hotel so I would recommend you try to stay in Cascades as you are closer to the main lobby. It is a classic example of Southern Hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Cascades section but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisdom2010swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words and for your loyalty to Gaylord Opryland. We are so pleased to hear that our STARS (employees) continue to meet your service expectations, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is surreal. Admittedly, the south is not known for consistent weather, so being in a giant glass dome that has an entire hotel, convention center, and multiple restaurants certainly has its advantages. Still, the biosphere feel of the place leaves something to be desired. I'm not sure I would choose to stay here again on my own, but for my convention it was a decent spot. The restaurants are quite overpriced for the quality of the food (think California prices for land-locked sushi), but at least there are enough of them that a large convention does not overwhelm the places. Many of the restaurants don't serve food or alcohol past midnight, so the late-night crowd would be much better served by the downtown part of Nashville. Speaking of downtown, if you stay at Opryland you are nowhere near the main part of Nashville, so you have to pay for a shuttle to get downtown. Opryland is walking distance to the Grand Ole Opry (which I visited) and a Dukes of Hazzard museum (which I regrettably did not).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We loved this hotel. Stayed during the Christmas decoration times and it was so beautiful. Enjoyed the boat ride and just walking through all the plush, green plants. Our hotel room was nice. The pool is marvelous. Valet had our auto to us super quick, each time we rang for it. Only problem we had is that we had booked two rooms and ask that they be close together, instead we were a good 20 minute walk from one another. Also mall is really close. Food was a bit pricey but good. Loved the fountain show.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for sharing. The holiday season is our favorite time of year, and we always enjoy hearing when our guests create wonderful memories during that time. We hope to welcome your family back to Gaylord Opryland for this year's A Country Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I can't criticise the cleanliness or comfort of the rooms here it's just that the whole place is very odd indeed. Acres of indoor water features with boats on that people take guided tours on - honest! A guided tour of something utterly man made and false, couldn't believe it. The restaurants and generally OK but busy and with poor service. The noise of running water and waterfalls is sometimes deafening. Couldn't wait for my wroking days to finish so I could get out of the air con and do something normal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#50 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing