We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium Experience on a Big Scale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Premium Experience on a Big Scale”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I had an opportunity to stay at the Gaylord Opryland Resort this month for a Dealer meeting for the first time. The resort is beyond big it has 2000+ rooms and there was plenty of restaurants and shops within its walls. At first I found it a little intimidating to find all of the convention centre rooms however everything was well laid out with signage on all the walkways. The staff were very nice and approachable.

The food offered for breakfast and lunch was ok if you like lots of cheese and mayo. The rooms were clean and quite and the HVAC had the ability to make a penguin feel right at home. My only real critique is that the hotel does not offer a complimentary airport shuttle, the one offered costs approx $35.

Room Tip: The AC has the ability to turn the rooms into an ice box if you are not careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWhiteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,582
    2,637
    1,449
    811
    675
See reviews for
2,170
2,003
178
3,297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,943)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Husband was attending a conference here last week, and although we weren't quick enough to get rooms whilst it was on, we managed to check in the day it finished, and stay for the weekend after.

It's a bit overwhelming if you're not used to big resorts - having done both Atlantis sites, we're ready for most things. The initial drive up to the hotel can be confusing - there is one lane for "valet parking & taxis", and the other is marked "Staff" - so which to use if you want to check in, then take your own car to the (expensive) car park isn't obvious. $21 seems a lot for a day parking, especially when the website says $18. We had to queue for check in - though the "Rewards" counters were empty. It would also help if there were dedicated counters to check out from too. And if you have the $50 resort credit, make sure to check they've applied it before you pay the bill.

Apparently there is a premium for rooms overlooking the atrium - can't think why - those waterfalls are all very impressive, however they are noisy - and I never saw anyone sat on their balcony. Our Magnolia 5th floor room overlooked the conference centre, which was actually OK - no balcony though - but as the IT conference had finished, and the Harley one hadn't started, it was quiet. Room was fairly standard Marriott fayre - king size bed, my pillow preference used. Bathroom wasn't huge, with a sink opposite the wardrobe, a one-cup coffee maker - no tea available - and the vanity mirror is in with the other sink - so gets fogged up - and means you can't do your face whilst husband shaves etc. And this is the second hotel I've been in recently that has body lotion, hair conditioner - but no shower gel? Who wants to use a body scrub bar on sunburn?

There was a fridge - which we forgot to empty when we checked out - and safe, and plenty of drawer space. Controls for the air con could do with being bigger - difficult to navigate without squinting!

We used some of the bars and eating areas during our stay - there are screens telling you which are open each day - though I would have preferred this to also tell me which had live music each night, I would have expected some kind of daily magazine/info sheet available, either posted to the room, or electronically somewhere. Findleys Irish bar was fine, Jack Daniels was good, from what I saw the food was good, and the service friendly. The Fuse was a big let down - this has apparently just been moved from a previous location, and refurbished - service at the bar is no problem, however once past that point, it goes to pieces. Orders are forgotten, food is cold when it arrives, and staff seem bewildered.

We had breakfast in the Cascades Cafe - the only buffet option, which for a place this size, seems short-thinking. You sit among the waterfalls, which sounds like a nice concept, but as the place is enclosed by that glass roof, it's really noisy. Buffet was limited to just cooked items - no bread for toast and only sweet pastries. Staff will recommend you the crab eggs benedict, being the most expensive option on the menu, which were just ok, with eggs being overcooked. The alternative to breakfast are the coffee shops, which dont have enough seating to warrant being called a dining option, imo.

There are 2 pool areas, both - cosy. The Magnolia pool is only open from 10am, likely because it's in a courtyard surrounded by rooms, and it then closes at 6pm - also I assume to prevent upsetting guests. Though to be fair, by 4pm in August, it had lost all the sun anyway. There are 2 pools - one small one for children, and a slightly bigger one for everyone else - with one end being a respectable 9 feet deep. The other pool area is pretty much in the car park - you have to go via the spa to reach it, and it's real small. Loungers are cheek by jowl - no peace and quiet here. Certainly not what I would have expected for a resort this size.

Being next door to the Grand Old Opry is cool, though again, I would have expected to see some kind of entertainment guide to what was on - and the Opry Mall next door to this is worth a visit.

The hotel is good 20 minute drive to downtown Nashville, expect to pay at least $25 plus tip. Same for the airport, which is only 10 minutes away.

Would we visit again? Probably - I liked being out of the city, and walking distance to the Mall!

Room Tip: Higher up probably less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

First of all I have to say that this resort is absolutely beautiful. We used valet parking upon arriving ($28 per day) and we stayed at the resort all weekend enjoying the food and scenery, just relaxed! Check in was speedy and we were off to our room. My only negative about our stay was the bed. It wasn't very comfortable, we only had 2 small pillows, and no comforter left me cold. There is only a sheet and one blanket. Upon calling the front desk, they brought me another blanket. The bed just lacked overall comfort for the cost we paid per night. We also had issues with the TV lagging which was frustrating, but we didn't bother reporting it and having someone come out. Otherwise, the room is beautiful and we enjoyed the peacefulness of the balcony with atrium view. We walked the resort and took in the beauty of all of the waterfalls, flowers, and peaceful benches to sit and just talk. We also enjoyed breakfast both morning at Cascades. Wow. You have to go here - the menu items are so yummy. Solario for dinner Saturday evening was very romantic and again, another amazing meal. We were so impressed. We then walked over to the Delta to watch the water show and then rode the Delta riverboats which was short but romantic and informative. Lastly we enjoyed cheesecake and coffee at Cascades. This place is great for romance and delicious meals. I just wish it was a more comfortable nights sleep for what we paid. Everyone should stay here at least once though!

Room Tip: The atrium rooms have balconies and are very nice, higher rooms have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiSnEyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

You can't argue that the fact that this hotel is very interesting and a destination unto itself. For that it gets a very good rating. We had a cascade balcony room on the 3rd floor. Nice look into the atrium but it was a bit noisy at bedtime with carts and voices coming from the atrium. The room itself was spacious with a king bed but the bathroom was tiny. One person at a time for sure. We have been here a few times in the past and it has always been busy and pretty consistent. Room was relatively clean except for the coffee stains on the wall by the wastebasket and a few carpet stains as well.

The atrium bar was packed but we did manage to find a seat and get served. The waitress was very friendly and got our drinks quickly which earned her a good tip.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony room ask for the 5th floor or higher to keep the noise at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

While this hotel is lovely on the inside with the gardens, waterfalls, and lovely shops, the rooms are overpriced and average. We waited in line for over 40 minutes in our car just to reach the front door and try to get in the hotel to check in. Once we reached the valet service and got into the hotel, it was so packed we waited another 45 minutes in line to check in. We were there during the middle of the week. I can't begin to imagine the crowds on a weekend.
We had great difficulty finding our room because the place is so huge, but could not find anyone to ask for help. I would never stay here again.
The valet staff was the bright side to our stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps one that overlooks the main garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxgate16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Gaylord Opryland. We were sorry to discover that you were made to wait longer than anticipated while entering the parking lot and at check-in. The lines do get long from time to time but we are usually able to move people through them very quickly. We are pleased you enjoyed the gardens and shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Room prices are reasonable, but the restaurants and everything else is quite expensive. If there were only a casino it would be perfect! Rooms could be cleaner, bathroom had mold in some spots in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardpk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I work for a Corporate Travel Management company and travel frequently for business as well as pleasure. I have never written a review but the room at this hotel was so bad I checked out a day early on this weekend vacation trip.

The room and hallways had an unpleasant odor, the bedding and pillows where not what I'm use to staying at any Marriott/Gaylord property. The windows in the room where filthy. There was a bulb out in the bathroom that never got changed.
I have stayed at the Gaylord in Dallas and I use Marriott properties very often for business and personal travel and I'm usually very happy. I checked out a day early because of the condition of the room and stayed at a Courtyard which was much better.
I'm a Senior Account Manager for a Corporate Travel Management company and would never recommend this property to any individual business travelers or any of the groups that we handle.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with your room and allow us to thank you for your stay with us. At Gaylord Opryland we pride ourselves on being a hotel dedicated to flawless customer service, and it’s clear we did not provide this for you. Our leadership team uses guest feedback like yours to address areas of concern and take corrective measures in order to improve our guests’ experience. We have asked one of our leaders to reach out to you directly to discuss this further. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214-1200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our Nashville hotel's climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover 2,882 guest rooms and 700,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. Near our hotel, take in some of the top attractions in the country like the Grand Ole Opry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing