We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, sub-standard property, "mixed-bag" service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Ranked #50 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at this property for two nights, and, overall, are very disappointed. This property does not meet the standard of most Courtyard by Marriott facilities. On the positive side, the rooms have recently been remodeled. And, the front office staff touts the complementary shuttle service.

Unfortunately, the rooms still have many issues. The toilet did not flush properly, the shower ran out of hot water even before I washed my hair, the vanities are super tiny and it is hard to fit basic grooming accessories on the surface. And, of our two rooms, one had a nice big sliding glass door and small balcony and one had a tiny window and no balcony (making for a very dark room). The beds are very, very, very small (we had two rooms with two double beds) and very cot like.

The shuttle is not reliable. Some of us waited over an hour to be picked up and ended up taking a cab. It is very nice that they offer a shuttle. However, it's like a bait and switch routine. They over promise and under deliver. Bottom line, don't count on the shuttle if your really need to get anywhere on a schedule.

In terms of the staff, it's hot and cold. Some were nice, some were very aloof and rude. In particular, the check-in personnel at the front desk were rather unfriendly. During the course of our visit, they warmed up and became more welcoming and friendly.

We all agreed that we would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if your don't have to!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

The room was newly renovated,but alas,the bed quality was poor.
The girl at the front desk acted quite snobbish and lacked a hospitable attitude.
When we returned to our room that night,someone had vomited in front of the door across the hall from us. At 2am housekeeping was knocking on their door repeatedly and woke us up. I didn't think too much of it at the time because I knew the mess needed attended to. But the next morning much of the dried on mess was still there. So what was housekeeping doing at 2am?
We told the same front desk girl the next morning and she did not even apologize. I feel like she gives the good Marriott name a bad rap. I probably won't stay here again just because of her attitude.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROCKNROLLNURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSJohnston, Director of Sales at Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

First of all, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Secondly, we pride ourselves on our customer service and it is apparent from your review that you did not receive the level of service we expect from our staff. In order to fully understand all details of the situation would you please contact the General Manager, Jeff Charo, either via the phone at (615) 327-9900 or email at jeff.charo@interstatehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We were attending a medical conference at Vanderbilt and booked into the Courtyard Marriot West End property. As promised the hotel was freshly renovated. Our room had a brand new look and smell to it. Okay, it actually seemed as if someone had dropped a bottle of perfume in the room or had applied way too much room freshener.

But, instead of lip service ,the hotel staff was hospitable and addressed our concerns in a fashion that made it clear they took our concerns seriously - and the young gentleman at the front desk reduced our bill to make up for them. We didn't ask for the bill to be reduced the young gentleman at the desk did it on his own motion "to take the sting out of the unpleasant experience."

We had carried our own bags to the valet desk to retrieve our car and the young gentlemen there insisted on taking our bags (which really weren't that much of a burden) and asked my wife is we were returning home directly or if she wanted them arranged in the trunk of our car in any particular way to make things easier on a stopover.

We will go back to this property. Any hotel staff that tries this hard deserves the chance to make up for something they probably couldn't control anyway. Nashville certainly had its manners on display this weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators - for a better nights sleep. And don't be afraid to speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmurphysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Southern hospitality at it's best. Week long stay was great in every way. We combined our Timbercraft Homes Log & Timber Home show weekend with a family trip and we were very happy with everything. The room was comfortable and the staff was very attentive friendly. Shuttle service into town was very convenient.

Room Tip: Tower One has balconies, ask for a room on an upper floor facing the street for a pretty city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location, great weekend, excellent service at the front desk, free shuttle to the downtown legendary bars, restaurants!!!! Rooms were clean and décor was nice. One neat thing, the headboards, which were a built in wall unit, were NOT on a shared wall. Needless to say, I did not have to hear the neighbors. Will definitely stay there again and will recommend to friends. I do have two suggestions: One of the two elevators was not working the entire time we were there, LOONNGG wait at the elevators....they do have a lobby bistro, but I really believe they would get more cocktail business if they more of a bar area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhut32217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed 2 nights while attending a Vanderbilt event. Hotel is two blocks away from the business school / law school end of campus, 6 blocks away from sports stadium. Great location. 20 dining options within a 3 minute walk. The hotel has a nice little bistro downstairs to get a quick coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening.
Room was spacious, clean, well-equipped, nice little courtyard for sitting/chatting outside, decent-size simming pool, decent-size gym open 24/7. Staff was very friendly. Perfectly enjoyable stay - in that price category, it's good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Was able to stay at the Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt West End during a recent weekend visit to Nashville. The property is located within walking distance of Vanderbilt University and within appx a half mile of downtown Nashville. That being said there is a lot of places to see and numerous eating establishments that have a variety of great foods. As far as the hotel is concerned I have stayed there before and the location and price of the rooms is the best things they have going for them. They have recently upgraded the small restaurant inside and it has added a lot to the lobby area. The rooms are adequate enough and the cleanness is up to standard. The biggest drawback I didn't like is they only have valet parking which is very pricy. I ended up parking at the street for free. Overall the property is very adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Nashville at Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End

Address: 1901 West End Avenue, Nashville, TN 37203
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range: £96 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the vibrant Midtown neighborhood, you are in easy reach of some of the area's best entertainment venues when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End. Our Nashville, Tennessee hotel also puts you close to Vanderbilt University, the Ryman Auditorium, and Bridgestone Arena. We are less than 1 mile from the Music City Center, Historic 2nd Avenue, Country Music Hall of Fame, Nissan Stadium, Nashville Convention Center and Centennial Sportsplex with complimentary shuttle service to most local venues. Being in the center of Music City USA, you can listen to live music from your guest room balcony here too. Our Vanderbilt hotel's location is perfect for those who want to walk to many fine Nashville restaurants and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Vanderbilt/West End Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt
Nashville Courtyard
Nashville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing