We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Nashville”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“Best Hotel in Nashville”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I recently stayed at The Hermitage in Nashville and was so happy with the stay. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and you are well taken care of as a guest. This was one of the best hotels I have ever been to and will definitely be staying there again when I go back to Nashville.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmckenna0590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    173
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
253
674
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

From the time we arrived at the door until we drove away the service was Southern hospitality at its finest. The room was large, luxurious and extremely comfortable. The Capitol Grille, within the hotel is the best restaurant in Nashville. I have travelled all over the U.S. and much of the rest of the world and I rate the Hermitage in the top 2 or 3 of the hotels where I have stayed. Also, their room rates, for a 5 star hotel in a major city are quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were at this hotel for only one night but the room was lovely and the staff was very helpful. The lobby was beautiful. We didn't want to leave. The bar was busy and friendly. Breakfast was served in the dining room. A little dark for breakfast but nice nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We were traveling through Nashville in July - really only in the city for about 24 hours - but I wanted to stay in an authentic Nashville Hotel. We ended up booking at the Hermitage and frankly I was just kind of expecting a really nice, old hotel in the city. Well - it was all of those things - it was REALLY nice - actually beautiful. The lobby was a work of art. And the rooms were HUGE. It's really hard to justify in words - but everything about the rooms went above and beyond. It was very historic and old but kept up emmaculately. They had books in the room which shared the history of the Hermitage and were erally neat to flip through. The location was also great. Our room had a view of the capital building and we walked down to Broadway which has all the bars and stuff. So all of these things exceeded my expectations.

But what really made this SUCH a special experience was the staff. When we rolled into town we had just completed a week long RV trip and were just staying for the night before flying out the next evening. My point being that we arrived in a taxi WAY underdressed for a place like this. But the staff were SO friendly and helpful - especially the guys at the door. And not in a "I get paid to be friendly and helpful so I have to be" kind of way. It was very genuine. Every time we arrived and left their friendliness was exceptional. They gave us advice on where to go to dinner - helped us with luggage - all of which I realize are common - but it was their attitude that made it exceptional. And this was during several different shifts - so not just the same 2 guys. Our stay here ended a week long trip perfectly and we still talk about how much we liked it! I would highly recommend to anyone.

p.s. The rooms are so big that if you are traveling with kids you will have PLENTY of space to spread out. My kids favorite part of the hotel? tv's in the bathroom... :)

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the capital
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjp0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Very special hotel with exceptional staff. We unfortunately were only in our room briefly as we were moving our daughter into college. This is a place you want to visit for a celebration! Everything about it is lovely!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threekidsplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

If you want awesome service, beautiful historic hotel and beautiful rooms, stay here. Our first stay here & loved it! We will definitely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phylwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
212 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Aren't many "luxury" hotels in Nashville to choose from - the Hermitage is a very nice city hotel with a great lobby and nice service. location is convenient with close proximity to the district.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALRHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 155 in Nashville
5,366 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,741 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 155 in Nashville
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#20 of 155 in Nashville
1,061 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Thompson Nashville
#8 of 155 in Nashville
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing