We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel! The hotel has that wonderful old world glamor. The lobby is stunning! The all the staff is very gracious, and welcoming. The rooms vary in size, some have more windows than others, all rooms are nicely appointed. The bathrooms are large very nice. There is a lovely turn-down service in the evening. We did not eat at the hotel, but Nashville has wonderful restaurants and the staff can take care of making reservations for you. The hotel is centrally located to walk to many attractions in the city, but that depends on how much you like to walk and if you don't mind small hills. There is a nice coffee service in the morning and in the afternoon in the fall very nice hot cider and yummy cookies. Restaurants we tried were Puckett's for lunch, Loveless Cafe and Pancake Pantry for breakfast, Germantown Cafe, Sunset Grille and Park Cafe. I would go back to all but the biscuits at the Loveless Cafe were not what people have raved about.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    175
    51
    34
    20
See reviews for
261
693
44
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I write this review because I would like to warn anyone who is considering staying in this hotel to consider other options. I am have traveled to most cities within the US and abroad and this was by far the worst experience I have ever had. My girlfriends and I flew into town to see Nashville and were incredibly excited about staying at the Hermitage, in fact I had done much research to ensure our stay would be the highlight of our trip. We upgraded to a very nice suite to accommodate us. We went out that evening and we were up late visiting and laughing, no music, no drinking, nothing we were just in the lounge area talking. We were then given a noise complaint, after our noise complaint we were upset because we felt we had done no wrong however, we had another knock on the door with another warning and we went to bed. We were all sound asleep when the "room service attendees" told us we had 20 minutes to leave or we would be arrested. I have never been threatened in that way or even had a minor run in with the law.

They stood with the door open to the hallway as we threw our things together in a haze and ran us out of the hotel like we were criminals. As we were leaving and in tears a guest yelled "Have fun in California you w***es!" Needless to say, I was absolutely appalled. I have never in my life been spoken to in such a manner and I am not from California so the comment truly was shocking.

We were then thrown into an already waiting cab that drove us to a Holiday Inn in the downtown Nashville which is incredibly unsafe. If things were not already bad enough the cab driver took off with a bag of my things including my work laptop that held all of my work documents. So, we were thrown out of the Hermitage hotel at 5 am, thrown into a waiting car, left at a Holiday Inn, and robbed.

The Hermitage hotel never called us for a follow up, never responded to our theft, never answered anything for us but they wanted to charge us for the full stay! After everything they are trying to charge us $1,500 a night for 3 nights! Currently, we are working with the police and American Express to drop them from a sponsored luxury hotel. This is to warn you please do not stay at the Hermitage Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
For our current and future guests, we take the comfort of our visitors very seriously. Our policy about excessive noise is clearly stated on our registration cards that are signed by all guests at the time of check in. At the time of a complaint, we go immediately to the room that is being disruptive and ask the guests to quiet down. In almost all cases this is enough. Of course, it is always our goal to resolve these situations without asking guests to leave. However, when guests refuse to quiet down and escalate the noise level, our hands are tied. It is extremely rare, but from time to time, circumstances arise in which a person or persons will be asked to leave a hotel to ensure other guests enjoy their stay.

Though this particular review is riddled with missing details and inaccuracies, intentional or not, the fact remains that we will not tolerate guests whose behavior is disruptive to other guests. If anyone reading this has ever stayed at a hotel where someone was loud at 3:00 in the morning, I am sure they will understand why hotels have these policies. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you to The Hermitage Hotel.

Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
jkurtz@thehermitagehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I recently stayed at this property, having been told that it is the only 5-star hotel in the state of Tennessee. It had a beautiful southern interior but I wasnt even greeted by a bellman at the front door upon arrival. We stayed for a few nights and I noticed small red bumps on my body and my husband's towards the end of the stay. We brought it to the hotel staff's attention and they completely dismissed us. Upon returning home we went to the doctor who informed us it in fact bed bugs. We've had to exterminate our entire house for bed bugs!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CaliTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
This response is presented for the purpose of information, hopefully of interest to hotel users at large, to our possible future guests, and to our many thousands of returning guests. First, our ongoing practice for pest prevention is proactive and is administered by a nationally recognized, licensed provider. In the rare instance of a claim by a guest or employee, the room involved is locked, inspected by two trained members of our staff, and then by the pest control provider. The results are then shared with the complainant, and we, as an extra measure of safety, have the pest control company re-treat the room. Finally, to date, we have not experienced a verified infestation in any room.

We would still love the opportunity to respond directly to the user who posted this review. Though there is not any specific contact information or other details regarding this stay, we do intend to treat this, and any other claims seriously. Current and future guests can rest assured that The Hermitage Hotel is the top place to stay in Nashville.

Sincerely,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
jkurtz@thehermitagehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

It began with the genuinely friendly welcome at the door and the help getting to Registration. And it continued at the registration desk -- warmth, hospitality and willingness to help. Plus efficiency -- I was in my room very quickly. The room was commodious, comfortable and very well-appointed. When I needed coffee at 4 AM, they got it, even though room service begins later. No "we're closed, call back later." The restaurant serving breakfast was bright, cheery, crisp and also very friendly. The food is excellent. On a previous stay I had a chance to enjoy the bar. Also a pleasure. And finally the check-out. Quick, efficient and easy, but most of all they make you want to get back as soon as you can. This hotel is a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stay at the Hermitage every time I travel to Nashville, TN. It is an excellent hotel from the rooms to the staff! Expect elegance and great service!

In addition, check out the Capital Grill in their lower level for a drink and or a bite to eat at the bar with Deb .... she is a delight!

Fantastic hotel pick!!!

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" •"Corner suites are large and sunny"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A very special place to stay while in Nashville. The best of the best. Rooms are wonderfully appointed with great views. All the added touches make it a place you want to lounge and spoil yourself or spouse.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I would NEVER have anticipated this property: impeccable service from hello to goodbye; fantastic room; The restaurant is an absolute knock out.
I loved this place and it was walking distance to everything.
Don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilsProdigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,585 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,809 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 155 in Nashville
1,133 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Hutton Hotel
#15 of 155 in Nashville
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing