We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite hotel in Nashville”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Nashville”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is phenominal. I stay here once or twice a year for business, and it is a real treat each time. This is an old school hotel; very elegant, beautifully restored and kept, with a staff that is top notch. It's also right downtown, less than a 5 minute walk to Broadway where all the restaurants/bars/nightlife are.

You will be greeted promptly curbside, asked your name, and when you walk up the stairs of the beautiful lobby, you are then greeted by name at the front desk upon check in. Also, as a thank you/welcome back, they had left personalized stationery on the desk in my room this time.

The entire staff here is highly trained and it shows. Plus, they're EVERYWHERE throughout the hotel, always asking if they can help with anything.

The rooms/bathroom are beautiful and comfortable. The bed is out of this world. I suffer from chronic low back pain and these beds actually relieve my pain. I believe they're the same mattresses used at Four Seasons hotels, and you can buy them through the gift shop (they're not avail for sale to the general public). My only "complaint" is I noticed the last few stays that the carpet in the room should probably be replaced. Other than that everything is perfect.

If you're going to Nashville and are willing to pay more $$, stay at the Hermitage, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT on the inside/courtyard side of the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdbrln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    171
    47
    32
    20
See reviews for
252
665
43
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We wanted to give my cousin the best for her Bachelorette Party and that's exactly what we did! Arriving at this hotel with gift bags of half naked men doesn't really go over too well though lol.
This hotel is gorgeous and the rooms were big and very comfortable.

Now for the bad... We were threatened to be kicked out twice by the concierge. The first time for being loud but I am not really sure what the second time was for? There was only 3 of us in the room and we were being anything but loud!

But in their defense they did let us have full run of the hotel lobby at 3:00 a.m. 18 girls and booze with pizza..we were very grateful!

I would stay here again but not for a crazy girls weekend..there are better options in Nashville for that I'm sure;)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathdatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What a great hotel. Liked everything about it. All staff were courteous and accommodating and well trained on how to perform their jobs. Our room was very spacious, nicely decorated, and had all the amenities needed to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Had a desk for computer use, plenty of storage and drawer space for your clothes and other items, a safe, and a seating area that you could sit and relax. The lighting over the the bed was excellent for reading and the large flatscreen TV was a plus. The bathroom was a good size and had all the amenities you need. The shower was the greatest - water flow from shower head was perfect. We really liked how quiet the room was - no noise from the the next door rooms or the hallway and very little from the outside. The hotel is close enough to walk to the downtown attractions and honky tonks and the area around the hotel(the capitol complex is behind it) is safe. The room and the entire hotel were very clean. We went to the Oak Bar one night and the food and service were excellent. The gym was well equipped and clean. The lemonade and cookies provided each day in the lobby was a nice touch. Definitely one of the top three hotels we have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby is grand and elegant. The small gift shop carries very cute dresses and jewelry. Sadly, they were putting super cute and well priced earrings on 50% off in favor of "local designers" whose earrings and crafts composed of circles and homesy designs were not as elegant as those more traditional pieces they were phasing out of. But, I digress, the room was spacious, the bathroom marble and the turn down service had both cookies and water (now you usually get either/or in hotels). This is an absolutely marvelous hotel.

Room Tip: I believe there may be rooms with views. Specify this if you want a view, as our room looked out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Beautiful Hotel in Nashville! Very luxurious room! Great location near downtown attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights. This hotel certainly deserves its high rating. From the from door where we were met the friendly, efficient and knowledgeable staff to the excellent front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, we were made to feel like we were the most important guests at the hotel. The rooms were spacious, very well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We had drinks in the Oak Bar and dinner at the Capitol Grille. Everything was just as you would expect in a property like this. If your staying in Nashvliie, this is the place to stay. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Recently stayed for 3 nights in this grand hotel. It was wonderful! From the moment your drive up, to being escorted to your room.....everyone is professional and welcoming. If not staying, just a visit would be warranted.....not to miss out! Linens, towels, bathroom ammenties, superb! Housekeeping, one of the best! Reason for 4 vs 5 star, view was quiet not there....outside windows do need cleaning. That aside, you WILL BE impressed. Also, Vicky the concierge is a true, knowledgable professional. Very sweet and easy personality. Do not miss out on viewing the men's bathroom by the bar....even as a woman.....it must be viewed (just make sure no guys are in there at the time).

Room Tip: higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,221 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing