We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great despite 100+ weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
300 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great despite 100+ weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Perfect hotel. Really no need to repeat what others have said but service was cheerful, friendly without being intrusive and professional. The room and the entire hotel was spotless as well as gorgeous. The bathroom in our standard king room was enormous with two sinks, a tub and separate shower. We walked to Broadway to the honkytonks, which are only a few blocks away, to the Country Music Hall of Fame (a must even if you aren't into country music) and also walked to the Vanderbilt neighborhood (even in the extreme heat). The Parthenon replica in Centennial Park across from Vanderbilt is definitely worth a visit-- we almost skipped it-- for the structure itself, the exhibit on the Centennial and the art exhibits. Grand Old Opry was a hoot--it is out of town and if you don't have a car it's. $25 cab ride but we thought it was worth it for the experience. Overall, The Hermitage Hotel and Nashville have been an extremely enjoyable experience ( despite the heat).

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    166
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
653
43
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel was absolutely perfect. I have thought long and hard and cannot come up with one complaint about our stay here. My mom had purchased a family trip to Nashville for everyone for Christmas, there were 8 of us, all adults. Each one of us shared the same opinion of the Hermitage (and it is very tough to get us to all see eye to eye - we are a family, as all do we disagree on everything!), but we all loved every second of our stay! When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff - I even said at one point during our trip that I felt like they wanted us to ask questions, they seemed so happy to have us staying there. The hotel itself celebrated its 100th anniversary only 2 years ago, and the decor was fabulous- vintage and beautiful. The rooms were large and we comfortably fit 4 in each room. We raved all week about how well we were sleeping on such comfortable mattresses- I even found all the information on the bedding in the boutique so that I could have it all at home! We enjoyed coffee and tea each morning by the lobby, and each night we arrived back to a room with soft music playing, cookies and water at the bedside, and a robe and slippers laid out- I felt like a queen! My sister in law raved about the bathroom all week, and she was right - it was great! The bathroom had a large tub, separate room for the toilet, and a shower with great water pressure - very important in my opinion! There was also a television in each bathroom and a full length mirror in each room. I could go on and on about the little details that made our stay here absolutely perfect! We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, but some have a pretty view of the State Capital!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband loves visiting Nashville to catch the local music scene and we have stayed at two different hotels prior to staying at the Hermitage and they were fine, but our stay at the Hermitage was incredible. The staff was so friendly and helpful and remembered our names throughout our stay. The lobby was gorgeous and the room was so large, and the bathroom was beautiful (I am a sucker for a TV in the bathroom.) We ordered room service, and couldn't believe how affordable and delicious it was. Everything from Day 1 until the time we left was just perfect. There is no doubt the next time we are in town we are returning to the Hermitage.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner/end room and it was enormous, but not sure if the rooms in the center of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarSchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel over Memorial Day weekend. Even though the hotel was quite busy, the staff made us feel as if we were the only guests there. The lobby is breath-taking and worth sitting in and enjoying. Our room was fabulous! Deep soaking tub, separate tiled shower, and flat screen tv made the bathroom perfect for relaxing. The coffee and muffins in the lobby were a nice way to start our day.

On a final note, my husband became ill on our second day and had a hot fever. Our bellboy filled a bag with ice and wrapped it in a towel for our trip home. Above and beyond service!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaMom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend at The Hermitage in early May and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff personified southern hospitality.
The location is great, close to The Ryman, Bridgestone Arena and Broadway.
Anyone staying in Nashville should check out The Oak Bar. It is a great place to have drinks - the bartender makes a great Mint Julep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is phenominal. I stay here once or twice a year for business, and it is a real treat each time. This is an old school hotel; very elegant, beautifully restored and kept, with a staff that is top notch. It's also right downtown, less than a 5 minute walk to Broadway where all the restaurants/bars/nightlife are.

You will be greeted promptly curbside, asked your name, and when you walk up the stairs of the beautiful lobby, you are then greeted by name at the front desk upon check in. Also, as a thank you/welcome back, they had left personalized stationery on the desk in my room this time.

The entire staff here is highly trained and it shows. Plus, they're EVERYWHERE throughout the hotel, always asking if they can help with anything.

The rooms/bathroom are beautiful and comfortable. The bed is out of this world. I suffer from chronic low back pain and these beds actually relieve my pain. I believe they're the same mattresses used at Four Seasons hotels, and you can buy them through the gift shop (they're not avail for sale to the general public). My only "complaint" is I noticed the last few stays that the carpet in the room should probably be replaced. Other than that everything is perfect.

If you're going to Nashville and are willing to pay more $$, stay at the Hermitage, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT on the inside/courtyard side of the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdbrln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We wanted to give my cousin the best for her Bachelorette Party and that's exactly what we did! Arriving at this hotel with gift bags of half naked men doesn't really go over too well though lol.
This hotel is gorgeous and the rooms were big and very comfortable.

Now for the bad... We were threatened to be kicked out twice by the concierge. The first time for being loud but I am not really sure what the second time was for? There was only 3 of us in the room and we were being anything but loud!

But in their defense they did let us have full run of the hotel lobby at 3:00 a.m. 18 girls and booze with pizza..we were very grateful!

I would stay here again but not for a crazy girls weekend..there are better options in Nashville for that I'm sure;)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathdatravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#13 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing