We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an extravagant, historical place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“What an extravagant, historical place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Al Capone stayed here, and according to sources he had the owners install a secret escape for him in the first floor men's room!
I must confess, I did loiter with some friends and I took a trip up the elevator to view the halls. I never did stay here, but had I been rich enough to I certainly would've.
The outside of the hotel may fool you, but once you step inside it is purely dazzling.
PROS: Location, history and accommodations.
CONS: Price

Room Tip: The rooms facing the entrance side would have a view, but the others I believe are just a few feet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    169
    46
    32
    20
See reviews for
252
657
43
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights and was pleasantly surprised at this historic hotel, service was excellent and overall hotel was better than most branded 4-5 star hotels. Great location and staff was awesome, they do whatever necessary to make sure your stay meets your expectations and is memorable.Although it seemed expensive at time of booking for Nashville , it was worth every penny,

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dbenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Hermitage Hotel on our wedding night. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, and our room had a great view of the state capitol. The staff held our bags through the day and delivered them to our room in preparation of our arrival. We enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room in the morning and lunch at Capitol Grille.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is georgeous,the staff is friendly and the rooms are amazing. My favorite part was the claw foot bathtub with the television over it. I only stayed one night, got in late and left early, but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's true, the Hermitage is an exceptional hotel. From the minute we arrived and gave the doorman our name we were treated with gracious service from the car valet to the doorman to the desk folks. Ah, the wonders of technology--at check-in they already knew my name before I'd opened my mouth courtesy of a quick walkie-talkie word from the front door. Our room was spacious, the bathroom large and clean as a whistle. We wanted a cup of tea and rather than bringing the tea we got a tea kettle to keep for the duration of our stay, plus a selection of teas. Turn down with cookies, etc., etc., etc. It's hard to heap too much praise on this hotel and we'll stay here again should our travels bring us to Nashville. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We were here a year ago and enjoyed the stay. The service was incredible and housekeeping was flawless.
The bed was so comfortable.

It seems like more things (galleries, restaurants, etc)
are popping up in the area to improve the location

We will be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleWildcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We always feel pampered when we visit the Hermitage. The service is great and the location perfect. The concierge is extremely helpful and the bar downstairs is always welcoming.
Only thing different this visit was the reception personnel were not very warm and inviting for some reason (not rude, but not what we have experienced in the past).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing