We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the South”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in the South”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have stayed at the Hermitage several times a year for the last several years and have yet to have anything less than a perfect experience. The accomdoations, service, and food are all as good as it gets.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JCHMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    173
    48
    32
    20
See reviews for
253
674
43
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in Nashville with two other couples. We liked the Hermitage alot, but felt it was slightly over-priced for what it was. The service was great, the hotel was very clean, and it is in a location that is convenient to anything you would want to do downtown. The food at the Capitol Grill was excellent (only had breakfast there) and the Oak Bar was fun, too. The bar probably has the most extensive selection of bourbons that I've ever seen. That all being said, by the time fees taxes etc were charges we were $500+/night. In my opinion it didn't quite live up to other hotels we've visited in that price range, but maybe that's just what Nashville costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFrozendrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long branch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First time in Nashville, needed a hotel. I did a quick search, Amex Fine Resorts has a relationship with the Hermitage. From the time arrived we arrived to the time I left, excellent service. Oak bar downstairs is ideal, laid back but alive. The best part, after a couple drinks you take 1 step outside the bar and the elevator is right there. No need to walk up the stairs to the main lobby. Breakfast is superb, eggs benedict the way it should be done and setting is very relaxed. Our room was nice and clean, tv in the bathroom and super duper robes. I was able to take a hot shower and watch a little college football. Me and the wife got some good rest, very quiet and comfortable. When I travel, I like to have the best accommodations possible and I must say.. the Hermitage held their end of the bargain. Will definitely return and highly recommend to those that visit Nashville.

Room Tip: If you have the Amex Platinum, you can book a room here using the Fine Resorts program. You get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregNJGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a true example of a great hotel and Southern Hospitality. We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived and the staff was cordial and very helpful. The hotel is conveniently located. It is within walking distance to many of Nashville's popular tourists sites

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxTravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had the best time ever at a wedding recently in Nashville. The Hermitage Hotel provided a beautiful place to stay and an even more beautiful location for a wedding! The service, food and heritage setting were absolutely stunning and we'd gladly visit again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Historic Hermitage Hotel is elegant. Fine dining is available in the luxurious Capitol Grille downstairs from the lobby. The warm Oak Bar is adjacent. This is a perfect spot for a drink before or after an evening on the town. The Hermitage Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Nashville.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Many of us stayed here for four nights, we were part of a wedding party. I have to say that this hotel may be five star rated, that is quite incorrect, The Hermitage Hotel Nashville TN should be rated a 6 star hotel. We could not have expected any better than we we received in all areas, the food, the staff and the facility are second to none. We sincerely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 155 in Nashville
5,366 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 155 in Nashville
2,741 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 155 in Nashville
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#20 of 155 in Nashville
1,061 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Thompson Nashville
#8 of 155 in Nashville
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing