We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel with Old World Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 160 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have been to this hotel many times over the years. Recently refurbished, this hotel has true old world charm and elegance rarely found in the southeast and is the only Nashville hotel on the AMEX Fine Hotel and Resorts roundup, though others may be added soon. The rooms are a bit pricey but worth it for special occasions. No charge for wireless Internet.

All staff very friendly and will try to accommodate most any special request. Rooms are very nice and larger than you find in most hotels. Bathroom has very large bathtub which my wife always enjoys. Also has large shower and separate toilet area. Housekeeping was able to provide us an oscillating fan which can sometimes be a problem in other establishments.

As part of the AMEX plan we always get a large breakfast via room service which is outstanding and plentiful. I'm not aware of any dollar limit for this perk, though there may be one. This is the only hotel in Tennessee with a AAA Five Diamond rating and easy to understand once you visit.

Located in the heart of Nashville, it is convenient to many popular music and night club venues in addition to the local colleges and universities.

Room Tip: Room 719 is large and comfortable but has no view. There are rooms with outstanding views, so ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_Thebaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My mom, sister and good friend checked into the Hermitage with me for a girl's trip to Nashville. We were blown away from the minute we arrived. The lobby was so spectacular we spent time just sitting there in the comfy chairs comparing it to the ceilings we've enjoyed across Europe. Our room was huge and it was a standard room. Two queen beds way up high and fit for a princess - as well as being super comfy. Our room looked out over the State Legislature and was super quiet. The bathroom was so splendid and we had to use a democratic process to decide who "won" the toiletries which were top notch. It was my mom's birthday, and I let the hotel know, and just before we headed out for dinner (I highly recommend Puckett's just around the corner from the Hermitage) a valet showed up with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Delightful. Almost as lovely as the turn-down service with shortbreads and fudge, and the lovely breakfast in the lobby of tea, coffee, fruit and tiny delicious muffins.
We hated leaving it was so divine.

Room Tip: Ask for a Legislature view - gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disneyfan41169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is very special! We stayed here November 2013 for a Indianapolis Colts football trip. we booked our stay with american express platinum travel. The room was great especially the bathroom. Shower and bathtub were awesome. We slept very well beds very comfortable. Hotel was quite staff very accommodating. Workout are was good with plenty of equipment. We had room service breakfast twice and it was very good. This is not a budget hotel but wanted something special and nice and this was the place. Older and very classy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Older, historic hotel but beautiful furnishings and great service. Rooms were large and certainly had been remodeled. Bathroom was expectionally large for a suite.
Bar/Restaurant were good but not great. Fried Green Tomato Sandwich was awesome!

Great location and within walking distance of many of the locations

Room Tip: The spa is really just a couple of treatment rooms but they did a nice job with massages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolitac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to spend our wedding night there. We were obviously expecting superb service for absolutely everything. We had to leave early for the airport, and we ordered breakfast a night before. The breakfast was not there on time, and I had to call to remind them. When we told the person at the front desk about the experience, he just said that it was the time in which people changed shifts, so there's nothing they could do. I emailed the hotel, but they never got back to me. Apparently they want to live out of their reputation, and sweep the problems under the carpet.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank lafjarivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was very excited to stay at this hotel after fine stays at Loews, Hutton, Indigo In Nashville. Verdict: Overpriced for what you get. Great valet/bellmen, good entrance. Good desk staff, regal lobby. Weddings going on in the ballroom all the time. Room fine, a bit dated and traditional and nothing special. Bar/restaurant good, but not exciting, and Nashville is exciting in those respects. I expected world class and this fell short. Don't get a room with no view, as we did. Or near celebrating partiers. But still a nice luxe nest. Going back, I would opt for Indigo for value and location downtown, Hutton for trendy and fun near Vanderbilt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend getaway to go 'honkey-tonkin.' The hotel was located a few blocks off the main strip, so traffic and noise wasn't an issue and the walk wasn't too long to the major attractions. The lobby was beautiful and the rooms were very nice, large for an older hotel, and seemed up to date with the renovations you'd expect at a fine hotel (separate bath/shower, WC, large bathroom, outlets, etc). We stayed through the Amex FHR program and the breakfast downstairs was very good, although the service could be hit or miss. Only complaint was that the $100 F&B voucher was only good for a single visit, which wasn't really an issue given the hotel's prices for drinks. Very friendly bartender.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
The Inn at Fontanel
#1 of 160 in Nashville
268 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 160 in Nashville
6,183 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#12 of 160 in Nashville
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#15 of 160 in Nashville
1,301 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#9 of 160 in Nashville
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: £248 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels and Expedia so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing