We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King and Queen for a Week”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“King and Queen for a Week”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful 100 yr old classy Hotel over the July 4th week. We were treated like Royalty.Consierge service and valets were top of the line. Mgt and Front desk were excellent.Never had to request anything. The staff all around made us feel like King and Queen for a week. Some services are additional but worth it. Our room was impeccable,cleaned daily and we recieved a few extra surprises et el..Some Bubbly,Wine,Fruit,Candies,Bathrobes and Slippers, totally unexpected. The Foyer and Mezzanine levels are appointed by ornate designs and classic comfy furniture, marble floors etc..etc. Would highly recommend the Hermitage Hotel to anyone looking for a stress relieving adventure! w/Royal treatment. If your looking for a watering hole try the Oak Bar located within this beautiful place..Its just as classy and service/food is excellent!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    171
    47
    32
    20
See reviews for
252
663
43
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,290 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at two other hotels in Nashville, and they were all about the same price. This place was by far the best bet for the money. Our room was first rate as was the service and other amenities. The bathroom was large and modern, and the overall comfort was excellent. The Capitol Grille and fitness center made this a first class stay in a first rate city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very Nice, and close to the Nashville strip! Stayed for two nights and loved being right in the heart of Nashville. The resturant at the hotel is very good place to eat, or just relax and have a drink!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoncoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really want to start by saying that we've stayed here in the past and, while it was expensive then too, it seemed worth it just because of the elegance and service. Nashville is the perfect half-way point between St. Louis and our beloved mountain town of Highlands, NC and by staying at the most elegant grand-dame type hotel gets our vacation week off to an great start. But this time it just became painfully obvious that this historic property is just ridiculously overpriced. I think the main thing was that our room was smaller than what we've had before and certain aspects of it felt very worn and tired. The carpet for one, while it wasn't horrible, just honestly looked like it had seen it's best days long ago. We were assured we'd have a sofa, additional chair and a desk. Well the 'sofa' was just a (again tired looking) loveseat. The view was right onto the Capital but the window was filthy. The bath was lovely and as nice as we remembered so that was fine. Also because it was my son's 25th birthday, a bottle of champagne and a lovely fruit and cheese tray were waiting in our room so we were very thankful and expressed our thanks to several staff members. Adding to the cost was dining at The Capital Grill. I think it came out to about $120.00 for one steak, the (gourmet) mac and cheese, a soup and 3 or 4 glasses of wine. We like The Capital Grill for it's clubby atmosphere and excellent level of service but it gets away from you too quickly. I don't know why this grand-dame is so much more expensive than many other grand-dames in other cities of about the same size: The Pfister in Milwaukee, The Drake in Chicago, The Brown in Louisville, The Raphael in Kansas City. These hotels compare very closely to The Hermitage in many ways but you can stay for an evening, have an elegant dinner, drinks, breakfast for less than $560.00 any day of the week. I want to stress without sounding braggy, that we are lucky to be able to afford these prices occasionally if we really feel it's worth it. This time we just didn't feel the experience justified the overall cost. But if money is truly not an issue to you in any way, I say go ahead and try this historic property - just don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Splendid hotel situated in one of America's best kept secret cities - Nashville. Rooms are appointed with high end finishes and personal touches, including the orchard of apples dotted about this fine abode. A must visit for all those heading to The Music City.

Room Tip: Enjoy a late cocktail in the lobby on a Friday or Saturday evening and chances are you will see whoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We did a 3-night Friday - Monday stay. Enjoyed breakfast in the Capitol Grille twice, and a VERY nice anniversary dinner Sunday evening also in the Capitol Grille. Service was excellent, starting with the doormen and bell staff, the check-in folks and the concierge. Facilities are beautiful. Free wifi. Only inconsistency was the turn-down service. Walking distance to everything downtown; 20-minute drive to Grand Ole Opry.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on the capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USMA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Upon checking into the hotel for a three-night stay with friends, we were awestruck by the beauty and elegance of the hotel lobby. Our rooms were spacious and most comfortable; the food at the Capitol Grille was outstanding; Vickie, the concierge, gave us excellent recommendations and help with reservations prior to arriving and then while there; and the doormen/valet couldn’t have been more courteous each time we asked for our car. The staff wowed us with each request we made.

This is an American Express Platinum hotel, and we certainly got value with free breakfast, a $100 credit at the Capitol Grille restaurant rated highly by Zagat, and a late check-out. For all guests coffee and muffins are offered in the morning and fresh lemonade and cookies displayed buffet style in the afternoon free of charge. Along with turndown service at night, a plate of various baked gourmet delights were left on our night table.

The location is excellent. We could walk to most attractions in the downtown area, as well as some of the top restaurants there.

We had breakfast the first day at the Capitol Grille restaurant within the hotel. The service was a bit slow, as we were anxious to get out quickly. It was very good at dinner, however. The next two days we used room service in the morning, and the food was perfect and the delivery prompt.

Our only complaint was the hot water in Room 704. It was lukewarm at best. We let them know about this problem, and hopefully it is already fixed. I would still recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#5 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,202 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#7 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing