We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful, historic hotel in the heart of Nashville. Walking distance to the Capitol, Country Music Hall of Fame and Broadway. Spacious and luxurious rooms with a perfect sized soaking tub and shower in the bathroom along with a TV! Turn down service included fudge, relaxing music and slippers next to the bed. Valet was prompt and my car was always ready to go. We didn't want to leave! Our only regret was having to check out!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our recent trip to The Hermitage Hotel was all that we had hoped for and more. From the initial greeting when you arrive at the front door to the bottle of chilled water when you depart, this hotel does it all. The arrival was flawless from the doorman to the parking valet to the bellman to the front desk. The doorman asked my name for the reservation, and I was addressed by name by every employee thereafter.
The awesome Beaux Arts lobby with its magnificent skylight is just the first of many impressions that come at you when you enter the building. The friendly and efficient receptionist had us checked in and on our way to our room in minutes. He offered us a choice of several newspapers to be delivered to our room and even asked if we had a preferred time for housekeeping services. The bellman arrived soon after with our luggage, which he put away while telling us about some of the hotel’s features. Our room was a Deluxe King, beautifully appointed with plenty of room and a large bathroom with shower stall, tub, a private toilet and a full range of amenities.
We had a chance to explore the hotel after dinner and were pleased to see that the history of the hotel is preserved and displayed. The interior design masterfully maintains the exquisite craftsmanship of the early 1900’s. The beautiful ballroom, just off the magnificent lobby, is kept open and well lit for visitors to enjoy. A collection of early Hermitage Hotel artifacts and photos is just outside the ballroom entrance.
The concierge gave us a map of downtown Nashville and showed us how close we were to everything that we wanted to see – Ryman Auditorium, Broadway, The Country Music Hall of Fame, The Arcade and the Capitol Building, among others.
While we were at dinner, the turndown service included freshly baked cookies and bottled water and lovely background music on the large flat-screen television. The elegant robes and slippers laid out on the bed and the filled ice bucket were a nice touch. We did not take advantage of the shoe shine service that is also provided. The complimentary Wi-Fi connected quickly and worked well. The bed was very comfortable
Dinner in the Capitol Grill was excellent, and our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and made several welcomed suggestions, including wine pairings with our dinner selections. The ambiance is rather “clubby” but comfortable and features large pictures of Nashville landmarks, dark woods and vaulted ceilings. The menu has many unique items, but the Sweet Onion Bisque is highly recommended. I had to keep from licking the bowl.
I’m in the hotel business and not usually very impressed with the places where we stay, but the Hermitage is an exception and certainly deserves its Five Star rating. In fact, it is one of fewer than two dozen downtown hotels in the USA that have earned that distinction and we’ve had the good fortune to have stayed in several of them. If you’ve never experienced Five Star luxury, The Hermitage Hotel would not be a bad place to start

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have excellent views of the Capitol Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful 100 yr old classy Hotel over the July 4th week. We were treated like Royalty.Consierge service and valets were top of the line. Mgt and Front desk were excellent.Never had to request anything. The staff all around made us feel like King and Queen for a week. Some services are additional but worth it. Our room was impeccable,cleaned daily and we recieved a few extra surprises et el..Some Bubbly,Wine,Fruit,Candies,Bathrobes and Slippers, totally unexpected. The Foyer and Mezzanine levels are appointed by ornate designs and classic comfy furniture, marble floors etc..etc. Would highly recommend the Hermitage Hotel to anyone looking for a stress relieving adventure! w/Royal treatment. If your looking for a watering hole try the Oak Bar located within this beautiful place..Its just as classy and service/food is excellent!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at two other hotels in Nashville, and they were all about the same price. This place was by far the best bet for the money. Our room was first rate as was the service and other amenities. The bathroom was large and modern, and the overall comfort was excellent. The Capitol Grille and fitness center made this a first class stay in a first rate city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very Nice, and close to the Nashville strip! Stayed for two nights and loved being right in the heart of Nashville. The resturant at the hotel is very good place to eat, or just relax and have a drink!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasoncoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really want to start by saying that we've stayed here in the past and, while it was expensive then too, it seemed worth it just because of the elegance and service. Nashville is the perfect half-way point between St. Louis and our beloved mountain town of Highlands, NC and by staying at the most elegant grand-dame type hotel gets our vacation week off to an great start. But this time it just became painfully obvious that this historic property is just ridiculously overpriced. I think the main thing was that our room was smaller than what we've had before and certain aspects of it felt very worn and tired. The carpet for one, while it wasn't horrible, just honestly looked like it had seen it's best days long ago. We were assured we'd have a sofa, additional chair and a desk. Well the 'sofa' was just a (again tired looking) loveseat. The view was right onto the Capital but the window was filthy. The bath was lovely and as nice as we remembered so that was fine. Also because it was my son's 25th birthday, a bottle of champagne and a lovely fruit and cheese tray were waiting in our room so we were very thankful and expressed our thanks to several staff members. Adding to the cost was dining at The Capital Grill. I think it came out to about $120.00 for one steak, the (gourmet) mac and cheese, a soup and 3 or 4 glasses of wine. We like The Capital Grill for it's clubby atmosphere and excellent level of service but it gets away from you too quickly. I don't know why this grand-dame is so much more expensive than many other grand-dames in other cities of about the same size: The Pfister in Milwaukee, The Drake in Chicago, The Brown in Louisville, The Raphael in Kansas City. These hotels compare very closely to The Hermitage in many ways but you can stay for an evening, have an elegant dinner, drinks, breakfast for less than $560.00 any day of the week. I want to stress without sounding braggy, that we are lucky to be able to afford these prices occasionally if we really feel it's worth it. This time we just didn't feel the experience justified the overall cost. But if money is truly not an issue to you in any way, I say go ahead and try this historic property - just don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Splendid hotel situated in one of America's best kept secret cities - Nashville. Rooms are appointed with high end finishes and personal touches, including the orchard of apples dotted about this fine abode. A must visit for all those heading to The Music City.

Room Tip: Enjoy a late cocktail in the lobby on a Friday or Saturday evening and chances are you will see whoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 157 in Nashville
5,816 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 157 in Nashville
2,893 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 157 in Nashville
1,207 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#20 of 157 in Nashville
1,248 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#18 of 157 in Nashville
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: £230 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910, The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. At Nashville's oldest and original hotel, come experience true southern hospitality and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing