We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hermitage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is listed as pet friendly. They did not disappoint. Our 110 lbs dog was warmly greeted along with my husband and myself. The staff was exceptional. They have a pride in being with such a beautiful property. The hotel was so beautiful, we did not want to leave it. In fact had one the best dinners in the Capitol Grill downstairs so we wouldn't have to go to far from our sumptuous room.

Room Tip: When naming your reservation be specific about the type of room you want, size of bed etc. they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    166
    43
    31
    20
See reviews for
249
652
43
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent two nights in a King Junior Suite, room 208. The room was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and we loved the soaking tub. We had coffee in our room every morning and we loved the french press. The bed was very comfortable and there was a turn down service every night. We loved the time that we spent at the Hermitage. We had an issue or two and some mistakes on our bill, which they took care of immediately. Without those issues I would have happily graded the hotel excellent. To be honest, when I go to a five star hotel - I expect everything to be perfect. It was good - but not perfect.

Room Tip: We had a great room - 908 - corner room with a great view of the coapital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Hermitage Hotel was exactly what I hoped it would be for a special treat for myself, my daughter and grand daughter. We were greeted by solicitous staff; the lobby was gorgeous enhanced with lovely floral arrangements. The fragrance of the lobby set the tone for our stay. The room was large and beautifully furnished with plenty of comfortable seating . The beds were so comfortable we had a difficult time rousing ourselves. Every amenity was available and well thought out. Our meal was delicious and served by a delightful young woman. All of the staff were accommodating, friendly, and professional. The Hermitage most definitely deserves the five star rating.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with two queen beds which was very large and more than adequate for three guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your visit with us and taking the time to post. Your girls getaway sounds fabulous and we are thrilled to have been a part of it. Hopefully you will make it an annual tradition. So glad to hear you enjoyed the beds. Please let us know how we can help arrange that next visit.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We booked this hotel because of its location and availability not knowing how luxurious it was. When we arrived, we were caught off guard with its beauty and grandeur. The lobby is a must see and worth many photographs. The service was very helpful and nice. However, each time we would walk in to the hotel from shopping and/or dining, the doormen would ask us if we just wanted to take photos of the lobby or ask if we had been staying there. I felt uncomfortable each time because it seemed that we did not "look" like the typical hotel guest. We are a younger couple and we did not use their valet service. We parked at the lot next to the hotel (literally right across the street) saving ourselves $20 a night. Our room was very spacious and ornate. I loved everything about it. The soaps are one of the best yet with all the travels I've done. There is also a turn down service in the evening that was nice. We were given ice, water and small sweets. The fitness room is very nice as well. I definitely recommend a stay here. I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it wasn't for the profiling from the doormen.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking your time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you will be back. I can assure all of our current and future guests that the team would not profile anyone. That said, we do have many visitors to the city that are directed to the hotel for photography (as I am sure you can imagine). For that reason alone, our bellman and doormen do make a practice of asking everyone if they are here to take photos simply so they may direct them to some of the best places for photos, the famous men's room by the Oak Bar being one of them.

Again, thank you so much for taking your time to visit and post. The next you visit us, check out our Instagram and Pinterest pages for photographic pics of your stay.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The experience was first class form the moment you walk in the door. The ornate decor, the impeccable customer service, and the clean, large rooms create an unforgettable experience in Music City. From the high quality linens and toiletries to the turndown service, no part of your experience will leave you unsatisfied. The location is fantastic and offers easy access to the downtown attractions but far enough way to avoid the noise. I would highly recommend staying here and will do so next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for joining us! It was a pleasure to have you and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and to Music City. Please hurry back! We would love to help you make another memorable visit to Nashville.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderfully restored hotel well-located near the Capitol, Supreme Court, Broadway, the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, Bridgestone Arena, etc. Wonderful staff, clean, easy valet drop-off, beautiful. Ask for a room facing the Capitol and court building. Gorgeous view.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NRMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you so much for visiting and for taking your time to post a review. It was a pleasure having you with us. Your suggestion about the room with the view is right on. The capitol view rooms are terrific. Thank you again for visiting. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Hermitage was everything and more than what I was expecting. We arrived and were greeted with smiling faces. The lobby is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were beautiful, very clean (a must for me!) and more amenities than one could ask for.

We utilized the bar at the hotel as well as the room service. Both were very reasonable and had great service.

All the service people and the bellhops were very friendly and more than willing to accommodate any needs or requests we had. The bellhops also were very quick to call a taxi for us or give us directions the second we walked out of the door.

I would recommend this hotel to couples and to large groups (that was us).

Room Tip: For large groups: ask for connecting rooms. It makes the room feel much larger! The rooms are very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt_ny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Public Relations Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post about your visit to Nashville and Music City. You mentioned Puckett's as a great breakfast spot - and it is. Next time, you may also want to try our Capitol Grille (not part of the chain) for a Jack Egg Sandwich, OR, we have a new spot one block away called the Frothy Monkey. Both are great breakfast options as well.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Janet Kurtz
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
Thompson Nashville
#2 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#23 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#14 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 231 Sixth Ave North, Nashville, TN 37219-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hermitage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1910 The Hermitage Hotel is Tennessee's only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Hotel. Reborn in 2003 The Hermitage Hotel is again a Sanctuary for travelers in the heart of Music City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing